We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Scone, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here one night after coming up late on the train from Sydney and with an early start for work the next day
The Chifley Apartments are right across from Newcastle Central station so very convenient. I was glad not to have to walk far
Apartment was clean and well featured with stove fridge sofa big tv etc but bit cheap feeling. Staff friendly and helpful.no worries there.
Downsides were that the street outside was a bit noisy with the local youf driving round and round in their hotted up cars and making incomprehensible noisest at women - classy. So while the room had a balcony I didn't feel like sitting out there
There were also three or four cockroaches wandering the room when I turned the light on
Overall I felt the room at $185 a bit expensive considering the noise and the cheap finish
Locality's was a plus in one sense but also a minus as the road is noisy and that part of town abit dead at night

Room Tip: Try not to be facing road with the bogans doing laps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Himeno
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. We are glad to read that you found the location of Chifley to be convenient and central.
We have also noted your comments on the 'noisy street outside'. Although generally the town is fairly quiet most nights we do also offer rooms on the other side of the building which overlooks our alfresco pool area and the beautiful honeysuckle precint.
We have also passed on your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the apartment to Housekeeping and this issue has now been resolved.
Thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle in the future
Kind Regards
Laura Fava
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    136
    63
    26
    22
See reviews for
72
109
12
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my bridesmaids the night before our wedding. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Apartments are modern and spacious. The kitchen is well equipped and plenty of room. Big stylish bedrooms and bathrooms. I would recommend the Chifley to anyone staying in Newcastle! Close to many restaurants and bars. Plenty of parking options.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelliei18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Shellie18

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our apartment style accommodation spacious and comfortable. I will be sure to pass the lovely feedback to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laura Fava
Assistant Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Accompanied my husband on a second business trip to Newcastle staying at the Chifley Apartments. This time we were on the 4th floor overlooking the pool and city. Everything was as it was before, clean and comfortable and the bathroom still isn't female-friendly (nowhere for storing toiletries/cosmetics etc). Washing machine and dryer a plus if staying for more than a few days.

Good location, friendly staff... special mention to Alysha who helped with bus timetable and directions.

Again remember, these are apartments and therefore not serviced every day like hotels but just ask and you will be supplied with extra towels, soap etc.

Happy to recommend and stay again, and maybe third time lucky the fire alarm will not go off!

Room Tip: East facing (pool side) rooms get the morning sun and views of the city from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverYoung50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
“Dear Forever Young50
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass the lovely feedback to the team. Just for your information we are currently looking into placing additional shelving in the bathroom and in regards to the fire alarm, this is closely and regularly serviced so this should not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Laura Fava
Assistant Manger
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This had full accomodations including a kithcen, and laundry. Stayed there a month and it was very convenient. Being Americans we are spoiled with free parking and internet but since my company paid for those it was no skin off my teeth. In the end it was cheaper and much more comfotable than a hotel since I stayed for a month and got the long stay rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrystr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We are from the UK and came for the rugby Lions tour. We found the rooms through an internet search last minute. This proved problematic as the booking agent did not confirm. However, the staff Chifley could not have been more helpful in trying to find out what happened to our booking. We were lucky that they had a last minute cancellation and were given this room although at a price. The room was spacious, clean and the beds very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer. The food at the Dockyard was really good and the staff there were also very pleasant. In all the staff made our short stay very comfortable in what could have been disastrous. They also recommended the Chifley at Lennons where we stayed when we travelled to Brisbane. Time for another review.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The apartments are large and new and well appointed. The hotel has conference facilities, a gym and a pool. They charge for WIFI. A nice touch is the free rental of DVD movies. they have a small dinning room that provides breakfast. The only problem is the constant noise from the railway line - if you are a light sleeper this is not for you. The main drawback is the bed that is tucked into a very tight partition behind a glass sliding door. There is no natural air flow into the room nor is there aircon. The room gets stuffy and if you are claustrophobic - beware. If it were not for the strange sleeping configuration I would have given the place 4 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWMGR, General Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Dear EricJ123, Thank you for staying at our hotel and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We also would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel as we appreciate the feed back that we get from our guests. We look forward to you staying with us again when next you visit Newcastle.
With kind regards, Peter Bromilow, Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great location, walking distance to Newcastle CBD, railway , beach etc. I like this type of arrangement because it is a cut above a normal hotel room and space extras like balcony, washer, full cooking facilities but the only drawback would be the bed tucked behind a glass partition fine for one, but could cause probs for two if one is an early riser etc

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigmcgrath66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Craigmcgrath66,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Serviced apartments are a great alternative for travellers who require extra space and the added conveniences of home such as full kitchen and laundry facilities. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay.

kind regards
Matthew Bird
Hotel Manager
Chifley Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Apartments Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Property: Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Address: Chifley Apartments 14 Honeysuckle Dr | Building 7, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Apartments Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Apartments Newcastle is AAA rated 4.5 Star and offers a modern and spacious alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. Our one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained with spacious living areas and private balconies which are complemented by the hotel’s fully equipped gymnasium and outdoor heated lap pool. Catering to guests requiring overnight stays as well as accommodation for extended periods, those additional features so often overlooked provide for a comfortable extension of home for regular travellers. Those extra touches include onsite security parking. A DVD library, barbecue, shopping service, dry cleaning, and restaurant chargeback at local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chifley Apartments Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing