We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to glory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having grown up in Maitland in the 80s my wife and I remember when the Monte Pio was "the" place in Maitland. (I had my Year 12 formal there in 1987 and we stayed in the Bridal Suite on the the first night of our Honeymoon). We were heartened when we found out that the new owners were undertaking a refurbishment of the Monte Pio and last time we stayed we were impressed with the work that was being carried out.
This visit we booked into a spa suite and were pleasantly surprised and excited to be given the same room we stayed in on our first night of married life. The room was well appointed and had been recently refurbished, the carpet was new, as was the king sized bed and all the appointments. The only down side was the bathroom which has obviously not had the magic wand waved over it yet, but it was still clean and everything worked.
The whole establishment was modernised and felt clean and fresh. There was 2 netball teams staying there who were very noisy on the first night, but after discussing our concerns with the management team there was no problem the following nights.
We dined one night in "The Pines" restaurant and found it to be excellent food at a reasonable price with excellent attentive service.
The tarriff was extremely reasonable and more than appropriate for the quailty of the stay.
We must make speacial mention of the manager of his staff, they are always so friendly and welcoming that we always feel like we are among friends when we stay here.
We will be back!!

Room Tip: Call the property and talk to the staff, they will be more than happy to help you enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandk_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed for one night but will definitely be back to do a Hunter Valley tour and will stay here again. Rooms were spacious with Foxtel available and the whole atmosphere of the place was a refreshing change from most hotel chains. Excellent value for money as this gave the impression of a much more luxurious motel than most and although some rooms are upstairs there is a readily accessible lift. Excellent restaurant also on site.

Room Tip: rooms in the wing away from the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed recently for a couple of nights & really enjoyed it. It's different from a "Brand" hotel which I really liked. Excellent redevelopment...with the rooms a very good standard, spacious and well maintained. Everything worked and everything where it should be. Free in-room wifi and Foxtel make it an excellent choice for the traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erf1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My business takes me far and wide around Australia but one of my popular hotels is Monte Pio Maitland. Two and half years I have stayed at this hotel.
.
The new owners are working extremely hard to restore an old icon to a razzle dazzle hotel. Monte Pio takes time and hard work to achieve the wow factor. I have stayed in five starred hotes that are being renovated whilst I was a quest and never once have staff tried to make my stay outside the box.

Monte Pio on booking in often discuss there current upgrades and renovations to guest and apologise for any inconviences you may suffer but never have I experienced anything that would stop me returning.

The current upgardes are a compliment to the management and staff and I look forward to the final completions.

Room Tip: If you are concerned ask for a renovated room and just enjoy the experience a peace of Maitlands his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My BF and I recently stayed two nights at Monte Pio. We really enjoyed it. After calling a week earlier and requesting a renovated room ( as suggested by someone else on here ) the staff were happy to oblige. On arrival, we were starving and tired, so we decided to eat at The Pine Restaurant downstairs. Even though there wasn't anyone else there (Friday night) we ventured on. And we are so glad we did. The waitress was lovely without being very attentive and the food was delicious. so good that we ate there the following night also! BF even had the Hunter Chicken both nights...the mustard sauce was delicious. I had the roast turkey which was succulent and the roasted veggies were delicious and plentiful. Steak on second night was perfect.
The beds were comfortable and the shower hot and strong. The were some cracks in the bathroom tiles but really did not detract from the room at all.There is a lovely lounge area and bar and some functions rooms that look beautiful too. Pool looked inviting! A very nice stay during a very busy weekend.
Definitely recommend it and we'll stay there next year for sure.

Room Tip: Renovated room but balcony not necessary unless you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

What an surprise to arrive.at $ 115 per night accommodation to find it under almost total renovation - not advised when booking - no apology. front entrance full of building material, half tiles missing and taped off reception area, upstairs almost every room but 2 in the wing we were under renovation - tools, rolls of carpet and ladders in hallway. No lights in room for first hour, drilling and hammering for longer. Access hallway to dining room also half taped off.
Due to hospital appointments had no choice but to stay. On checkout initially charged $140 per night on complaint was advised price included breakfast - complaint re actual breakfast eaten - my own bread due to dietary requirements their hot water reduced $ 50. Again no apology excuse was how great it would be when finished. Sorry not interested this place is a major OHS issue - they should not be allowed to trade. Have many photos to support this

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamscone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this late for an overnght stay as we were seeing The Sunnyboys and Elvis Costello at a winery concert.
The hotel is a converted convent and rhe rooms have really high ceilings and beautiful features and ours had been refurbed in a contemporary style that was very smart.
Beautiful shared balcony on the first floor from our room looking onto immaculate modern pool and spa and then out to farmland.
Worth a stay. Staff very nice. Modern room locks with paypass style technology. Hotel has lots of character thanks to its history but contemporary furnishings work well.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBug_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maitland
12.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.2 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
302 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
4.3 mi away
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
Molly Morgan Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in East Maitland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: New England Highway & Dwyer Street, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Quality Inn Monte Pio)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Maitland
Price Range: £77 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Pio Hotel And Conference Centre Maitland, Australia - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing