We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Miners Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broken Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Miners Arms
Ranked #10 of 11 Broken Hill B&B and Inns
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Absolutely beautiful! We were recommended this place by friends so booked ahead between Xmas and New Year. They opened the place up especially for us and we had 3 nights in this fantastic old house all to ourselves. I could have stayed for weeks! Have been to BH a few times but never found anything like this - you feel like you are stepping into another world with all the antiques and creaky floorboards. We will definitely be back and have already recommended this to others- Loved it! Oh forgot to mention the awesome breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mel63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Taken by surprise with this B&B. The building is absolutely beautiful inside and feels like a little sanctuary. The hosts are very welcoming and so helpful with any questions about the area or Broken Hill. The breakfast was fantastic - everything from fresh fruit to poached eggs and bacon. The bedrooms were massive and it was so comfortable and quiet. Even have a little coffee / tea / wine bar for later in the p.m. Free WIFI also a great asset. Definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTravelGirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Lovely decor, yummy breakfasts and charming and interesting owners who have thought of everything you could possibly need during your stay.

The owners of the Miners Arms shoudl be running classes for B & B owners thoughout the country because they really know how to run a B & B ... they constantly exceeded my expectations. I wanted to move in!

This place is deservedly popular with people on business in Broken Hill so with only 4 rooms you will need to book ahead or be very lucky.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BooBooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

I booked the MIner's Arms at the Tourist Office and then checked TA for reviews (it didn't have any!) so I was a bit worried and tried to peer in the window to see what it was like but the shutters got in the way.

LOCATION: Off of Argent Street, the main street in Broken Hill so handy for the tourist office, shops etc

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: It was obviously one of the town's original buildings so that was promising. However it was when I got in the door that my jaw dropped; the wooden floors, stained glass windows everywhere, white shutters and beautiful colonial features. OMG it was gorgeous. Some people just have that knack of being able to design somewhere beautiful.

The building is on one level with a large dining room for breakfast, a large lounge with piano, TV/DVD, fridge filed with wines, soft drinks and beers and with honesty box on top, biscuits/biscuits for cheese etc and loads of comfy chairs. There are four bedrooms so the place isn't huge and it feels as if you are staying in someone's house.

I was shown to my room and then the lady went out so I was left to open a bottle of wine from the fridge, helped myself to cheese and biscuits, learnt how to operate the TV and DVD and sat down and watched all of my favourite Australian films (Mad Max etc) and thought; I wished I lived here!

(Note to owner - you just need the 1981 version of "A Town Like Alice" with Bryan Brown to complete your collection)

ROOM: My room also had a TV and DVD, and the colonial theme was continued with wooden floors and wicker chairs. The bathroom was lovely and modern.

BREAKFAST: I finally met the owners the next day and they were super friendly. (Later I went to the Geo museum and the person on the video in the museum is the owner of the B&B so he's perfect if you want to discuss the area's geology!)

Breakfast was wonderful. So I had a perfect stay and really wished I had stayed longer.

I left a few things at the MIner's Arms and the lovely owner handed them in to the next place I was staying at so thanks very much.

Summary: if you like boutique, historical, stunning accommodation this is the place for you.

Oh, if you are reading this, you are probably trying to decide whether to visit Broken Hill and I can say that it is the most wonderful place I have ever been to in Australia; from the wonderful smell of herbs when you get off of the plane to the roses, gardens, the fantastic architecture in town, Day Dream mine, Silverton (Mad Max museum, Silverton cafe, art galleries) etc etc but you do need to hire a car!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broken Hill - The Tourist lodge
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miners Arms

Property: The Miners Arms
Address: 82 Crystal St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B with all the heritage and charm of early days in the Hill, where you can seriously relax, or arrange to explore the region. Central to the town with choices of dining, clubs and pubs nearby. Queen suites, with private bathroom. Heritage lounge and dining room. Full cooked breakfast is served. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing