We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror on the Murray”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cadell on the Murray
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horror on the Murray”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have never given a negative review but this place takes the cake.
Let's start with walking in the door to spot a wolf spider hanging on the drapes. Thankfully hubby put it back in the garden to see another day, then we started spotting millipedes on the floor, I'm talking, the kitchen, the lounge, the bathroom, and the shower walls. Last count was over 30 of the slimy creatures. To end the night our kettle stops working. Off to the office I go to get a replaced kettle and to mention the invasion of the millipedes. Only to be given excuses.the sad part was when leaving the office I noticed a young family in a room with their baby on the floor. Let's hope they were not invaded. Note to management. Customers come first, If you want returning guests.
Fumigate Now.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hi Tracy, How very disappointing to read your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Cadell.
When you brought your kettle to our office and explained it had worked earlier and had stopped, we apologized and simply replaced it for you.
I was surprised by how many millipedes you saw. Obviously others weren't as affected, happy to have children on the floors without a concern. I explained, not excused, the current presence of millipedes outside; this can occur now and again after prolonged dry weather and then heavy rains. We spray continually the perimeter of the buildings to stop them getting under doors, and this usually works well. After you told me you had them in your room, my husband went and swept the verandahs again and checked the unoccupied rooms surrounding you, and found few outside and only one had come under the door in one unoccupied room. We are sorry for your experience none the less. They are harmless but are annoying, we know this and work continually to make sure they don't bother people.
Putting guests first is of utmost importance to us and evident in our other reviews as something we achieve at. Being available/open after hours in case guests need us - like in your case still open after hours meaning you could easily have your kettle changed - is one simple example of how we are available to guests to help in any way to make their stay more enjoyable. Thankfully we get this right most of the time and apologise that you felt we weren't putting you first, and will look at how we can improve this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    32
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
72
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Set in a quiet part on Moama, past shops, service station & other accommodation places. Google maps does give you a false location but it's only another 30seconds further along & there you will find the only place to stay! Absolute river frontage! Helpful, friendly greeting on check in. Rooms have a sliding door & screen to the back & standing there at your back door is the iconic Murray! Room was clean with simple appointments & all you really needed. Bed firm & may need replacing. DVD player worked a treat. Such a brilliant idea of having private access steps down to the river. May pose tricky for elder/less mobile folk but use hand rails, take your time & enjoy the jetty which is a few inches from the waters edge. Peaceful & serene even with the odd houseboat/water skiers/jet ski going past but that is part if the rivers charm. Room service breakfast was hearty, hot & on time delivered by the friendly gent owner. Recommend the Rich River Golf Club for dinner, they have a courtesy bus on the hour & will collect/drop off at front of motel. Great food, very friendly.
Polite suggestion for the lady owner to make some conversation upon check out, how was your stay, where are you traveling to, etc. Seemed to be a little distracted with kids in the other room. Excellent value for money, will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirlyandHerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at Cadell. It was great to hear how you found each part of your stay, and so glad you enjoyed our beautiful motel, the peaceful surrounds and Ben's breakfasts! I do apologise if I seemed distracted on your departure - the joys of a family ran business! Thank you again for providing your feedback and so glad you found your stay enjoyable - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed at the Cadell a number of times and everything is always perfect. Starting with great friendly service , excellent facilities, large spacious rooms all overlooking well kept gardens and the Murray, what more could you need for a great weekend. The Cadell is ideal for family groups or couples alike and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. So great to hear, and even better to see familiar faces return to enjoy Cadell again and again - we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I had packed a rather big holiday into a short period of time. Echuca was toward the end of this and by the time I got there was exhausted. How did I find Cadell on the Murray, it was on one of the sites you can do a search. How did I come to pick Cadell on the Murray. More by good luck than good management. If you know Echuca-Moama there are a myriad of places to choose from.

Seriously it has to be one of the best places I can remember staying at in a long time. Open the door of your unit and bang, an uninterrupted view of the Murray. Peaceful, tranquil and a policy which I respect no parties.

1/ Location close to Echuca-Moama but far enough removed to be peaceful. Every unit 30 meters from an uninterrupted view of the Murray River.
2/ Accommodation - has everything you need for a stay. Comfortable, modern and all the facilities you need which not all motels supply anymore.
3/ Hosts - Ben & Michelle. Made you feel welcome, made sure your needs were met. Local knowledge outstanding. Very nice people.

Look I could rave on and on. All I say is before you book anywhere check out the site check out all it has to offer and do it. I did I was suppose to stay for one and loved it stayed two. Next time and there will be a next time it will be for longer without doubt.

Room Tip: There are three types of rooms and you choose one to suit your needs. All have River views and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmel55_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you! What a wonderful review which we absolutely loved reading (over and over). So glad you found all you were looking for from your Murray River trip and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Based on the reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay on the NSW side of the Murray at the Cadell. We weren't disappointed. The aspect was lovely, walking out of our rooms onto the green grass that leads to the Murray River. We BBQed out there, the kids ran around, we relaxed in the lounge chairs provided... Need I say more. The rooms were neat and roomy for our family of 5. The kitchen provided us with enough space to prepare simple meals. Certainly felt that we were able to unwind and if it was closer to sydney, I would make it a regular holidaying spot. As it is, we will have to wait for our next regional Victoria trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane7224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi, loved reading your review, thank you, you encapsulated all the things we find most unique and enjoyable about Cadell - relaxing in the peaceful surrounds, BBQs by the river, room for kids to run, river views. Great to hear you found the family rooms spacious for the 5 of you, thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip down to our area :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We needed a budget holiday which we got, but we did not get a budget experience.
More than happy to overlook dated fittings when the rooms are clean and spacious. When the towels are thick, large and plentiful and the setting is sublime. Sitting on the bed I could just see the water in the Murray River. All rooms overlook the river across a large grassed and gardened area with both shaded and sunny spots to sit.
We shot a few hoops and had a hit of tennis...no extra charges for this or to borrow board games or DVDs to take back to the room.
The service is what I'll remember most though, friendly and 'can do'. A young family doing an exceptionally good job.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainStreetRevelation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you so much for such an eloquently written review. Your comment on budget price but not experience and our family service were especially appreciated and so glad to hear you enjoyed all Cadell has to offer during your stay. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September. What a find. The rooms are large and clean and very well equipped. We sat outside and watched the passing boats. Lots of outdoor furniture on the lovely grassed area. Friendly service at reception. Couldn't ask for more

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_the_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CadellManagement, Owner at Cadell on the Murray, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for your great review. Sounds like you managed to enjoy a nice relax in your few days here which is one of the best things about Cadell! Hope to be able to welcome you again next time you are in our area. Much appreciated, Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moama
2.4 mi away
Bridges on Meninya
Bridges on Meninya
#3 of 11 in Moama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#3 of 18 in Echuca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
River Country Inn
River Country Inn
#2 of 11 in Moama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madison Spa Resort
Madison Spa Resort
#6 of 11 in Moama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moama on Murray Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadell on the Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadell on the Murray

Property: Cadell on the Murray
Address: 325 Perricoota Road, Moama, New South Wales 2731, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Moama
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Moama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadell on the Murray 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED ROOMS!! Cadell on the Murray Motel Resort has undoubtedly the most enviable location on the banks of the iconic Murray River. Located 3 kilometres from Moama, Cadell on the Murray offers a peaceful setting right on the banks of the Murray River - a position no other motel in the area can offer. The exceptionally large rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay, and complete the peaceful escape with unbeatable views of sprawling grounds bordered by the beautiful Murray River and redgum forests, providing home to our native wildlife. There is space here for solitude, romance, quality family time, socialising with friends or a little bit of each! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cadell on the Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing