We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find and what a gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Goulburn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find and what a gem.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I pulled into the hotel from Canberra after a rather large weekend with friends. I have to be honest in that i was only looking for a quiet room and a bed to crash in. This hotel exceeded all expectations. First of all the staff, really friendly and exceptionally helpful and in my fragile state of mind this was very welcome and appreciated. Secondly, the room! it was fantastic, got the loft room with spa which unfortunately i didn't use but I will be visiting again. Third, the food, I had the duck cappelletti in duck broth with a cheese platter on room service (again, friendly smiling staff) and it was fantastic though i didn't get through the platter and more fool me. I have no criticism of this hotel and will not hesitate to stay again. In fact I'm planning to, as a gateway hotel to use as a base and explore Goulburn and it's surrounds (surpise sydney siders, it's a very interesting place to explore) this hotel is top of my list. All I can say is hopefully everybody reads this and hotel staff included, thank you so much.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the loft room with spa, and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WatsonPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Manager at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear WatsonPike,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor; we are very pleased to have exceeded all expectations on your trip to Goulburn!

We are fortunate to have a wonderful team of employees who continually strive to make our guests feel right at home, and your feedback will be passed on to them. A new Spring menu has just been introduced which is jam packed with quality items sourced from local and regional produce.

We do hope that you will travel back in future to explore our historic town, and that you can enjoy a spa bath and our hospitality on your next visit!

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN Centretown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    146
    40
    10
    12
See reviews for
115
114
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My stay was very well catered for. The service was very good and the room was great. The real gem is the restaurant run by Rowan et al. He's put a great deal of effort into make the menu different, special and something beyond what one would expect of Goulburn.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank holdenhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear HoldenHV,
Thank you for you review of Cascades Restaurant.
Our 3 chefs and their helpers are a talented team.
Rowan has just given me the Spring Menu to peruse. I look forward to eating my way through his next round of creations.
Vicki Rabjohns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Rather bleak looking place. It was freezing cold outside and there were no electric blankets on the beds so we had to keep the air conditioners blasting away to keep warm. This dried the air out considerably so it was difficult to sleep and also noisy. The rooms were clean but stark. Definitely not a place for a romantic holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AMM462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear AMM,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

With our proximity to the snow fields August is definitely our bleakest and windiest month.

Because the tablelands experience sub zero temperatures we build our units with multiple heat sources - air conditioner, in-wall instant heater and bathroom heater.

Only 15 days to spring when the open gardens commence and most of the frosts have gone.

I hope you can visit Goulburn in the warmer weather.

Regards,

Best Western Centretown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent a night in Goulburn. We generally bi-pass the city, so it was a pleasure to drive into that lovely country city.
The motel is not young, but has been beautifully, continually renovated and modernised. The room we had was spacious with full cooking facilities available. Décor was quite lovely and supported by a very modern bathroom. I always appreciate the 'extras' in a motel bathroom and this was no disappointment. And even a small courtyard to sit in.

The restaurant is good to visit - an extensive menu at reasonable prices. It is so convenient to walk from room to restaurant, especially on a cold night in Goulburn. Finally, there are other towns so easily accessible to Goulburn, so we may have a family visit with a view to have a few days in the area, but keeping this motel as our base.

Room Tip: our room was in a separate building at the back of the property...so quiet, and probably a newer con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I hope we can catch up with you and your family again.

Regards,

Vicki Rabjohns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of time in recent months. Service good, rooms clean and well presented.

Restaurant small but attentive staff make the difference.

The establishment looks like a 1970's construction job, there is work going on around the side and back of the building on the site, either building a new wing of rooms or renovating the ones already there. Looks like they are prepared to spend some money on improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Bam1748,

Thank you for your review.

You are quite correct. With 70+ rooms/apartments our team of 4+1/2 men is kept constantly busy with repairs, renovations and expansion.

I hope you enjoy our new product.

The Rabjohns Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I'm a Best Western Diamond Member & try to stay in Best Western hotels wherever I travel. I've been staying at the Best Western Centretown Goulburn for many years. Vicki & the staff always go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Well, this trip, Vicki stepped up the pace even more. When I arrived, Jackie advised me that they had offered me an up-grade. She directed me to room #128 & when I walked in I was "blown away" It's hard to desribe as you can't really do it justice in words. King bed, huge TV, 2 fridges, one stocked up with a swag of mini bar products.
The bathroom is unbelievable. Giant spa beside a window that looks straight into the main living area. Had to take some pics to show my wife, she wouldn't believe it.
As always, the food is second to none. Don't take my word for it. Next time you travel through the area, ring the team & book for the night. "You gotta see it to believe it" Billy......

Room Tip: ask the team for a nice quiet room & they'll bend over backwards to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Diamond Member Billy,

It can't be all work on the road. Glad we could make your day.

Vicki & Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wodonga
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the king spa unit. A1 all the way. Spa was absolutely amazing. Loved the marble bathroom and the huge window behind the spa enabling you to see the TV in the main lounge room. The waterfall style tap over the spa was special too. Great comfortable bed with 2 beautiful soft pillows. Walking distance to town if you want to go out for dinner, as we did. Managers very friendly and accommodating. Overall just a great place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeminiLeo5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PropertyManager77, Owner at Best Western Goulburn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear GeminiLeo5861,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the beautifully appointed King Spa Suite.

Safe travels and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Goulburn.

Best regards,
the Best Western Centretown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
2.8 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bakehouse Motel
The Bakehouse Motel
#4 of 16 in Goulburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Goulburn

Property: Best Western Goulburn
Address: 77 Lagoon St, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia (Formerly Best Western Centretown Goulburn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Goulburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Motel Accommodation, Apartments, Houses & Easy Access Ground Floor units. Cascades Licensed Restaurant & Bar. The Terrace Garden outdoor dining. Seasonally changing menu. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks & room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing