We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It what it is”
Review of Dubbo Palms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dubbo Palms Motel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you're thinking this is anything other than a reasonably priced motor inn, you've got it wrong. It's an old fashioned motor inn. I was happy to see there was a nice comfy king sized bed. I was concerned when I saw the base was two singles pushed together but the mattress was a king and it was comfy. Trust me if it had have been two singles pushed together I'd be letting you all know and I would have complained to management.

The TV was a large new flat screen which was good. I was happy that it was mounted to the wall on the type of bracket you could adjust so you could watch it on either the lounge or the bed. I was excited to see the size of the bath only to see a sign which was place in the middle of the tub stating it was not to be used due to leaking. After a long day a nice soak in the bath would have been brilliant and was a part of the reason why I booked here. I decided not to complain as the shower was a good one with a good shower head.

It is a super modern fantastic little gem? No. Is there 10 other motor inns right next door and up the street? Yes. Would I stay at the Dubbo Palms again? Probably. I had stayed at one of the other motor inns last time I was there. It was about the same, though the location of this one was better and the rooms slightly better too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
1  Thank PepalaPow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

I loved your review! At first I wasn't sure where you were going with it, but it ended up alright!
I'm glad you liked our location, I get a lot of good comments about 'great location'.
Just to let you know, that all king beds are made with 2 single bases. The key to them is, as you discovered, that they have a full king mattress. Our kings are top of the range Latex Beds...very comfy!!!
We do not have rooms that have baths. We do have spa rooms though. One of them is currently out of order. That must have been the room you were in (but you would not have been in there at the Spa room Rate). Had you requested a Spa Room on check-in, you would have been allocated to a room with a working spa. But the showers are good - hot and plenty of water.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I'm so confused!! I read some of the reviews and wonder if I'm staying in the same motel.
Soneone talked about a wonderful comfy king bed and that this was the best place to stay??? WHAT???

My room is upstairs as soon as I walk into the room the smell of old hits me in the face so bad that I can feel my self trying not to breath whilst at the same time my eyes are viewing totall ugliness everything is old, looks dirty and smells awfull.

I only stayed here by accident a booking elsewhere gone wrong and I drove in to the palms when it was dark and I didn't have any choice, I'm really regretting that decission.
As soon as you drive in your can see it's awfully bad and certainly is even worse than the photos.

It's not even worth at under $100. I feel like I'm for sure going to be sick the next day, the air conditioner look industrial, dirty and looks like it's harbouring many diseases.

So when would it be ok to stay here? In my opinion..NEVER

If your used to camping or staying in really bad caravan parks then this may be better choice at least you get a toilet and running water inside otherwise don't do it.

Even a budget place as bad as the fountain view is better, I know because I have stayed there.

Room Tip: From my experience just sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review because it allows me to explain a few things. The review you read was from a guest who stayed in one of our newly renovated Executive rooms. I'm assuming you booked one of our online specials (you like the discounted price, but want a 5 star room?). You can upgrade to an Executive room (and pay the difference), as well as request a 'downstairs' room if desired.
We are currently working on the inside of our rooms first. Then we will start on the outside appearance. We haven't had the motel all that long, and it will take time. At present, we are painting, and replacing door locks to key-less entry locks.
Just because some of the A/C's are old, they work, and definitely won't kill you! As they break down, we are replacing them with split-systems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I don't normally write reviews but I just had to let people know how great the Dubbo Palms is! I travel a lot for work and this is one of the best motels I have stayed at.

The free Wi Fi in the executive room I had made everything so much easier and convenient for me. The King bed was latex and combined with the peaceful location, it allowed me to have the best night sleep ensuring I was totally refreshed for my meetings.

The location was also extremely central with restaurants and the city center only a stroll away.

The best and most surprising element was the staff. I felt as though I was really cared for and looked after. They were so polite and approachable, I really got that "country hospitality" experience.

I would recommend this place to anyone to stay, from a holiday to a work trip Dubbo Palms will look after you.

Thank you for such a great stay, I will be back every time I have to go to Dubbo.

Brian

Room Tip: Go for the executive room. They are very affordable and the free Wi Fi, extra space and latex beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review. We are slowly working on doing up all the rooms and really appreciate customer feedback. You clearly stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms which feature ;
Free Wi Fi
Free Austar ( 3X movies & 3X sport channels)
Free Parking
Free Tea/coffee/milk/biscuits
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at this motel in Dubbo. The motel rooms are a great size and we could see all the improvements starting to take shape around the motel. We met the new owners who are lovely and they explained the big plans they have for upgrading the motel. While the room was not super modern, it was clean and warm and comfortable. Our room service breakfast was lovely and we extended up extending our stay for an extra night. Great service and in a very central location, close to lots of eating options and the Main Street. Looking forward to our next stay to see the progress made around the motel. Thanks for a lovely family stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJWilliams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this very lovely review. We really do appreciate all guest feedback, as we continually strive to improve the property and our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

After an eight hour drive we arrived to find previous guest dinner still in microwave and hair all through the shower. Photos on booking site are nothing like room. Had two small children and had to wait for room to be re cleaned before entering. Service was friendly enough however I do not feel she really cared about the state of the room before she had to re clean it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am the new owner of the Dubbo Palms Motel and really appreciate your comments. I hope you try us again and I can assure you of the cleanliness of the rooms. The decor is dated and that will be a slow, costly program, as we are only onto our second room completely renovating. In the meantime, we remain clean, comfortable and affordable with a central location that people seem to love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for a night with our family before visiting the zoo and would recommend to anyone thumbs up from us. There was no noise from the road plenty of space for us all and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for this fabulous review! It is most welcomed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are looking for budget accommodation you found it. Our room smelt like it hadnt been opened in days and the fridge in our room ran noisy all night.
You get what you pay for. The positive being on a main road its suprisingly quite.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Defonbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubbopalms, Owner at Dubbo Palms Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

So sorry you had a bad experience. I can't say that I agree with 'our rooms stink'. Thats a bit harsh. However, it indicates that you had a less than pleasant time during your stay. I invite you to return and give us the opportunity to change your view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 31 in Dubbo
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon
0.4 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#9 of 31 in Dubbo
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 31 in Dubbo
297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubbo Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubbo Palms Motel

Address: 39 Cobra St | Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia (Formerly Dubbo Palms Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range: £80 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dubbo Palms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the Dubbo Palms Motel, you will be close to the Dubbo attractions and activities, shops, restaurants and bars. Relax in our spacious air-conditioned rooms. Get that tropical feel by our salt-water pool guarded by towering palm trees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dubbo Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing