We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Broken Hill”
Review of Red Earth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Earth Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Red Earth two nights after seeing the stellar reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The rooms are extremely comfortable with a separate sitting area and kitchen. The bath was roomy and had a large shower. There was plenty of storage space, so you can stay a week ... or a month! The motel is at the end of the main street, so is very convenient for walking around. It was too cool when we were there to use the pool, but we did use the barbecue facilities for dinner one night. Everything worked well. I loved Broken Hill, so if I ever return, I will stay at the Red Earth again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaReston_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

After traveling over 5000 Kms in the last 10 days staying at various hotels, this one is by far the big surprise package. Moderately priced with a newly refurbished room with king size bed, full kitchen, separate lounge room and a magnificent full size bathroom with spa! Awesome. Only drawback is it takes 30 minutes to fill the spa!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BDAP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This motel must be just about the ultimate! Lindsay on Reception was friendly and welcoming. Our unit has three rooms. The front room contains a large fully equipped kitchen wall with kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave and sink. All very smart and new, although having the large fridge and microwave hidden in cupboards is not very practical! The room also has a dining table and two chairs, sofa and TV with DVD player, and a small writing tale. Glass sliding doors overlook the front area and swimming pool. Behind this front room is a luxury bedroom with king bed and a dressing room with ironing board and iron. Behind that again is a smart bathroom with toilet, vanity unit and shower. Ample supplies for coffee and bathroom. Everything sparkling new, a host of power plugs, and the halogen lighting throughout is excellent. In contrast, the bedside lamps are weak - I seem to have this continuing problem with motels! No free wifi. The motel is a block from the city shops, and the room cost $150 a night. A wonderful place to stay: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Easily the best accommodation in Broken Hill. New, clean, fabulous large beds, lots of room, good location, quiet. If this was a chain of motels nationally of this standard they would be onto a real winner.

Room Tip: Room one is close to the road, but its quiet anyway. No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My experience staying at the red earth hotel in broken hill was fantastic. The rooms are super clean and comfortable and the staff real helpful and friendly. I look forward to getting back to broken hill and staying at the red earth again. Why would you stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6 which was quiet as it is away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

WOW what a motel. From the moment we booked this motel we were made to feel welcome. When we opened the door to our rooms it was a wonderful surprise. A kitchen with sofa and dining table. Then a beautiful bedroom with a huge walk-in wardrobe. Then into a large shower room. Everything was beautiful in décor and cleanliness. We were able to cater for our breakfast and any other meals we wished to do so. We used the laundry on 2 occasions during our 3 nights stay and the staff were very helpful. The ducted air condition was great as the weather outside was very cold and windy. The only comment was that it would have been nice to lie in bed and watch TV and heating of some type in the bathroom would have been appreciated. We would highly recommend this motel to all who journey to this great city. Well done to all.

Room Tip: Definitely make a booking at this motel before you leave as they seem to be at capacity all the tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moveround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Too often I have been critical in my reports of outdated Australian accommodation.

This motel shines like a beacon for others to aspire to.

The rooms are new with more on the way, but what impressed us was the layout, with lounge dining kitchen to the front and bedroom to the rear. How logical to minimise street noise but rarely found.

Fitout was functional with everything spotless. The bed was to die for, in fact we stripped it back before leaving and noted the underlay and cover for us to purchase.

Situated slightly through town omn the Wilcannia side it was only 200m walk to all the shops in the main street.

Negative; I had to put up for the next 20 days of our trip Mrs fussypants telling me what was wrong with ALL the remaining stays. So fellow, stay here last on your next road trip.

Only my third 5 star review in 50 plus, so no my sister does not own it, worse luck.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
145 reviews
1 mi away
Hilltop Motel
Hilltop Motel
#11 of 17 in Broken Hill
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Earth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Earth Motel

Address: 469 Argent St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range: £97 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Earth Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Earth Motel offers luxury self contained and semi-self contained apartment style accommodation. As well as spacious one bedroom apartments, we also offer two and three bedroom family sized apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Red Earth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing