We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine country hospitality”
Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Gables Motel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genuine country hospitality”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

we took the change on the Green Gables, and were not disappointed at all. The staff (Matthew and his wife) are wonderfully helpful. The rooms are small but provide everything we needed and were quite modern. The rooms are well insulated as we didn't need the air conditioning yet it was freezing outside. The motel is just off the main highway, and was lovely and quiet. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. We chose the bowls club and had some of the best thai tasted outside a capital city. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: As the area is quiet, I think that any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    62
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
51
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Took the chance on the Green Gables in Dubbo...and very glad we did. Friendly staff..clean modern room...(a little small but well furnished and really, the more space I have in a room only gets filled up with stuff from the car) ...quiet location. ...and just a short stroll from some of the best Thai food... and there is also some really good pub food available too...all in all a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The motel is at the opposite end of Bourke St. to which the Navman takes you, the road is separated by a park and without ringing the motel for directions I would never have found it. I only stayed the one night as I was just passing through but found the owners friendly and the room, although a little out dated clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: I can only comment on my room which was room 20 as I've done above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean and tidy, comfortable bed, quite location , short cab ride to restaurants too far to walk at night. We stayed in the deluxe spa suite, small kitchenette and large fridge. We had to go back to reception to get the internet connection password. They state they have electric blankets on the beds in winter, but there wasn't .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room is very neat. The washroom is very clean. I love the bed, which comes with a electric heat blanket. The staff is very friendly. It is also in a very good location inside the city. Many fast food shops are nearby as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed in a standard Queen room and couldn't have been happier. The staff were friendly and accommodated my late arrival. The room was warm on arrival and the electric blanket had been turned on. The shower was spacious and warm. Both the room and linen were immaculately clean. The décor and furnishings were modern (even though the room was older). Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB11123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I can't speak for all of the hotels in Dubbo, but this place is fantastic value for money!

Immaculately clean- the room smelled fresh and clean upon entry
Big, warm shower
Good LCD tv
Modern decor even though room was older- it shows you that if you put a bit of love in to the care of the room, blue tiles and carpet don't matter!

Well done Green Gables!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Exchequer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
1.1 mi away
Akuna Motor Inn Dubbo
0.4 mi away
Shearing Shed Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Property: Green Gables Motel
Address: 134 Bourke St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Gables Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 4 Star Accommodation Dubbo NSW At Green Gables Motel we offer a mix of modern 4 star accommodation & comfortable 3 1/2 star accomodation in Dubbo NSW, providing a quality accommodation for discerning business and leisure travelers. Located a short walking distance from the Dubbo CBD with a wide array of Restaurants and Shops, and just a short drive to the Orana Mall Shopping Centre, Green Gables Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs in Dubbo. Green Gables is located off the main thoroughfare providing a quite location for a good nights sleep. Green Gables Motel has 20 spacious rooms, room service meals, 6 free Austar Channels, WIFI internet, BBQ facilities & a salt water pool. Dubbo is a popular stop off point, halfway between Brisbane and Melbourne and also an easy drive from ACT, Wollongong, Sydney, Tamworth or Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing