We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Winter-Rose Cottage B&B
Ranked #11 of 18 Bathurst B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We really enjoyed out 4 nights in the Gold Room. Cooked breakfasts , relaxing in front of the open fire in the lounge and a wonderful room that was spotlessly clean. Anne-Marie treated us like family members and we felt like we were at home. Loved it! thanks heaps Andrew and Yvonne - Melbourne

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tooter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stopped overnight on a longer weekend trip. We stayed in the front (gold?) room and it was very well appointed and clean and attractive. Ann-Maree was a wonderful host. We had arrived around 8:30 much later than we first anticipated and had a lovely cup of tea and biscuit laid out which we enjoyed in the dining/lounge room. We slept in, a wonderful luxury for us, and had breakfast at 8:30 which consisted of cereal, a delicious omelette and toast and jam. We could not fault the place nor the hostess.

Room Tip: we were given a choice of the blue room or the gold room. Both looked as good as the other and reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Due to having booked accomodation cancelled elsewhere my partner and I stayed at the Winter-Rose Cottage. What a blessing in disguise. Anne-Marie was very welcoming, accomodating and an excellent host. The room and ensuite were quant, comfortable and exceptionally clean. I have not seen an ensuite this clean. Breakfast was very tasty and my food intolerance was accomodated for. The location was perfect and close enough to walk to the centre of town. Value you for money was excellent and would not stay anywhere else in Bathurst. My congratulations and thanks to Anne-Marie.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Dear Anne-Marie,

We had a most enjoyable stay
At the "Winter Rose" out West
We felt like royalty I must say.
Your service was the best!

Lovely room, scrumptious meals,
Cottage gardens, close to town.
Our lovely Hostess made us feel
Like long-lost friends that she had found.

Artefacts adorned the home,
Reminiscent of bygone days.
The open fire beneath its dome
Each day and night would gently blaze.

We felt so happy in our room so golden,
We'll remember it with fondness.
But here I must be emboldened
To be open and quite honest.

You see, our dearest Anne-Marie,
We confess to this our 'clanger'
Quite fully we unintentionally
Did purloin your wooden coat-hangers!!

For this we ask for mercy
Our grievous sin we confess.
We will refund the expense most certainly,
And our error we'll redress!!

We hope that one day without fail
We will return to town.
Just make sure you grab some nails
.....and nail everything down!!!!!

Mark and Kathy R

Room Tip: We had a lovely stay in the 'Gold Room', but we are sure that each of the rooms would be bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Winter Rose is a great place to stay in Bathurst, only 5 minutes walk from the heart of town....but on a very quiet street. The rooms are very comfortable and Anne Marie is a wonderful host. And the breakfasts are to die for. Terrific value. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you are looking at a longer stay, the free standing cottage at the back is the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed one night at A Winter-Rose Cottage last week. Upon arrival greeted warmly and given a cup of tea and delicious banana bread. Admired the front garden which contained winter roses (hellebores) tiny daffodils and crocus. My room contained a double bed, sofa and what could be used as another bed in the window alcove. The shower and toilet were spotless .
The bed had a dual control electric blanket and there was a heater in the room. The guest lounge (and indeed the whole cottage) was warmed by a wood fired slow combustion fire. Situated in a tree lined street, there was no traffic noise. Breakfast served on beautiful china. Tea provided in an individual pot. A very welcome experience and a lovely freshly cooked breakfast, which included home made chutney and delicious stewed plums (a far cry from the sour tasteless ones I remember from my schooldays). I would recommend this b&b. A thoughtful hostess who anticipated the needs of her guests and who makes wonderful jams and chutneys.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostlyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is my third visit at" Winter Rose Cottage"in Bathurst and again such a wonderful experience!
I travel for my work and have visited numerous BB establishments, hotels and motels. I stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights midweek.
Winter Rose B&B and the owner/hostess- Anne Maree are the winners in all categories. The warmth, friendliness, comfort, hospitality, service, food, conversation,....warm fires,.......beautiful gardens....homegrown vegetables..homemade chutneys & jams....sumptuous breakfasts...beautiful 3 course dinners.... . location...what more can I say!
Thank you Anne Maree
PS: I am also puzzled by the previous ""demountable- Never again " comments?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
2.6 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bathurst Heights B&B
Bathurst Heights B&B
#2 of 18 in Bathurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter-Rose Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter-Rose Cottage B&B

Property: Winter-Rose Cottage B&B
Address: 79 Morrisset St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter-Rose Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bathurst, just over the Blue Mountains, is the gateway to the Central West.Winter-Rose Cottage is situated in a quiet leafy street within minutes of CBD, courthouse, sporting facilities, race course; river, restaurants, clubs, pool, historic sights.Choose a cosy room with ensuite or be self-contained in the garden cottage. Full breakfast FREE.Our B&B is suitable for women travelers, business people, as a base for touring the Central West of NSW or just for a break. Smoking outside only. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter-Rose Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing