We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Crown Hotel Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grafton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crown Hotel Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Grafton B&B and Inns
Sawtell, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Clean and comfortable. Lovely staff and great old pub. Nice view across the mighty Clarence from our motel style room. Very convenient location right in the heart of Grafton and within easy walking distance to lovely cafes and pubs.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the river are the go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
18
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed in a "river view" room in the motel ($95 double) the room was able to sleep 4 if needed, so plenty of room for the 2 of us. If it wasn't so hot you could sit outside your room facing the Big river lovely and peaceful. Room was basic but clean with all facilities.
The pub is only 20 mtrs away and has friendly staff good beer and great meals.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and pick a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballantrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We chose to stay in the motel section at the Crown Hotel Motel. The room facilities are basic and somewhat dated, but include everything you need (kettle, toaster, fridge and television). The room was clean and the bed comfortable. A few points for travellers to note:
* the plumbing was somewhat noisy (when another unit flushed the toilet),
* when we checked in the fridge was not turned on, and
* the hotel charges a surcharge for paying by credit card.

At $85 per night (room without a river view) we considered The Crown provided excellent value for money. We chose to have breakfast at the hotel - the terrace overlooking the river has to be one of the best views available and the breakfast was cooked to order. Grafton is a relatively small town and The Crown is located on the edge of the commercial area, so the shops are within easy walking distance.

If you are looking for a five star hotel then The Crown is probably not for you. If you are after clean and basic accommodation The Crown will admirably suit your needs. Would definitely stay here again.

TC

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Crown has a few options; pub rooms or an adjoining small motel. I only needed a bed and shower so $50 beat $90. The pub is old but in good shape. Like many pubs in country towns, it was substantial and reminiscent of earlier times when pubs were the heart of a town. A nice experience and quite a change from the more sterile motel rooms we are used to.

The room was clean, quite large and surprisingly comfortable. Good comfortable bed, plenty of space and reasonably quiet. The communal bathroom just down the corridor were clean enough, big enough and the hot water was fine. Didn't have breakfast here as there are plenty of nice cafes nearby. The bar is pretty good and has a nice 'river view' outdoor area where you can enjoy a cold ale and dinner.

Didn't have any problems with pub noise even though we stayed on a Friday night. Overall, the Crown is a pretty reasonable option if you don't mind plain and simple.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed here whilst driving through for a night. The motel is attached to a pub that has views right out onto the river. There were a few levels of room - the ones in the motel (outside) were more modern and more expensive (AUD$20 more) for air-conditioning, there were also a few with river views that cost more. When we arrived we couldn't get the river view so ended up in a reasonable enough motel room with air-con - we paid for a double but got an extra free bed, making this a family room I guess.

As you can see from our pictures, the room was basic, but, it had a TV, fridge and plenty of space - just missing a nice view from the window. The bathroom was adequate, but, I think overall we paid around AUD$85, so, pretty reasonable. As the town was small you can walk anywhere, parking on the streets was also easy - though the motel carpark looked to have just about enough room for everyone's cars.

Food-wise its a nice touch that the hotel charges the same (very reasonable) prices as the pub, so you can have a nice fry-up for example for breakfast and it also apparently did in-room service? We didn't eat here (we chose a different pub) - but we had a drink in the bar area - it had pokies, large TV, pool tables and seemed pleasant enough.

Next morning we dropped off our keys and drove on, I don't think we'll ever be back to Grafton but it was a nicely cheap stay for a reasonable room.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grafton hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Grafton
Quality Inn Grafton
#7 of 10 in Grafton
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Motor Inn
The Abbey Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Grafton
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fitzroy Motor Inn
Fitzroy Motor Inn
#1 of 10 in Grafton
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grafton Lodge Motel
Grafton Lodge Motel
#4 of 10 in Grafton
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Australian Hotel Grafton
Australian Hotel Grafton
#6 of 13 in Grafton
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Grafton
Econo Lodge Grafton
#3 of 13 in Grafton
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel Motel

Property: Crown Hotel Motel
Address: 1 Prince Street | Clarence River, Grafton, New South Wales 2460, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Grafton
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing