We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Dubbo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have stayed at the Cattleman's on 2 previous occasions but this time - 3 nights - 23 - 25 January we were very disppointed. We had booked a Superior King room on 1 floor. On arrival the receptionist said he had found a room on ground floor - will that be OK. Assured us it was OK - first impression - nice decor but a disabled suite. Later in the evening we noticed a used cake of soap on shower soap holder - yuk - well so the cleaning staff missed it. On going to retire to bed - turned back bedspread - the sheets had not been changed from previous guests on the king size bed - a pretty disgusting discovery! Contacted reception and we were subsequently given another room for the night. How did this happen - there were fresh towels etc! Is the Cattleman's getting too big to do a proper job in housekeeping?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Cattlemans was very busy when arrived and while the service was efficient, it was not warm or friendly. Booked 2 rooms - 94 and 96 which were on ground floor so convenient to the car. The rooms were well laid out and newly renovated, however unfortunately did not have any adjoining outdoor area to relax in, so we were forced to stay in the rooms. The rooms on the second floor had small balconies although I am unsure what type of rooms these were. The bathrooms were spacious and again renovated.

The hotel was across the road from some facilities (pizza, Thai, service stations) so you don't need a car unless you want to travel into Dubbo city. I rated this 3 stars however as for a four and half star, I would have assumed a breakout area for each room (there doesn't appear any breakout areas in the hotel apart from the small pool area right beside the checkin area) and the room, although very comfortable, was dark.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appear to have small balcony for afternoon drinks. Good to get room in middle of...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Frank.

Thank you for your review. I am glad you were impressed with the décor of our Queen Rooms, we take pride in making sure even our standard rooms are impressive. I am sorry you expected a break out area with you room. We do have a lot of rooms with balconies and sitting areas, which are explained in detail on our website. If you are looking for something specific you are able to call our reception staff to ask questions and they can help accommodate you in a room that suits you. A lot of our apartments have lovely and large balconies overlooking the Macquarie river which may suit you better.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights during a roadtrip around NSW. This was one of the best accomodation places that we booked during our trip. Very comfortable beds, plenty of space, a dining table (which is often missed with a family), very clean, user friendly kitchen & close to a 7-11 store & servo for any supplies you may need & take away food stores for quick meals.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Sam,

Thank you for your high rating review. Our apartments are very popular for travelling families for these exact reasons! I am glad we were able to make your stay in Dubbo that little bit more enjoyable.

Regards,

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked at the last minute and were given a new room to the rear of the large complex. Undercover parking was appreciated as it was pouring with rain when we arrived. The staff were helpful. We ate at their restaurant and found the food to be very good. The price for both the accommodation and meal were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerR3580QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for your high rating review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cattleman's and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked trough wotif and paise $150 for a 2 bed apartment. On the Newell Highway so easy to find and the room was clean and comfortable. Quick check in nod just dropped the key on the way out. A big complex with 2 areas. No complaints.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your review!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cattleman's, it is our mission to provide our guests with the best possible service and value for money.

We hope to see you in the future.

Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very clean and spacious room with comfortable modern furniture and a nice comfy bed! Large bathroom with a great shower! Parking was undercover and close to our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful even during a very busy check in period. Great value for money and I would come back here without any hesitation. Great location as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Gabriella,

Thank you for your high rating review. We try hard to ensure our guests get great value for their money so I'm glad you found this with our apartments!

We look forward to seeing you next time your in Dubbo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Travelling with 2 young children, visiting Dubbo for a weekend at the zoo. The motel was nice, and rooms were clean and standard size. The rooms were quite difficult to find due to the layout, it is quite a large complex with a few blocks. We were able to park our car very close to the room however. The room had a microwave and fridge, and separate beds which was great, but, only a shower, no bath, which was a little tricky with young children. The restaurant was also nice, but the prices were more akin to Sydney restaurants than what I would expect in the country. All-in-all it was good value, but would hunt around if we were staying longer.

Room Tip: Call in advance, they were very helpful and can answer any questions you have
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuddFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mot423, Manager at Cattleman's Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our staff very helpful on the phone, they really do their best to make sure your stay is enjoyable! Once again, thank you for your review and we do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.5 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#21 of 30 in Dubbo
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#3 of 30 in Dubbo
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Dubbo International
1.1 mi away
Best Western Bluegum Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cattleman's Country Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cattleman's Country Motor Inn

Address: 8 Whylandra St, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubbo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubbo
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cattleman's Country Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for accommodation in Dubbo, the multi award winning Cattleman's Country Motor Inn offers a variety of very well appointed motel style rooms and apartments.Often described as "Dubbo accommodation at its best", the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is located centrally and is the only AAA rated 4 1/2 star motel in Dubbo. It is set on 3 acres with 110 rooms and serviced apartments and includes an indoor (heated) and 2 outdoor pools. For your dining pleasure we have our multi award winning restaurant which has been voted "The Best Restaurant West of the Blue Mountains". Open for breakfast and dinner 7 days a week as well as capable of seating 300 people, our Master Chefs ensure that every experience is of the highest standard. Our restaurant bar will allow you to sit and relax before settling into your meal.For conferences, we have purpose built conference rooms with dedicated seating for up to 120 people. For functions we have function rooms that can cater for up to 300 people. It is little wonder that the Cattleman's Country Motor Inn is the first choice of many traveling to Dubbo with its quality accommodation, excellent facilities and all at an affordable price.The Cattleman's has friendly and helpful staff and is operated by the owners themselves, who have built the motel from the ground up. We look forward to meeting you and making your visit to Dubbo an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cattleman's Country Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cattlemans Country Hotel
Cattlemans Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing