We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Amazing! Warm Welcome & Great Breakfast”
other traveller has booked this property
Relax, unwind, de-stress on your private balcony.3 minutes from major highways. No traffic or noise.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax, unwind, de-stress on your private balcony.3 minutes from major highways. No traffic or noise.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Relax, unwind, de-stress on your private balcony.3 minutes from major highways. No traffic or noise.
Kangaroo family feeling comfortable in our garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Grafton, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ssut76
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Truly Amazing! Warm Welcome & Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for 1 night, was welcomed most warmly by Anne and her husband, beautiful, clean bedroom with comfy bed, good-sized private lounge, free internet, and clean bathroom with lots of toiletries (just in case you forgot anything). Sun-drenched (private) deck to lazy the day away / soak up the evening sun or have a barbecue. Truly great breakfast made with love and attention to detail, including a yummy fruit platter. Quiet and peaceful, a home away from home. There were books to read, games to play and videos to watch. Peaceful setting. Will definitely visit again. Thank you Anne!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Hi Ssut76. It was really lovely to hear from you. Thank you very much for your great review and score on your stay with us. You were a delight to have as our guest, and we are so pleased that you found your Suite so much to your liking and needs. David and I really love your writing style. It is so descriptive and evocative. I felt that maybe you would do well as a travel writer. Yes, I really care about the preparation of our guests' breakfasts, and enjoy knowing that it pleased you. And the B & B is a lovely and peaceful spot to 'get away from it all' for a while. I am sometimes tempted to book in myself (chuckle). We would love to have the chance to 'host' you again Sarah, so if you are up around the Northern Rivers region some time in the future, you will, once again, find a warm welcome. Thanks again for staying with us. Cheers, Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed last night and Anne and David could not have been more helpful- they lent us 2 umbrellas to go out to dinner / Anne also looked up the road conditions for our onward journey
The room the bed and the breakfast were all excellent
Great place to stop

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Hello again Sue. Thanks again for staying with us here at Andavine House B & B. And, thank you for your patience. My reply is a little overdue. With school holidays and Easter, it has taken me a little time to reply to your lovely review and score, on your stay with us this month. Yes, the weather wasn't the best in early April, but it sounds as though it didn't dampen your enjoyment of your over-night stay. I hope that your further drive that day, didn't throw up too many problems, as there were indeed some main road closures due to the weather. I do take a lot of care with your breakfasts, as they will hopefully, get your day's driving and activities off to a good start. And now, with the addition of our new queen mattress, we hope to refresh our guests, even better than before.
We extend an invitation to stay again both, whenever you are again travelling through our picturesque region (on a non-rainy day).
All the best for now. Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
Padstow, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Better than home... Great Views, Great Service, A Magic Breakfast”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We should have stayed two nights and enjoyed the relaxing, friendly atmosphere of this fabulous, secret place away from home. Way, way better than a motel, with a separate bedroom, lounge and large balcony to sit and enjoy watching the country vista, the cows in the fields and the odd small kangaroo hop by. It is all here, very well set up, dvd library, books to read, and two TVs, with your own private area. It was simply great. We were welcomed by Anne and David like long lost friends who made us feel very welcome and gave us a few tips for dinner and the town. And, then of course a great country breakfast and fresh fruits and teas to prepare you for the day. If, you need a place to stay on that road trip, spend a couple of nights here and you will come away totally relaxed. We did with only one night. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Hi again Alistair. Please accept my sincere apology for the lengthy delay in replying to your wonderful review of your stay with us, and your score. It was indeed, our great pleasure to take care of you both. We are really pleased for you that you enjoyed your little 'haven', and the special touches that we provide for you all. I do take care with your breakfasts, and enjoy very much, serving them to our guests out there on the verandah. Both of you would certainly be welcome back Alistair whenever you are driving through the North Coast. Such a spectacular region of NSW to drive through.
Thank you also for your generous recommendation Alistair, and your support. All the very best for the remainder of 2017. Cheers, Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bullwinkl...
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy & comfortable”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Andavine is a traditional older style home typical of the region set on the edge of South Grafton in a quiet residential area The guest suite has a large balcony overlooking rural land, a perfect spot to enjoy Anne's home cooked breakfast with fresh bread. Modern and clean bathroom and comfortable bed. Anne and David have lots of little touches like coffee machine and very knowledgeable about the local area. I would stay again if travelling through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Hi 'Bullwinkle4'. Yes, I have finally made it the the 'reply' stage to your wonderful review and score on your stay with us at Andavine House B & B last December 2016. Please accept my sincere apology for the lengthy delay in contacting you. Thank you very much for your warm, informative and descriptive review. And David and I are so pleased for you that you enjoyed your 'break' with us (and my fresh bread!). It was our pleasure to assist you with the local information. We do hope that we have a chance to look after you again one day, but in the meantime, have a great year. Go well. Cheers, Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kind and welcoming”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Anne and David are very kind and welcoming and have thought of everything the traveller may need. They provided everything for our little 10 month old travelling companion too. Had a lovely breakfast on the balcony.
Thank you for your hospitality

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Sally, and for taking the time to post it. It was our pleasure to take care of you both and beautiful 'bubba'. Best wishes for a great future all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
252011
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you could want in a beautiful B and B in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We found this by chance online and we are happy to say that it lives up to what is advertised in every way. Anne and David were most friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Despite arriving late in the afternoon, after getting our luggage to our room, Anne presented us with tea and espresso coffee with a generous slice of her home baked carrot cake. Very delicious and appreciated as we had been doing quite a bit of driving that day. This was enjoyed on the back verandah with a rural outlook.The accommodation is beautifully decorated and thoughtfully appointed. The bathroom has a full range of toiletries including provisions for a bubble bath if desired. The bedroom was cosy, the bed comfy and the dining area was complete with fruit, a selection of teas and coffees and a bar size fridge for any of your supplies. Breakfast options were continental or hot cooked breakfast and this could be enjoyed in your own dining area or again out on the peaceful verandah. We opted for the hot cooked breakfast and were not disappointed. There was also a great variety of CDs, DVDs and books to enjoy and relax with if one had the time. The advertised wifi (which is important to us as we have family overseas) is excellent. Thank you to Anne and David for their hospitality and wish them every success with this beautiful business. What a talented pair you are!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Hello Peter and Co., Such a lovely surprise to find your most humbling review on your stay with us earlier this month. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us, and that you had the opportunity to stop and take a breath, even if it was just overnight. And also that you enjoyed all of the little touches that we provide for our guests in your Suite. We always strive to make you, our guests, feel at home and comfortable while on your travels. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast also. Dave and I thank you for 'popping in', and do hope to see you both again one day. Again thank you for your review. Cheers, Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrEllisDF...
Blue Mountains - near Sydney, Oz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st Class with all the space comforts and amenities of a suite in a grand hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The lovely couple who run this place provide everything you could possible want ... including a yarn or two and lots of local knowledge and an encyclopaedic memory for Australian popular music ... OR .. the are happy to keep to themselves and allow you the peace and quiet of the countryside ... A great place to study or write a book ... or read a book with dozens to choose from and videos and a lovely wide verandah to sit in the afternoon sun or for children to play safely .... This is a homey place as well as being 1st Class with all the space comforts and amenities of a suite in a grand hotel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable bed ... the space ... the amenities ... the friendliness ... the privacy
Liked least: Everything was so good and beyond our expectations .. there is no least !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Hello Mr Ellis D Fogg (Roger). Thank you for your most generous review on your stay with us here at Andavine House B & B. We are pleased for you both that you were so comfortable with us. It was a very interesting night I must say, and brought back many happy memories of the 60's music scene which you, we , and our neighbour/friend-in-common were involved with. And yes, David is considered our family's Glenn A. Baker. Maybe you might like to return one day and continue writing your book here in peace and quiet. Yes, the 'littlies' love the verandah with Mum & Dad relaxing and enjoying the view. Thank you for your coffee suggestion Roger. We now include a plunger with ground coffee for those who like to wake up with a 'real' coffee experience.
We look forward to hosting you both if you are ever travelling through the North Coast of NSW again.
With thanks and best wishes
Anne and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing