We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
43
47
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
47
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn hunter hospitalthe pubsecure parkingroom was cleaneach morningstayed for nightsplace to stayaccommodationdownstairspillowsmotel
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I was very happy with the Blackbutt Inn, three nights stay and will be back again. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean as well, meals in the pub below and good. The breakfast was good, value okay. If you did not want a meal from them you could go just next door to a fish n chips shop and small grocery shop to buy other food/drinks. Very friendly staff and good cleaners. You can also use your Flybuys.

Room Tip: All good I think
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klipo_on_the_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My son and I stayed there for one night when visiting John Hunter hospital for an appointment and it was so very convenient. The room was really lovely, just a little small with no view, but very modern, very quiet and private and had everything we needed for the night, except cold water in the fridge would have been lovely. Staff were excellent too - so happy and welcoming. Secure parking was so appreciated also.

We ate at the restaurant that night and the bar and restaurant was great. I would love to have had a small seafood salad for dinner but that wasn't an option so had the special which was lovely. All so convenient, affordable and easy. Will definitely stay there again if having to return to the hospital.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynatbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I spent 1 night here and i have to say, i loved it! The accommodation was clean and very modern, the service was A+. We attended the Bryan Adams concert at the entertainment center, they drove us to and from the concert. Wonderful staff, and the bar was well managed and very neat and tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

This hotel is very deceiving, At first i thought it would be dodgy budget 'pub' accomodation. I was completely wrong! It is as if the rooms have had a recent renovation. They are warm, quiet, clean and very spacious. This hotel is way better than another big hotel close by which is nearly twice the price.. I left quite early in the morning so i didnt get to sample breakfast.

Room Tip: I was in room 17 away from the lift
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HUSSMAN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is to only reveiw the restaurant and not the accommodation. Have had many a meal here as we play trivia there on many occasions and as pub food goes it is OK (woodfired pizzas are good). However there are two issues, one is the price as it is overpriced on a lot of items (remember this is pub food and not fine dining) and the menu rarely changes. The pub itself is great with good ambience and the renovations are terrific but the restaurant needs to look at the fact that it is a pub and not a top flight restaurant and price accordingly. Wouldn't hurt to change the menus every three to four months or so to add variety for those that go on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews