We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean, cheap motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge Outback Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge Outback Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, cheap motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We hadn't booked so were lucky to find such a nice place on our first try. The room wasn't large but had everything we needed- Microwave, kettle, toaster, table & chairs. Air con that worked well- 45degrees the day we arrived!!! Bed was comfy, nice and quiet in our room. Helpful staff- laundry for a coin fee.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate feedback and hope you had a great stay in the great outback town of Broken Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    97
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
113
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We booked this place based on other reviews and we were not disappointed. What a lovely motel and the landlady owner is a really charming character. We stayed in one of the outer rooms, not in the old building, but it was spotlessly clean and a decent size. We were glad of the good air conditioning, as the daytime temperature had been well into the 40s.
The free WiFi worked well and breakfast was a reasonable $8.50Aud for Continental or $12.50Aud cooked. The location is great too, being in a quiet area, but close to everything.
Even the pool is a decent size and there's an outside bar-B-Q area if you want to use it.
Highly recommended.
For a good local meal try the Democratic Club(ok family place), or the Mulga Hotel (more upmarket - see separate review.)

Room Tip: Any room is fine, whether in the old building, or in the newer cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for the review, we appreciate it very much. We are very happy that you had a great experience of the big outdoors. Good luck with future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful motel. Situated in a quiet, peaceful yet central location, this grand old manor house has been lovingly restored and made into very tastefully appointed accommodations. The delux spa room we stayed in was just beautiful and the staff the generous and helpful I have had the pleasure to meet. Breakfast was sensational, fresh and hot and cooked to perfection. I look forward to staying here again soon. Well done Duncan and staff. Thank you so much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the outback hospitality that we are well known for. We wish all the best with future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great old building, though we stayed in the cabins outside. Not very big rooms, but ours was clean and comfortable and we had a great sleep. Friendly service and reasonable price. Good location and a short walk into town. Lovely gardens and the pool was basic but a welcome amenity after a very hot day of sightseeing. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear that you a wonderful experience at our motel and the outback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Arrived Broken Hill 17/10/13 at 6.30am on board the Indian Pacific Train with a booking for a one night stay at The Lodge. There were six other people that also had the same booking as us so the eight of us mingled outside the railway station hoping for transport.
I rang the Lodge & asked if there was anyone that could pick us up & they happily provided complimentary transport for all of us.
We all had the same check in time for 2pm so we were prepared to drop our bags & walk around the town, but the manager Christine advised us to wait around for an hour of two & she would do her best to have our rooms made available. By 10am we were all checked into our respective rooms that most had to be thoroughly cleaned from previous use. What service!
Our outside budget room was a tad small but extremely comfortable having all the modern cons plus tea/coffee/fresh milk provided & a useful microwave oven. Car parking was at the door.
It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the CBD but us having a rental (as most people do when visiting BH) it didn't affect us.
There is a nice pool & the grounds are kept in clean condition.
For the price The Lodge is hard to beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We are more than excited that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay at The Lodge Outback Motel. We appreciate very much your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights, in a great Heritage Room, very comfortable bed, very clean unit good sized room with very high ceilings as per age of main dwelling. We had a carport attached to our room which had a beautiful atmosphere with old world charm and a bottle wine on arrival, very welcome and appreciated.Microwave was also very handy. Bathroom was smallish with shower, no bath but quite ok for 3 nights, good size TV, free internet and cooked Breakfast every morning in our room was excellent and Christine was very helpful regarding tours etc., and the pool was also sparkling clean and refreshing in the heat of Broken Hill temps. We loved our stay and recommend it to anyone wishing to stay over in Broken Hill but if booking, take the Heritage Room (carport) as the standard motel type rooms did appear very basic and small. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Heritage Room near pool with carport
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chriscu2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay and that you loved the Outback hospitality we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Clean. Helpful staff. Bed comfortable. However, on the downside, SMALLEST room I have ever stayed in! Terribly cramped. ONE tiny window which looked on to a tall boundary fence just a metre or two away. So no outlook at all! Would even liked to have looked on to a car park!!!!! Shower over the bath, and the water because of shocking fitting of a glass door, flooded the bathroom floor. Placement of shower taps, one has to get OUT of the shower, step over bath to adjust taps so 3 trips out at least, really terrible. No rail on fridge door, so fridge contents spilled out every time unless we were VERY slow and careful. VERY DISAPPOINTED.
A couple on a business trip, plus some R & R.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs_Christine, Manager at The Lodge Outback Motel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write you comments. It is unfortunate that the room you booked did not cover your needs. Most of our rooms are individually fitted and have some unique aspects. Being part of an old building this is unavoidable. We always encourage guest who are not happy about there rooms to come and ask if a more suitable room is available.

We do hope that you still had some R&R during your stay in Broken Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#4 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#10 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Motel
Hilltop Motel
#14 of 17 in Broken Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Outback Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Outback Motel

Property: The Lodge Outback Motel
Address: 252 Mica St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Broken Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Outback Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine comfortable living with an exclusive outback experience and you have award wining The Lodge Outback Motel. This delightful place is in the secluded area of Broken Hill, offering a great place for you to escape from every day hassles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lodge Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing