We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful”

Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Broken Hill
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The friendly staff at the Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre will handle your bookings for local tours and provide you with all the necessary information for your step into the Great Outback. The centre has a range of facilities, including showers, toilets and disabled access for visitors. Browse through their gift shop and take home a souvenir which includes locally made items. A Gloria Jeans's Coffee can be found in the same building.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Helpful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Helpful staff lots of useful references on Broken Hill for the tourist. Recommend first stop for tourist.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    123
    29
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great visitor centre”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This has to be one of the best centres we have visited. The fact that it also incorporates the bus station means that it has everything in one building- clean facilities, lots of information, and even a well patronised coffee shop.
We visited more than once during our 4 days in BH to ask for maps and further info from the always obliging staff.
Like an earlier reviewer mentioned, we felt that there should have been some notices or information about the fact that the "Line of Lode" was closed to visitors. We, like many visitors before and after us, tried a couple of times to go there and found the gates padlocked without any notice. It was still listed in pamphlets, etc so we had to return to visitor centre and ask what was going on.
The highlight of our visit to BH was possibly the walking tour from the Visitor Centre which is guided by one of the local people. Each tour would be different according to the guide but all provide a marvellous picture overview of the architecture and social history of the place, as well as providing an insight into the lives of the miners and people who have lived here for many years

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“great start to a visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

brochures for the range of attractions offered was all there plus a good coffee shop.The staff were friendly although we were not told that the line of lode was closed,which was one of the purposes of the visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanunda, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor signage”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Please install information sign at intersection to let people know where you are, otherwise you are a well kept secret.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick K, Tourism Officer at Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Pam C,
thank you for your feedback.
The signage around town can be a problem but we are working on rectifiying this so we won't stay a 'well kept secret' forever. ;-)
We sincerely hope you have enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haberfield, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Broken Hill - on show”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is one of the best information centers that I have ever visited. It is a great source of local information and advice on what is to be seen and the staff are very welcoming and cooperative. There is plenty of printed information to be had and there is the advantage of the "local" input from the staff

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Finny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre also viewed

 

Been to Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing