We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Started great, then downhill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlotte Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Started great, then downhill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived Friday afternoon to stay two nights. Friday night great. Quiet, pleased with room. On Saturday morning (remember I'm staying two nights) at 10am the cleaner knocked once then burst on in. I was just dressing and the cleaner saw the whole routine I had on offer. They kind of apologised and left. My wife and I went out for the day 15 minutes later. Before we left I went to reception and told the owner I couldn't get the dishwasher to work. He said he would ask the cleaners to have a look at it. We returned at 555pm to find the whole complex teeming with poorly dressed, rowdy bogans who were going to a wedding. Several of them decided they needed to park their car between 2 parks (embarrassingly one had a corolla hatch). This meant we had to park on the road. Management chose to turn a blind eye to this. We opened the door to find the room unserviced. Bed not made, towels on floor and rubbish not collected. I took my wet towels and went to reception to speak to the owner. He said 'no they wouldn't have gone back to service the room, they're not here long'. No apology. So we payed a premium price for a serviced apartment that wasn't serviced and had insufficient parking or owners with no spine to ask people to park properly. Not to mention the riot when the bogans returned which went uncontrolled. The free wi-fi was also rubbish and kept dropping out. I certainly wouldn't advertise it as a feature. If I was staying on business and was relying on said wi-fi I would have left straight away after discovering how poor it was. The common reply to feedback is 'if you told is we could have fixed it'. I tried to be open and clear with the owners. They have given me confusing mixed messages.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballsdeeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your great feedback. I hope we can welcome you back soon and re-address some of the issues as we're currently under new management.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
14
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had stayed for a couple of nights in the Charlotte Apartments in July of 2012, so on a recent trip to Canberra, decided to return via Bathurst and had the opportunity to stay again.
Once again the presentation of the apartment was first class with very good fixtures and fittings.
Unlike the last visit when I had a 1 bedroom spa apartment, this time I needed a 2 bedroom apartment. It was the disabled unit so it didn't have the level of little extra details that the other apartment had, which is understandable but still a shame.
The location to the centre of town is really handy for walking about but is also very quiet.
All in all, another good stay in Bathurst and I will stay at the apartments again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The apartments are full of thoughtful and practical touches that elevate this property into a home away from home: large and well furnished : I had a one bed spa apartment with quality finishes such as solid hardwood bed heads , two flat screens and a sound system in an armoire - reception was a genial
And swift and everything of interest within walking distance.
Very clean and well run and there's an obvious attempt to provide a well thought out and pleasant product in this charming inland town. Will definitely return .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. The beds were comfortable, shower hot and spa relaxing. Free wifi and the entire apartment was very clean. Great airconditioning (heating) as it was mid winter and freezing outside, but toasty inside. Quiet at night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

My partner and I spent 1 night here, supposedly the best place to stay in Bathurst..... ...the jets flew out of the spa bath, the water was very tepid, not hot at all..only 1 face flannel, and a broken CD player. ..Spent a month touring south Australia and this place was very dissapointing and not value for money at all

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 12 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about your horror stay! I would like to extend to you that we're currently under new management and we can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just had a one night stay at Charlotte Apartments but wish we could have stayed longer. It was like a home away from home as soon as we checked in. Very short walking distance to town and good Pizza bar. Apartments were quiet and in a lovely part of town. Very spacious and comfortable and a great base for a visit to Bathurst.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleM1554322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here recently for the first time with my husband and daughter in a 1 bedroom apartment, with an additional fold out bed in the living room. Was worried this bed might be a little uncomfortable for my teenage daughter, but she said she had a great night's sleep. The apartment seemed to be brand new and, if not, very recently renovated. All furnishings were modern and stylish and had quite a homely feel about the place - we particularly liked the additional reading lamps provided in the room. We were very impressed, especially with the standard of cleanliness. The staff we encountered in the office were warmly welcoming and helpful and the complex is really conveniently located - an easy walk to the shops. If asked to find a negative, the only thing I could suggest is that management might provide a few more tea bags to the coffee bar in their rooms for people like us who love our cuppas!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin M, General Manager at Charlotte Apartments, responded to this review, 13 February 2017
Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
0.5 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
2.3 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#8 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Apartments

Property: Charlotte Apartments
Address: 5 Charlotte St, Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Apartments offers luxury serviced apartments including studio, one bedroom, two & three bedroom apartment, some with spa baths, within easy walking distance to all shops restaurants & cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Charlotte Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing