We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience, would never stay again”

Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bathurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very bad experience, would never stay again”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Overly expensive
Very old and run down cabin
Not customer focused
Would never ever recommend it to anyone. Not child friendly claims to be pet friendly in website but are actually not. Poor amenities !
Not family focused.
Very old and dated.
Poor service and a terrible experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarebear71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    20
    4
    17
See reviews for
31
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuross Head, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived for a three night stay, and on the first evening at 8.30pm we were 'told' (not asked) to leave the common/recreation area. The owner of the park was very rude and abusive to myself and others of our group. We were not even permitted to stand outside and talk! We were told in no uncertain terms to go to our cabins or he would call the police. When we endeavoured to ascertain why, the owner became even more abusive. The cabins themselves (we stayed in a settler cabin) were very small and basic, rather run down and very expensive. We had 5 people staying in the cabin and there was only half a role of toilet paper provided, If we wanted more, we had to pay for it. This may only be a trivial thing I suppose, but when you consider the cost to stay there it was annoying. This is also indicative of our whole experience. Very disappointed with the park and in particular the aggressive and abusive attitude of the owner. This was not how I would expect a 'holiday park' to be. It was more like a concentration camp. Never again would I stay here, I would rather sleep in my car! Add to this the noise from the nearby highway did not help to make this a relaxing and fun stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bathurst hotels

Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My family booked a reunion at this park and have to say ALL 60 of us were absolutely DISGUSTED! What was meant to be a fun weekend turned out to be unnecessarily expensive and dissappointing. The Cabins were tiny and expensive. What was meant to sleep 5 ADULTS was big enough for two adults and 3 children under 5. The beds were tiny and i could not even fit, so had to sleep on the floor. We were given a half roll of toilet paper to accommodate 4 days and were charged extra when needing more!! We had to pay to use the BBQs which when paying so much for the room you would expect to use for free! To add even more disgust to the weekend, we had every age from 87 down to a 6 year old. We booked over TEN cabins in the EMPTY park (all which were scattered for no apparent reason) and were made to feel MOST UNWELCOME! The OWNERS of the park have absolutely no idea on what customer service is even about. On FRIDAY NIGHT at 8.30pm a handful of men and women (most over the age of 50!!) were sworn at and told to get out of the communal room. When the OWNER was asked why, he continued to swear threatening to call the police and have us ALL kicked out. As everyone walked back to the cabins in disgust, the futile OWNER continued to yell abuse at everyone. Never have i seen such a poorly handled situation. In the end we were "banned" from using the park facilities, even though when we rang to book we were told they could accommodate our FAMILY REUNION! SO as not to completely ruin our weekend we had to hire a hall at the last minute, which again meant more unnecessary expenses. All in all, i am totally disgusted with park cleanliness, facilities, prices, and OWNER customer service. WE WILL NEVER BE BACK. TO ANY BIG4!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathurstHP, Owner at Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
"Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take all feedback seriously and will take on board your comments to improve our offerings where appropriate. We are dedicated to continuous improvement your feedback is part of this.


In operating a park we as owners have to provide a safe, quiet and appropriate holiday environment for all of our guests. In order to acheive this sometimes certain activities have to be limited. We are sorry that this was not conveyed clearly to you by your event organiser at the time of booking? We do this to ensure a great stay for all guests. We are sure that you will agree that when using a shared facility that we all need to be mindful of others. We appreciate your concerns and have put in place further policy and work practices to ensure this type of thing does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Big 4 Holiday park & found the cabin very small, basic, very tired & very dated. We paid $115 for the night which was quite expensive for what we got. (The night before we stayed at Belmont Big 4, near Newcastle - water views, large modern cabin, for $101) Bathurst cabin had wall to wall laminated timber, small cramped kitchenette, bathroom & bedroom (one knob missing off the stove - the exhaust fan of the stove didn't work) The shower has a water saving shower head, which we know is probably the law, but it was like showering under a small watering can & you have to move side to side to get wet..!! When filling the kettle for a cuppa, we found the water had a very unpleasant smell (plus the kettle was full of ants), so we opted to use our bottle water for tea & coffee. The front deck was only big enough to hold a small chair & some upright rails were missing near the stairs - a child could easily fall through, landing onto the gravel in the garden area. Ants covered the kitchen bench, so leaving any food out was not recommended. The grounds around the cabin were very messy & the pavers to the steps of the cabin un-even. On a positive - the cabin was very clean - the bed was comfortable & the park was very quiet - we slept very well. Staff/owners at reception were very friendly & welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathurstHP, Manager at Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
"Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take all feedback seriously and will take on board your comments to improve our offerings where appropriate. We are dedicated to continuous improvement your feedback is part of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barossa Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Stayed at the park mid January (peak school holidays) for 7 nights and were very supprised to find the park almost abandoned apart from a couple of other families staying. We stayed in a 2 bedroom miners hut. After travelling 13 hours straight through from South Australia, in 40 degree heat, we were thankful that the owners had pre set our air conditioner in the hut so it was nice and cool for when we arrived. thanks! The hut was nice and clean (apart from the rug on the floor which desperatly needed a steam clean), great shower and spacious living area. The kitchen was disappointing as we only had 2 small gas burners to cook on which needed new regelaters fitted. An eletric frypan would of been great! The fridge could of been bigger also. The nights were very warm in the hut and we found that the airconditioner did not reach the kids room that well as the air flow was positioned the opposite way so the kids ended up on the sofa in the living room. The park itself was ok, $3 for the use of the washing machines was a bit steep (and there was only 2 working at the time as somebody pulled out my washing and left it on the bench so they could use the machine), the gardens need a bit of attendance as there was rubbish which had blown into the bushes all around the park, the swimming pool was good, the BBQ"s took way too long to heat up using nearly all of your $2 before they switched off but the most disappointing thing was the traffic noise that came from the busy side road behind our hut in the mornings. it started around 5.30 in the morning until late at night and sounded like a freeway. The owners / employees were very nice and helpful. The kids room (tin shed) also needs some attention as we wanted to play table tennis but there were no balls and all the bats were broken. All in all, our stay was good but for the price ???

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000Whiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathurstHP, Owner at Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
"Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take all feedback seriously and will take on board your comments to improve our offerings where appropriate. We are dedicated to continuous improvement your feedback is part of this.
Thank you for taking the time to spread your thoughts on our facility, all concerns you have raised will be looked at and addressed in order to improve our standards even further. Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

2.20pm, arrived Big 4 Bathurst Holiday Park, and looked at 2 cabins, #93 for $110 pn and #6 for $125 (£83)pn.
#93 was very basic, so we accepted #6, although it was very expensive (It is the only caravan park in town).
Standard Jayco cabin with a small verandah, table and 2 chairs.
Lino-floored living/dining/full kitchen area, and shower room. Carpeted bunk-room and bedroom.
Living area has 3-seater settee, table and 5 chairs, A/C, TV, full kitchen, although surprisingly no microwave.
Sliding door from living area to a corridor, with triple bunks to the right-hand side, and on the left side, the door to shower room and a half-wardrobe, with drawers below.
Kitchen well-equipped, and matching (!) crockery, cutlery and glassware for 6 people.
Bunk-room/corridor leads to master bedroom, with 2 bedside cabinets, 2 wardrobes and plenty drawers. Comfy bed and pillows. Slept well. (Cabin has plenty storage space!)

Nice Park, neatly laid out with 5 horizontal streets (unnamed), a playground, small swimming pool with a small slide, jumping pillow (though not fully inflated when we saw it in the afternoon), Camp Kitchen and a large recreation room.
Lovely smell of warm bushland.

This was the most expensive park we stayed in, in 3 months touring australia, and by no means the nicest park or the nicest cabin!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We just recently stayed at this resort. We stayed on ensuite site, very roomy and clean. Lots of space for your van and car, with plenty of privacy with hedges between each site. Great kitchen, swimming pool and kids jumping castle. We will be back

Room Tip: airconditioned & plenty of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BathurstHP, Owner at Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
"Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We take all feedback seriously and will take on board your comments to improve our offerings where appropriate. We are dedicated to continuous improvement your feedback is part of this.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we take great pride in our park and value all our guest's for however short or long their stay is with us. Thank you for taking the time to spreading the word on our little country park and we look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bathurst hotels
4.1 mi away
Rydges Mount Panorama Bathurst
2.9 mi away
Bathurst Heritage Motor Inn
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Bathurst
Quality Hotel Bathurst
#5 of 11 in Bathurst
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Panorama Bathurst
Panorama Bathurst
#10 of 11 in Bathurst
79 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
Ben Chifley Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Bathurst
119 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bathurst Motor Inn
Bathurst Motor Inn
#9 of 11 in Bathurst
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park

Property: Big4 Bathurst Panorama Holiday Park
Address: 250 Sydney Rd | (Great Western Highway), Bathurst, New South Wales 2795, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Bathurst
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet Country Holiday Park with Accommodation and facilities to suit all budgets and needs, from unpowered camping site, powered caravan sites up to 2 bedroom luxury Cabins. Onsite facilities include Giant Jumping pillow, kids playground, Resort style pool with slide, BBQ camp kitchen area and entertainment building with FREE play stations, Ping Pong, pool table and Giant Movies screen where we play family friendly movies during the peak periods. For the comfort and care of all our guests we have a 9pm noise curfew in place ensuring everyone can get a peaceful night sleep no matter what night of the week. We are centrally located to all the Central West has to offer, take a trip to The famous Jenolan or Abercrombie caves, visit Mount Panorama Racing circuit and Motor Museum, The Australian Mineral and Fossil Museum, or take an easy day trip to the Blue Mountain to visit the Three Sister or take one of the many rides at Scenic World. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing