We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

VERY dated room with a terrible musty smell. I must admit I wasn't expecting anything fancy due to leaving it last minute to book but it was worse than I could ever have imagine. One good thing was it made us leave early 5.50am. Wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    32
    43
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
46
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the earlier reviews we didn't have high hopes for our stay.. However we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was a little dated but it was very clean and had a great shower.. The bed was comfortable and would have liked an extra pillow but we never asked for one.. Probably would have gotten one.. had a great nights sleep and couldn't complain about a thing.. Best bit was a great location!!. Walking distance to everything you needed for a short stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HXAdvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked this through booking.com and wrote a review which they didn't publish. The room was nothing like the photos on booking.com. It was old and shabby and everything looked filthy. The lady at reception was disgusting. She was standing outside smoking with some of the guests when I arrived and when she came in to serve me she absolutely stank of cigarette smoke. When she spoke I almost choked from the smoke on her breath and that is not an exaggeration. Lots of road workers etc appear to stay at this motel and they seem to like congregating outside doors and smoking. I had to roll up a towel and put it under the door to stop the cigarette smoke from wafting into my room from under the door. The ashtrays are on the ground just outside the some of the doors. I moved the one near mine, but it was put back near my door, so I had to endure this every night I stayed there, and then my towel stunk like smoke. The fridge was tiny. They advertise heating but don;t expect a reverse cycle air conditioner. I had a fan heater and one of those old water filled heaters that you udes to find in hospitals. Absolutely pitiful motel. I don't think it's worth the money you have to pay. I have stayed in much much nicer motels for less

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagrant123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Goulburn hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Quite dated furnishings but clean nonetheless. Was welcomed with a smile, walking distance to pubs and restaurants. Can recommend for a one night stay while passing through. Was woken early by diesel engines by traveller workers.

Room Tip: Select the deluxe for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Wife and I stopped at this motel on way home from qld,we fought we might have night in motel after 3 months in motor home,what a mistake,the bed had springs coming through mattress. The shower was dark and dingy.the disco went on to the early hours ,really would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tasmaniabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed on the way to Sydney. We arrived late at reception and were greeted with a smile. We found the bed very comfortable and the room was extremely clean. The hotel is a typical country hotel, old style, clean and friendly. Great shower! The location is close to everything. All in all would recommended to travellers passing through Goulburn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebalex01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Have recently stayed here for a Friday night. The hotel was one of the first Travelodges in Australia, built in the 1960’s. Although our room had seen updates to décor – new wardrobe and fittings, new flat screen television, and new chairs, it still has the older style charm and look of that era, so if you want to stay somewhere ultra-modern, look elsewhere. The room was a little on the small side.

The service here is friendly. The location is great – pubs, clubs, restaurants and shops all within easy walking distance.

We will definitely consider staying here again the next time we’re in Goulburn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goulburn hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Goulburn
Best Western Goulburn
#2 of 16 in Goulburn
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Posthouse
Comfort Inn Posthouse
#6 of 16 in Goulburn
103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lilac City Motor Inn
Lilac City Motor Inn
#8 of 16 in Goulburn
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alpine Heritage Motel Goulburn
1.9 mi away
Mercure Goulburn
Mercure Goulburn
#1 of 16 in Goulburn
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goulburn Motor Inn
Goulburn Motor Inn
#5 of 16 in Goulburn
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goulburn Central Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulburn Central Motor Lodge

Property: Goulburn Central Motor Lodge
Address: Cnr Auburn & Verner Sts, Goulburn, New South Wales 2580, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Goulburn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Goulburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulburn Central Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goulburn Central Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing