We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
43
47
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
47
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn hunter hospitalthe pubsecure parkingroom was cleaneach morningstayed for nightsplace to stayaccommodationdownstairspillowsmotel
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This motel is situated on the northern side of Newcastle. We stayed there as part of a tour and were well catered for. Our group of 30 was checked in very efficiently and we were soon in our rooms. Our first meal at the restaurant was ok, but on our return trip the food was much better. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for our tour which was very reasonable.
If you are wanting a quiet stay, check to see if they have a band playing because some of our group found it a bit noisy. I thought it was ok and the rooms were pretty quiet.

Room Tip: Check out if they have a tour booking or event on when you want to book. The restaurant can be booked out and you can get a bit of band and crowd noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singscrap_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Excellent Budget priced accomodation nice clean rooms absouloute best part of the stay would be the restaurant both Dinner and breakfast were great .At first we thought this was just pub accomodation but were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We chose this of the net due to location will definetly stay again
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I was very happy with the Blackbutt Inn, three nights stay and will be back again. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very clean as well, meals in the pub below and good. The breakfast was good, value okay. If you did not want a meal from them you could go just next door to a fish n chips shop and small grocery shop to buy other food/drinks. Very friendly staff and good cleaners. You can also use your Flybuys.

Room Tip: All good I think
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klipo_on_the_run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My son and I stayed there for one night when visiting John Hunter hospital for an appointment and it was so very convenient. The room was really lovely, just a little small with no view, but very modern, very quiet and private and had everything we needed for the night, except cold water in the fridge would have been lovely. Staff were excellent too - so happy and welcoming. Secure parking was so appreciated also.

We ate at the restaurant that night and the bar and restaurant was great. I would love to have had a small seafood salad for dinner but that wasn't an option so had the special which was lovely. All so convenient, affordable and easy. Will definitely stay there again if having to return to the hospital.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynatbello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I spent 1 night here and i have to say, i loved it! The accommodation was clean and very modern, the service was A+. We attended the Bryan Adams concert at the entertainment center, they drove us to and from the concert. Wonderful staff, and the bar was well managed and very neat and tidy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews