We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think this is the problem with country Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“I think this is the problem with country Australia”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This motel is adequate in some areas, but no more. Small rooms, indifferently cleaned, and battered. Rat traps on display at entrances. Poor lighting. Flat pillows. Blankets, not duvets. Generic shampoo etc dispensed through wall mounted containers. Dodgy power points. My wardrobe didn't open.
A terrible layout, with a poorly lighted corridor with steps - a safety nightmare.
In the US, this place would charge half what it charges here. It's very ordinary. Why do we put up with this?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time do a review of your recent stay with us we appreciate all feedback from our guests

You recently stayed during a principals conference that took place in Bathurst.

Your review indicates that you stayed in one of our rooms that is not newly renovated. We have 5 rooms left to be renovated in the upstairs area of our hotel, two are due to be completed this week, which will then leave 3. If you are happy to email me your room number I will be able to address the specifics of the issues you have raised. The total cost of renovating one room alone is around $15,000. We have so far renovated over 90% of our rooms. This process (for obvious reasons) is a time consuming and costly and needs to be done over a period of time.

We have also fully painted the exterior of the building, renovated our indoor heated pool area, restuarant, foyer etc.

As for not having doona's in every room - this is a fabrication. We have doona's in every single room of our hotel, along with blankets and spare blankets.

I am wondering if you informed us of any of your maintenance issues whilst in house as we have a maintenance staff member here each and every day. From the issues you have addressed they would have been simple to solve.

Following the completion of our bathrooms upstairs we will complete our refurbishments of the hallway. We cannot do this whilst still renovating bathrooms as the good work would be quickly undone. The carpet will be replaced along with the hall re-painted once te bathrooms are complete.

Our renovations are due for completion in October 2014. Ending a 3 year renovation. We invite you to come back and look at the finished product.

Again thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. It is greatly appreciated. If we were made aware of the room number you stayed in it would be greatly appreciated so that we can fully investigate the issues you have raised.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    86
    42
    19
    12
See reviews for
65
75
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'd read mostly good reviews (and a few bad ones) before staying at Quality Hotel Bathurst. There was a tear in the curtain and a few stains on the carpet in the hallway, as noted in negative reviews but that is where any criticism ends. This is a great hotel with excellent value for money. The room had been newly refurbished, lovely decor with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was clean, new and there was a wonderful shower head that massaged on numerous settings. We were in a king delux room which was worth the small amount extra.The breakfast has a good selection and the restaurant light and welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend stay. ( ps to the owner, led lighting needs to be warm white to enhance the beige tones and not have that fluorescent colour)

Room Tip: Room 210 was in a great spot. It faces the sunny side of the hotel, the room was filled with sunshin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Elisabeth

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Quality Hotel Bathurst. Your comments are highly motivating and offers a thorough review of your recent stay. Our team appreciates your recognition of their service.

We agree with you on the hall carpet. We are currently renovating ALL bathrooms upstairs. With 2 due for completion today this will leave only 3 upstairs. These will be completed by the end of August. Once the tradesman have finished in the upstairs areas we will replace the carpet, re-paint the hall, re-paint the doors to the rooms and give the area a new feel. This (for obvious reasons) is the last step in our upstairs renovations.

Our team appreciate your 5/5 rating and look forward to welcoming you back in the future and seeing the finished product.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have never stayed before but will definitely be the first place I book when I next travel to Bathurst. Owners are friendly and bend over backwards to make rude customers happy. Was very easy to find, and although it is located at a major cross road, you cannot hear the traffic from your room

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smarxmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for providing some wonderful feedback on the hotel of your stay on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to receive such a positive review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the services and the facilities provided by the hotel. We strive to maintain a high level of customer service.

Our team appreciates your recognition of their service and a 5/5 review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ali Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
484 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a regular business traveller I have seen quite a variety of hotels. I can tell you that this hotel is amongst the best in the country, at a very reasonable rate. The Quality Hotel Bathurst has everything you can ask for. The rooms are spacious and more importantly clean (the beds are also very comfortable). Staff from all departments are extremely helpful and friendly. The menu is extensive and offers a great range, the restaurant ambience could even contend with a number of overpriced, pretentious, Sydney based restaurants.

Whether you are a regular traveller to Bathurst or simply passing through, stay here, there isn't any better.

Room Tip: Try the Sticky Date Pudding!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your recent stayback. We are highly appreciate of the 5/5 review and are so pleased that we were able to offer you the service, cleanliness and professionalism that we strive so hard to provide.

Our team appreciates your recognition of their service and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thank you and kind Regards

Paul Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyStuart
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for one night at the end of our trip. Reviews rated this hotel well but our experience did not match expectations. The hotel is clean but dated particularly the bathrooms. WiFi continually disconnected and was very slow and attention to detail was lacking. Front of house was not interested in providing detail ... we got the distinct impression that we were interfering with other tasks that the staff member had to perform.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate the feedback provided by all our guests. I would personally love to hear the details of your stay (check in etc). Whilst trip advisor do not allow me to publish an email address it can be found on our website. This will allow me to ensure this does not occur again in the future.

We are currently refurbising our hotel. We have 50 rooms of which 35 bathrooms have now been renovated. Over the next 14 weeks, 15 new bathrooms will be completed. Meaning all our bathrooms will be renovated. We have recently replaced around 80% of our furniture (new beds, new carpet, new bedsides, new cabinets, new desks and chairs. The remainder will be completed by June. We started our renovations 3 years ago and are now nearing completion (in relation to the rooms) we also recently completed painting the outside of the hotel making it look fresh and modern.

We have had issues with our internet provider and have changed complaines in April this year. We are no longer experiencing the same difficulties as you did and I sincerly apologise for this.

We do hope you will return to see the finished product and again I would love to hear from you personally regarding the issue with reception.

Thank again for staying with us and for providing valuable feedback.

Kind Regards

Ali Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight as a last minute booking, the owners were really friendly and accommodating and helpful, the room was everything we expected, no nasty suprises. I would recommend this hotel to others and would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirl4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. We appreicate all the lovely feedback you have given. We strive to provide excellent customer service (having previously worked in 5 star hotels). We highly value the feedback provided by our guests and thank you for taking the time to do so.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ali Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Flinders Ranges. We arrived late and the key was easily found. The room was clean and comfy and we didn't notice it to be noisy even though it is on the main road. In the morning we had a bit of car trouble and my husband was late for breakfast. This was not a problem at all and the staff left the breaky out till he arrived. Easy access out of town. All in all a good short stay .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venetta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we value the opionions of our guests. We are pleased our keyboxes allow our guests to check into our hotel 24/7 its a simple but effective solution. Our building is sound proofed and I am pleased this allowed you a good nights sleep. I do recall your car trouble and am glad your husband was able to eat with us prior to departing.

I thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ali Simms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
0.9 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bathurst

Property: Quality Hotel Bathurst
Address: 344 Stewart St | (corner of Brilliant), Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Bathurst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARDED A 2015 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE from TRIP ADVISOR. One of only 2 officially rated AAA 4 star properties in Bathurst. We are the ONLY hotel to offer an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna - available for use all year round. We offer 50 rooms and suites and an onsite restaurant (Celsius Bar and Grill) open 6 nights per week with happy hour week days from 5pm until 6pm. We offer free Wi-Fi to all our in house guests and will include a free continental breakfast in your rate. Our breakfast includes danishes, muffins, fresh croissants, yoghurts, fruits (fresh and dried), juices, tea and coffee. All kinds of breads and cereals (including gluten free options) and best of all our very popular pancake machine. Over 90% of our rooms are now magnificently re-furbished many with king plush top beds and walk in showers. We offer 8 free foxtel channels and 32" televisions. Our mini bars are fully stocked with all you require. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing