We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Settlers Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Panner Motor Inn(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Bathurst(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor Macquarie Motor Inn(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Chifley Motor Inn(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn(Bathurst)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
20
7
0
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
7
0
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjordan creekwe loved our stayunique accommodationcentre of townhosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in one cottage, and another couple of families stayed in the adjoining cottages. It was ideal for a large group to gather. The management were extremely friendly and accommodating. The cottages are well over 100 years old, they are clean, quirky, full of character. This is the very reason they are charming. Such a nice change from the generic, characterless, boring accommodation that is offered by most hotel/motels. They are located in a great part of town, just down the street from great restaurants. If you want something different, then the cottages are ideal and very affordable. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting affordable, clean and unique accommodation.

Room Tip: The owners are extremely helpful in helping you choose the right cottage for your particular needs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I doubt if we stay in this palce again.The location was ok but the quality of the room were not acceptablr.Very limited service and not so friedly management- average at best.There are quite few good restaurant around the place but next time we will pick up another place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I guess you get what you pay for. Very dark room, need upgrade urgently. Kitchen was not clean. Can not recommend this place to any of my friend. Sorry but not up to min accommodation standards that one can expect in a regional town

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daleguy255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Manager at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Even though most of our guests are wonderful and clean up after themselves we still have a policy to professionally clean and prepare the cottages prior to each guest arriving. We will now offer everyone a money back quarentee: The cottage is clean when you arrive or we will send in a clean team for you AND you get the night FREE. Our Cottages were built in the late 1800s and some of the windows are small but we have many beautiful east facing bedrooms and verandahs to choose from. They retain much of their heritage and are a unique stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

In October 2012 , We decided to get married in Bathurst, My Bride and I chose A Settlers Cottage as the place to spend the Weekend with Friends and Family. We found the place so beautiful and charming, And the Owners were so helpful and could not do enough for us, We had a bottle of bubbles left for us with a lovely welcome note for us and our guests. They even had fresh rose petals left for us on the front steps. All of our friends and family loved the cottages, and the place was well appointed and very clean. We will def be back to stay again and would recommend these cottages to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Manager at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Congratulations on such a beautiful, warm family wedding. We wish you a lifetime of delight and will welcome you back with a little gift anytime you wish to reminicse or celebrate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I feel compelled to write something here regarding A Settlers Cottage in Bathurst. I was looking to make a booking for next week and came across the complaint posted by Aylia-Hill. I am not sure which cottage they stayed in, buy my partner and I have stayed in Jordan Cottage and Middle Cottage and found them both to be charming, comfortable, and just as they are portrayed on the website (which does have pictures of the interior).

It is called a Settlers Cottage, and as a reasonable person that is just what you would expect...not the Hyatt!!!! The unique charm and wonderful old pictures throughout make it homey and a different experience to staying in a motel or hotel, which we do often. When we are in Bathurst we usually stay for a few days and find the washing machine, dryer, private yard and full kitchen to come in very handy.

My partner and I had no problem sleeping whatsoever and with several beds to chose from, I would say most people would get a good nights sleep. The furniture is in keeping with the style of the cottages and we found the lounges to be very comfy, the tv modern, a stereo provided and even wood for the fire supplied.

The location is superb, it's just a short walk to town.

We will be back as often as we can and urge visitors to try it for themselves.

Tarni and Dave.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASCottage, Manager at A Settlers Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Tarnie and Dave
Delighted to have you as one of our many happy return guests. You are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews