We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best”
other travellers have booked this property
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
The romantic Lavender bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
ORIGINAL SONE MINER'S COTTAGE BUILT 1896. Charming, quiet, close to attractions and Shops.
The romantic Lavender bedroom
The Rose Room
Comfortable lounge with DVD library
Cook up a storm or just boil and egg!  It's all there.
Plenty of fluffy towels
This BBQ cooks great steaks!
Part of the back yard.
Springtime at the cottage
The Entrance
A MINER'S REST BROKEN HILL
The old South mine
We came across these two on our wildflower walk
Fishing at the Menindee Lakes
Very rare but very beautiful Sturt's Desert Pea
Free ride on a camel anyone?
View from the Sculpture Park
One of the famous sculptures
Broken Hill from the air
Silverton Council building circa 1800s
Anzac memorial main street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broken Hill, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PhillipD2...
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we walked in we were wowed by the charm of the cottage. Snug living room spacious and comfortable bedrooms, everything clean and welcoming. Cottage has everything you need and the backyard with off-street parking was brilliant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and quaintness of the cottage
Liked least: There is nothing we didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
Thank you SO much for your very kind words and for your booking A Miner's Rest for your holiday. It is every owner's joy to hear their guests have had a lovely time and we are very happy that you were comfortable and pleased with your surroundings. It is handy to have a large back yard for parking isn't it? We even had an emu decide it was a good place to park for a few days last year too, much to everyone's enjoyment. Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us. We do appreciate it! All the best, Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint-Cas...
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfy, peaceful lil cottage ”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

This is a must stay if you are in Broken Hill.
Big comfy master bed...
Clean, neat and tidy.
Gorgeous yard to sit back and relax. Spa is GREAT complete with candles to be lit surrounding it.
Massive DVD collection that will suit any taste.
Highly recommend!
We would of stayed longer if we could of.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Dear Guests..........So glad you enjoyed the cottage and had a relaxing time in the spa. We think every home should have one!

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments and we hope to see you again one day.

Best Wishes,

Karyl & Henry Z
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the photos and homely touches
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Big smiles here from all around the office. It was good to hear you were comfortable during your BH stay and we hope to see you all again one day. Thank you for staying with us!


Best Wishes from Karyl & henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
derbynut
Bullaburra
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at A Miners Rest”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 3 days at A miners Rest and wished we had more time. The cottage has been beautifully maintained and has all the comforts you could wish for. The kitchen is full equipped, and the nick-nacks, bits of memorabilia and history are a lovely touch. This is not a 5 star city hotel, and doesn't pretend to be, but it is a well loved and wonderfully presented bit of history. Note, as the cottage is on the south side of town, your own transport is desirable,but that is true for anywhere you stay in Broken Hill, as many attractions are best visited under your own steam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling that you were staying in a piece of history.
Liked least: Being a bit away from the heart of town.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
We were so pleased you enjoyed your time at 'A Miner's Rest' and were comfortable while you were there. Perhaps we may see you again one day?

Until then, stay safe and enjoy being home again. We all love being away but there's no place like home!

Best Wishes,

Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 May 2014
Good to see you all again and thank you for returning to Miner's Rest!

Your kind comments were very welcome and we do appreciate that by returning to the cottage, you are putting the rubber stamp (so to speak) on what we like to do and provide for our guests - which helps us keep up the standards all guests should enjoy.

Hope to see you again some day.

All the best to you and the family.

Henry & Karyl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AWelly
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and great hosts”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Miners Rest. Our family of five were arriving at Broken Hill after a long days driving and had let the owners know so they knew we might be late. Karyl had gone to the trouble of organising some food for our evening meal realising how tired we would be when we arrived, a great welcome to Broken Hill. It's clear the owners here go out of their way to ensure their guests have a great stay. The cottage itself is full of character and history as well as being well equipped and our kids enjoyed having some space in the back yard. We fitted comffortably with a family of five for a couple of days using a fold out bed provided, but it's probably best suited up to a family of four. A great place to base a stay in Broken Hill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2013
Thank you for your kind comments Andrew! It was good of you to take the time to do that given how busy travelling you must be at this time of the year. Hope you and your family have a very happy Christmas and a successful 2014.
Best Wishes,
Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Well thank you Discerning Durrants! How very kind of you to take the time to comment on your stay. We were really chuffed by your kind words as a guest's comments are like gold to us in the 'holiday house' arena. We're so glad you had a good time in BH and hope you left refreshed and ready to come back at some time in the future perhaps? Best Wishes, Karyl & Henry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing