We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trappers is great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Goulburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Goulburn
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
“Trappers is great value”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for a wedding nearby and were pleasantly surprised. The room was fully renovated with modern bathroom and fittings, warm and toasty with own air conditioning but the biggest surprise was how comfy the bed was. Staff were friendly and the price is great value. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NatnErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear NatnErik

Thank you for choosing Trappers on your recent stay in Goulburn.

We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations, our guests are very excited by our modern fully renovated rooms.

I will pass on your comments to the staff as they are constantly striving to provide a warm friendly service.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    231
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
157
215
31
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The beds are very comfortable. The fresh milk given when you book in terrific. Rooms generous in size. Free Wi Fi. Very clean. My only suggestion is that they should provide a shower cap, such a small thing but would make the stay perfect. Can highly recommend this motel, although as most have commented a little on the expensive side. But I think worth it for the really comfy bed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Joanne W

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property following your recent stay.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderfully comfortable beds and the little touches of fresh milk upon arrival and free Wifi. We are constantly striving to improve our property and thank you for your suggestions.

When making your next reservation with us please ask our friendly staff about any special offers we have available.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Trappers.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I were staying here for one night and found the hotel staff to be exceptionally friendly. Reception staff advised us where best to park our 4WD and car trailer which we had previously notified them that we would have when we pre-booked the room. The room, (room 137) was a good size, very clean and modern, with good wi-fi, TV, en-suite etc. We had no noise from the outside or adjoining rooms, which can be a problem in some hotels. Breakfast was served to the room at the time requested and was presented well and hot. We would stay here again if in Goulburn.

Room Tip: We always request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Allan M

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Trappers Motor Inn.

We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations with the presentation, food and facilities. Our staff will be delighted by your comments they pride themselves on exceptional friendly service.

Many thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Trappers.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candelo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed in a number of motels in Goulburn and this one is by far the most comfortable. It has been recently renovated and the rooms are bright and large and the queen/king size bed is a lovely pillowtop and extremely comfortable. Parking is right outside of the room which is useful in bad weather, although to get to the restaurant you need to walk out in the open. My only criticism is that there is no microwave in the rooms, other than this, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Barbara W

Thank you for choosing Trappers as your number one place to stay in Goulburn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed all the comforts of our modern renovated rooms. All of our Apartment rooms have kitchens and microwaves please ask our staff for further details when making your next reservation.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

V comfortable and clean motel. My room was lovely and I particularly appreciated getting fresh milk and biscuits to have with coffee as well as a well stocked bar fridge. Was also very nice and warm on a very cold night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jane T

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to have provided you with a wonderful haven on a cold evening in Goulburn.

Travel safe we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Bedroom was lovely nice big bed, power points easily located lovely big bathroom and shower (yeah not over a bath).
Free Wifi
The food in the restaurant was disappointing one in menu no small meals and the meal I did order was extremely sweet (pumpkin pasta) and very hot like had been microwaved.
The car parking outside you door is great has swipe cards way better than chunky keys.
Only issue was that the back entrance to the motel had car parking so was quite narrow and had concerns for safety of vehicles.
Could walk to Big Merino as was in the Coles express car park across the road.
next door to McDonalds, across the road to a bakery and Subway.
Found all Goulburn Motels seemed a bit pricey in comparison to similar size localities.
Easy on and off Hume Freeway.

Room Tip: The pool is still under renovation and check whether is still Best Western Trappers or Premier in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Panda1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Panda1953

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

We are so pleased you enjoy the comfort and quality of our rooms and in particular the spacious bathrooms. Our beds are designed with a latex pillow top, all of our guests comment on how wonderfully comfortable they are.

Our restaurant menu is under review and being redesigned so your feedback will be invaluable in this process.

Safe travels, we look forward to welcoming you back to Trappers.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

$149 for a single person is a bit steep but then add a shower that allows water to escape when showering. Nice stains on the sheets (?), a very soft mattress which didn't allow free rolling etc. great location on the Canberra side of Goulburn.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArionHotels1, Manager at Mercure Goulburn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Hawkeye4077

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback and I will personally be following up on the issues raised to ensure any maintenance and housekeeping issues are addressed.

We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future, please ask our reception staff at the time of booking if they have any special offers available.

Many thanks again.

Kind regards

Michelle Beard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Goulburn
BEST WESTERN Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
383 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Willows Motel Goulburn
Willows Motel Goulburn
#3 of 16 in Goulburn
259 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bakehouse Motel
The Bakehouse Motel
#4 of 16 in Goulburn
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Goulburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Goulburn

Property: Mercure Goulburn
Address: Mercure Hotel 2 Lockyer St | (near the Big Merino), Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Goulburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be amazed as you enter the fully refurbished Mercure Goulburn - sophistication, comfort and style has arrived in the NSW Southern Tablelands. All rooms are fully refurbished and feature the latest essential modernities expected of high quality hotel accommodation. Hotel rooms sleep up to four guests and serviced apartments are available, accommodating up to six. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Goulburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Goulburn
Goulburn Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing