We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Silver Haven Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Budapest
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable stop over”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

From the outside appearance the quality of the Silver Haven came as a surprise. The complex is large. It is clearly a commercial travellers motel and given it was still the holiday break there was no problem getting accommodation. The room, which was spotlessly clean, well maintained and decorated, was equipped with quality furniture, tables and cupboards, fittings and up to date domestics including a good size fridge, toaster and coffee/tea maker. All in all this was a spacious and modern facility. The proprietor and staff were welcoming, pleasant and helpful.

Outside, besides a quality wooden bench assigned to the room, there was a small guests only swimming pool which is well maintained. It had a good laundry room and its own restaurant. This was welcome given the absence of local eateries within walking distance. The restaurant was well decorated, light and modern supplying a good range of reasonably priced food.

The motel is located on the City's main street several minutes walking distance from the 'historic' quarter with its fine Victorian public buildings

The small quibble was the absence of free wi-f-. It was available but at an unreasonably high price.

This is am good value for money motel and well worth the stop over.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent our first night in Broken Hill at the Silver Haven as our desired accommodation was booked out for the night. The motel is easy to find on the Sydney (or Wilcannia) road into town. It's a few blocks further to the main retail strip. The rooms are small and a little dark, but clean and functional. It would be a reasonable spot to spend a night when passing through, but this is not indulgent accommodation by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billthoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had three nights at this motel and were pleasantly surprised at how helpful and friendly all the staff were. We requested a late checkout and were able to stay in our room until ready to leave. The restaurant was great, presenting good quality food, cooked well. There was a little bit of noise from trucks passing but the very comfy bed made sleeping easy. The fridge and microwave make it easy to have a few supplies in the room for breakfast and snacks. The standout quality of this motel is the friendliness of the staff. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid Road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Korgi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stay here every time we come to Broken Hill and we are always welcomed back like old friends. The rooms are spacious, well set out, clean and away from a lot of noise which always ensures a good nights sleep. Annie the owner is always friendly and helpful when we arrive and quite often has the air conditioner on if hot and we are arriving late in the day, she will even post back clothing inadvertently left behind.( thanks Annie!!) The restaurant does great food if you want to stay in but if not the motel is a nice stroll from the main street. A very nice inexpensive place to stay.




Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank mareeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We needed a self-contained unit with our own cooking facilities for special diet requirements. Even though the main part of the motel was fully-booked, the owners offered us a unit available across the street, catering to all our needs. It was very tastefully re-decorated, freshly painted and clean. We would definitely stay there again if ever we go to Broken Hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toowong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here for a few nights recently. The room was very clean and tidy and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was quite delicious, although the service was a little slow. The only problem was that the motel is on the main road into Broken Hill, so the noise from the trucks was a bit of a nuisance but the bed was comfortable and once we were asleep we hardly noticed the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms behind reception or the restaurant may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Pirie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Silver Haven (purchased through a Travel Auction). The staff were all so helpful & friendly! Our room was extremely comfortable & clean. It included a microwave, toaster & kettle plus all the crockery/cutlery & a sink complete with dishliquid & teatowel!
The decor was modern & included 2 armchairs as well as a table & chairs. Included too was an iron & ironing board & a hairdryer. We will happily return next visit to Broken Hill!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gateway Motor Inn
Gateway Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lodge Outback Motel
The Lodge Outback Motel
#5 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Willyama Motor Inn
Old Willyama Motor Inn
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silver Haven Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Haven Motor Inn

Property: The Silver Haven Motor Inn
Address: 577 Argent St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silver Haven Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silver Haven Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing