We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return for the pancakes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I spent a night on my own at the Quality Hotel Bathurst, on Friday 11th July, 2014, after returning from a night in Cowra. One of the staff called me earlier in the day, to check that my booking was still required, and asked roughly what time I'd be arriving. That sort of service is extremely rare in regional areas. I did arrive much later than planned, but was still expected. My room was fine, with all amenities spotlessly clean and everything working. The bathroom was particularly impressive with a frameless glass shower and lots of nice hot water. This was after all, Bathurst in July. An early getaway was needed to make a midday appointment in Sydney, but I still wanted a breakfast. Although now "only" a continental breakfast, there was much to choose from with a large choice of cereals, yogurts, preserved fruits, breads, cold meats and heaven forbid, a pancake machine. Now there's a great idea. An old school mate, who lives locally joined me for a coffee in the restaurant, and when I asked if that was allowable, the staff were totally agreeable and didn't even charge him for it. It's four years since I last stayed here with my family, and not a lot has changed, maybe a few different staff members, but I'm still a fan and will be returning again in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms I've stayed in are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PED9654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do such an amazing review of your stay with us. Your 5 out of 5 is greatly appreciated and will certainly be passed along to other staff.

We have recently refurbished over 35 of our bathrooms as "walk in" showers or wet rooms. These make such an amazing difference to our rooms and we are thrilled that you thought so too.

We were the first hotel in Bathurst to offer the pancake machine (others have followed) and we can see why - it is such a huge hit with all of our guests from children to adults. We do offer a hot breakfast for a $9 upgrade however I recall you not being able to make use of this and hope that on your next stay that service can be extended to you.

We call our arriving guests each and every day to confirm their booking and check arrival times. Our return guests love this and we are pleased that you appreciated the gesture.

We thank you for taking the time to do this review and for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and again for the amazing review.

Kind Regards
Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sorry but I was told functions take priority over guests no hot breakfast which was widely advertised a really nice continental breakfast but had set my heart on cooked and had enquired on arrival was told that would be available for $9 extra Greeted by small snapping dog was assured it wouldn't bite. No milk given we arrived at 3.15 when we did get it was out of date that was for 3 rooms ran out of toilet paper in the middle of the night. We had planned on a swim in the indoor pool it said in room info open till nine but was closed at eight. No coffee after our Dinner said machine was broken there was another machine but not offered. Two main meals were mixed up had to transfer food across the table eg sauce steak etc. Something is really wrong at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ann G

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. I am the person you spoke with at breakfast and I recall the situation well. We did have a function on that morning for 60 people. We see our guests and our functions as important as each other. You were offered a hot breakfast however were informed that there would be at least a 20 minute wait. In the mean time you were offered a complimentary bacon and egg roll (the same as the function were having) however as is your right you declined this. A short wait and a cooked breakfast could you have been prepared. You did sit that morning for well over an hour at breakfast.

I fail to understand how 3 rooms (with 2 people in them) could run out of 2 rolls of toilet paper - however a quick phone call to reception could have dealt with this. We have not had this situation previously.

You also fail to mention in your review that the 3 rooms booked were ALL give complimentary upgrades into larger (renovated rooms). The rest of your group thanked us upon departure from the hotel and stated that they enjoyed their stay. We are disappointed that you did not.

However we do thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and will pass along your comments to the staff involved as well as make any necessary changes.

Kind Regards

Ali Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The staff at the Quality Hotel Bathurst were extremely helpful and warm greetings when checking in. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and Bathurst Quality Hotel is up there with the best. Comfortable bedding, clean rooms and good size rooms. Breakfast was one of the worlds best with a large range of breakfast foods to choose from. The staff within the restuarant was also warm and welcoming. We cannot express our pleasure staying at the Quality Hotel Bathurst enough.

Room Tip: We have stayed many times at the hotel and have not found a room that we have not liked. The Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Patricia G

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your recent stay - we are aware that you stayed with us on numerous occasions and thank you for your on going support to us.

Your review is amazing and will be passed along to both staff and management. We greatly appreciate a 5 out of 5. To compare us with other hotels around the world is a wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and for your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Quality Hotel in Bathurst is comfortable, clear and quiet. The beds are big and quite firm and the rooms have comfortable chairs and sofas. Sometimes it is nice to get away from the hard edged look so favoured by many hotels. Food in the restaurant was plentiful and tasty but you have to remember to order breakfast by 9pm if you want room service. The bar is generous and friendly.
Not sure if there are lifts but my room and the restaurant were accessible by a flight of stairs. Good parking availability.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to do such a wonderful review of our hotel and of your recent stay with us.

We have recently replaced all of the beds in our beds in the hotel with plush tops and the feedback has been amazing - we believe one of the most important things about staying in any hotel is a comfortable bed and we are pleased we achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and thank you again for your kind review.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

As a corporate traveller, I have stayed in several hotels in Bathurst over the past 4 years.
The Quality Hotel Bathurst is by far the best. Comfortable bedding, spotlessly clean and large rooms, up to date furnishings, excellent food at a reasonable rate and outstanding service, always plus warm and friendly staff.


My home away from home - thank you Alison, Paul, Guy and team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Annie B

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Quality Hotel Bathurst. Your comments are highly motivating and will be passed along to our hardworking staff. Our team appreciates your recognition of their service and we look forward to welcoming you back. Your continued support and patronage is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Quality Hotel, Bathurst, our last visit was last year. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the staff and made to feel most welcome at every point of contact during our stay.

Our room was spotlessly clean and the crisp sheets on the beds quickly became warm and toasty. The bathroom was spacious and modern.

I slept soundly, which is really saying something as I tend to be an appalling sleeper when away from home, quite like the "Princess and the Pea", but the pillow and the doonas were just right (I'd say perfect for Goldilocks, but that would be mixing my fairy tales).

On our last visit, my only criticism was the road noise and this time we were given a room on the far side and I couldn't hear any road noise at all.

I believe all the rooms have now been renovated and they've just finished updating their indoor pool.

As with our last visit, the highlight was easily the buffet breakfast that is included in most room rates. Our young adult kids loved using the pancake machine, as did their parents!

As we now have family living in Bathurst, we're looking forward to future visits (Bathurst is such a beautiful town) and we'll most definitely be returning to the Quality Hotel. It is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiePlaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Quality Hotel Bathurst Your comments are highly motivating and offers a thorough review of your recent stay.

Our team greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback. We believe that a great night's sleep is a key element to enjoying your stay with us. We have recently replaced all beds in our hotel with top of the line plush tops - we agree they are very comfortable and love your fairy tale review.

We have now completed our renovations in our indoor heated pool area and it looks amazing. We look forward to you seeing the finished product.

Thank you for your continued support of us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This motel is adequate in some areas, but no more. Small rooms, indifferently cleaned, and battered. Rat traps on display at entrances. Poor lighting. Flat pillows. Blankets, not duvets. Generic shampoo etc dispensed through wall mounted containers. Dodgy power points. My wardrobe didn't open.
A terrible layout, with a poorly lighted corridor with steps - a safety nightmare.
In the US, this place would charge half what it charges here. It's very ordinary. Why do we put up with this?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityBathurst, Manager at Quality Hotel Bathurst, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time do a review of your recent stay with us we appreciate all feedback from our guests

You recently stayed during a principals conference that took place in Bathurst.

Your review indicates that you stayed in one of our rooms that is not newly renovated. We have 5 rooms left to be renovated in the upstairs area of our hotel, two are due to be completed this week, which will then leave 3. If you are happy to email me your room number I will be able to address the specifics of the issues you have raised. The total cost of renovating one room alone is around $15,000. We have so far renovated over 90% of our rooms. This process (for obvious reasons) is a time consuming and costly and needs to be done over a period of time.

We have also fully painted the exterior of the building, renovated our indoor heated pool area, restuarant, foyer etc.

As for not having doona's in every room - this is a fabrication. We have doona's in every single room of our hotel, along with blankets and spare blankets.

I am wondering if you informed us of any of your maintenance issues whilst in house as we have a maintenance staff member here each and every day. From the issues you have addressed they would have been simple to solve.

Following the completion of our bathrooms upstairs we will complete our refurbishments of the hallway. We cannot do this whilst still renovating bathrooms as the good work would be quickly undone. The carpet will be replaced along with the hall re-painted once te bathrooms are complete.

Our renovations are due for completion in October 2014. Ending a 3 year renovation. We invite you to come back and look at the finished product.

Again thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. It is greatly appreciated. If we were made aware of the room number you stayed in it would be greatly appreciated so that we can fully investigate the issues you have raised.

Kind Regards

Paul Simms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
1.5 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
0.9 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#9 of 11 in Bathurst
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in Bathurst
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Bathurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Bathurst

Address: 344 Stewart St | (corner of Brilliant), Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range: £73 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Bathurst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARDED A 2015 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE from TRIP ADVISOR. One of only 2 officially rated AAA 4 star properties in Bathurst. We are the ONLY hotel to offer an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna - available for use all year round. We offer 50 rooms and suites and an onsite restaurant (Celsius Bar and Grill) open 6 nights per week with happy hour week days from 5pm until 6pm. We offer free Wi-Fi to all our in house guests and will include a free continental breakfast in your rate. Our breakfast includes danishes, muffins, fresh croissants, yoghurts, fruits (fresh and dried), juices, tea and coffee. All kinds of breads and cereals (including gluten free options) and best of all our very popular pancake machine. Over 90% of our rooms are now magnificently re-furbished many with king plush top beds and walk in showers. We offer 8 free foxtel channels and 32" televisions. Our mini bars are fully stocked with all you require. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Bathurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing