We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here on the way home on a family trip and found the service to be excellent. The Motel is perfectly placed close to the main street and less than 5 minutes drive from Western Plains Zoo. The in-room meals were a bit ordinary however there are quick meal outlets all around you. I would definitely stay there again if passing through.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Alan,
Thank you very much for your reviews. Apologies again for the meal. As I mentioned we don't have a restaurant on premise so we order from another establishment. Having said that though we haven't received any other complaints so hopefully it was an isolated incident. The owner did contact them though regarding cooking preferences for future guests. Hope we do see you and your family again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    64
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
43
29
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on an interstate road trip. Friendly staff. Room clean and comfortable and very spacious compared to other motels stayed in. Location to town, shops and restaurants is excellent. Road noise didn't seem to bother us and we had a nice and comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Request lower ground if you have small children or lots of luggage that you don't want to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi Tiffany,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Aberdeen. Not only are reviews a great tool for us to gauge our quality of service and facilities but positive reviews such as yours are excellent motivators for all the staff. I will be sure to pass on your review to all the staff here.
Thanks again.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Augusta, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Didn't have a reservation as we were travelling. Checked in around 8pm and warmly welcomed by owner. Room well appointed and very clean. Luckily had suitable bedding configuration (queen and a single) for us and beds were perfectly comfortable. Asked for a heat pack to be heated in microwave and this was no problem at all. Having been on the road for 11 hours, this was a necessity! Very quiet, parking was easy (in front of room) and location on main road made it easy to find. Spoke with a couple of other guests who stayed there regularly because of the service, cleanliness and nearness to facilities.

Room Tip: Stairs to rooms on upstairs level could be a negative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Obie 1960,
Thank you very much for adding your review to our listing. It is always pleasing to get positive feedback
from our guests and we very much appreciate you taking the time to post it. It was especially nice to read about your conversation with some of our regular guests. We take some pride in the fact that we have quiet a few regular guests that stay with us when in Dubbo.
Hope we see you again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedoo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for one night in after visiting the zoo in Dubbo - only a 5 minute drive away.
Hotel was very easy to find - on the main road.
Dinner was quick and easy - take away right across the road.

The reception staff were really friendly - we were under the impression that the hotel had wifi included. Turned out it didn't, but we were given 3 free hours of wifi for the inconvenience (even though it was our over-sight).

The room was comfortable and reasonably priced. The night was quite cold because the air-conditioner wasn't working properly. If you are a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend this hotel to you because of the traffic that comes past the hotel, including semi-trailers. Quite loud.

We ordered room service for breakfast. The toast was stone cold, and everything was way over-priced.
We were asked to leave our tray outside once we were finished. About 15 minutes later after delivery, we had staff knock on the door requesting our tray. When we said we weren't finished, the staff member made it quite clear that they were not impressed.

The cleaning staff the next morning were not friendly at all. I didn't see one of them smile at once, nor did any of them acknowledge our presence when we walked past them almost brushing shoulders.

Room Tip: Pick a room as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimB2830, Owner at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Cherry
Thanks for taking the time to review our property. Apologies for the breakfast experience and cleaners, I have spoken to relevant staff and they were somewhat embarrassed and apologetic - generally they are a very happy bunch and it has been valuable feedback for them.
Hope you are able to stay with us again and experience the hospitality we pride ourselves on.

Regards
Jim beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The host was nice...Room was clean and neat.. price reasonable.
We only stopped there after a long drive and we were bushed so we turned in early to grab what sleep we could on the standard motel "firmer than it needs to be" mattress all motels seem to have.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor room if you can..you have less distance and no stairs to carry the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Ross,
Thanks for the honest and constructive review. We appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your experience. In regards to your bed comment, everyone has different preferences so it is difficult to please everyone.We do have a few variety of beds available and our regulars get to know which they prefer and usually request the room/bed they like.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Positive: cheap rooms, quite clean, parking
Negative: thin walls hence very loud

We were very unlucky and had the most terrible room neighbours that were drinking and making lots of noise all night long. After a couple of sleepless hours we called the management and they did .... nothing. Probably they were terrified of those low-lifes themselves. We left the hotel in the middle of the night. Terrible experience. Dubbo is not that great of a place anyway. The zoo is alright, but really nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austriantravel_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We were not happy to read that due to the neighboring guests being noisy you didn’t get to enjoy your time with us. If you contacted management they would have definitely addressed the issue by talking to the offending people immediately. We find that while most guests are respectful of others, occasionally people can forget that others around them are trying to rest or sleep. Possibly in this case as in past cases the owner may have had to make several requests before the rowdy guests in question did settle down.
Apologizes for the inconvenience caused to you.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

After a long day of driving, the motel which is located in the centre of town was easy to find. Close to all amenities and dependent what you wanted for dinner most outlets including restaurants were within easy walking distance of the motel.

Also being a hot day it was nice to be able to cool off in the swimming pool located in the courtyard.

Our room was a good size, air conditioned with tea and coffee making facilities and the fridge was stocked with a small selection of soft and alcoholic drinks.


Very comfortable and very affordable! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The motel is located on the main highway and is L shaped. We had a room in the corner of the L locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi Jan,
Firstly, I want to say thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. Secondly, I wanted to thank you for the very comprehensive and positive content of it. I noticed that you have reviewed quiet a few motels/hotels which makes your review of the Aberdeen even more rewarding to read. I hope we do see you both again someday.
Regards,
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
Comfort Inn Dubbo City
#27 of 30 in Dubbo
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
0.1 mi away
Dubbo Palms Motel
Dubbo Palms Motel
#15 of 30 in Dubbo
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden West Motor Inn
Golden West Motor Inn
#16 of 30 in Dubbo
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

Property: Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
Address: 25 Cobra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Motor Inn (Sundowner) is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing