We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was terrible.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrington Place

Carrington Place
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carrington Place
Ranked #15 of 29 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was terrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

After hearing about this so called great boutique hotel we made the effort to try it out. The staff had NO interaction with us at all service was terrible. The meals were very average for the price, Im sorry Carrington Place but you have got business for the last time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Carrington Place, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I am sorry to hear you had that experience we would love you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    20
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
14
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagait Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very neat, clean and conveniently located to Newcastle if you have a car for which off-street parking is available.

We stayed 5 nights and noise levels from the kitchen varied from none on Sunday and Monday nights to extremely noisy on Friday night. This was due to a large function and the noise of cleaning up after the event.

If your sleep preference is no ambient light, then plan to sleep after 12 midnight, this is when the external spotlights onto the hotel's facade are switched off.

Shared bathroom was vacant each time I needed to use it but gents beware it takes some time for the hot water to run through.

A basic Continental Breakfast was included in the room. Overall, Carrington Place is priced appropriately for the style of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The area is quiet, nice guest house and service!

If you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep elsewhere might be better as it can be noisy with guests from bar and bistro!

Comfortable rooms, plenty of on street parking and around 10-15 minutes walk to harbour restaurants and city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valla, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The room is well presented, new carpet (although this affected the ability to plug anything into the powerpoints but staff provided a power-board to plug all my electronics in), bed comfortable,TV well positioned and easy to use. The shared bathroom provided two toilets and shower cubicles one suite together with a door and the other separate allowing for use by other female guests shared bathroom very clean and pleasant. towels and shower gel/shampoo provided. I ate in the dinning room on the first night and it was very nice,they have a tapas menu at the Bar and also have a tea and coffee making facility with a small fridge for those who want to keep something cold, free continental Breakfast which is great and a very pleasantly decorated room to enjoy it in. The staff attending this room are very perceptive and altered the temperature of the room without having to ask. A great place to stay within a heritage listed building, a nostalgic part of Newcastle. I would stay here again. Deborah

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road have windows that can be opened for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked my room in early January on the phone directly to Carrington Place, the money came out of my account on 1st February, we turned up on 8th March and no room was available. I took them my bank statement to show them I had paid. It took them 10 days after several phone calls to give me a refund.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, Owner at Carrington Place, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
As with all accommodation, double bookings can occur. This can happen with both the reservation engine facility used or human error. On this occasion it was human error. We offered you a room upgrade which you declined. Monies paid were refunded as agreed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The first time I went here for dinner I was greeted by friendly staff who knew what they were doing. I had food off the bar menu and it was delicious! The jazz night had a great atmosphere and a lot of fun...
Of course I went back, many time! Eating in the restaurant is an experience I would highly recommend. Its not your average menu and everything is cooked to perfection..
I can not praise the staff enough!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Misskridz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Unable to look out a window and the 'ensuite' conversion enabled by a locked door leading directly to the restaurant on other side of the wall were initially disconcerting. However, the sincere hospitality, cleanliness and VERY tasteful renovation /decor and I was in love with this 'pub' within hours, the food is fabulous and the area generally has a great vibe.
If you are a princess about toiletries like me, only two bars of soap provided which is ok if you have brought your own stash. Guys don't tend to be concerned and again I mention this for the ladies as a heads up not as a put off. The jazz on Thursday night was awesome. The only negative is the access for guests which we understand the options are very limited in a heritage listed building. Many thanks to Kaitlyn and other staff for your great work. We would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lostcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.0 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Place

Property: Carrington Place
Address: 132 Young St | Carrington, Newcastle, New South Wales 2294, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carrington Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing