We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
43
47
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
47
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn hunter hospitalthe pubsecure parkingroom was cleaneach morningstayed for nightsplace to stayaccommodationdownstairspillowsmotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Clean enough, just slightly hard to check in/out. the reception is a newsagent and post office! the breakfast was awesome! parking was out the back, slight distant away. all in all, its ok for one nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kimricho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The room was well appointed and comfortable, but that is where the good part finishes. Firstly upon arrival, there is no sign to indicate the Local Pub had upgraded its status to a Best Western
Motel. Its on a busy corner, with very limited parking. No indication that the "reception" is actually in the newsagents next door. Then parking is at the rear, enter from a small street 50 metres away. From the rear, entry is via the hotel storage area, where there are two signs saying Reception, one of which leads you to a locked door. The "restaurant". What a joke, just a pub dining area, pretty average pub meal, but the "best part" is yet to come. Being a pub, there has to be the meat raffle, complete with excessively loud announcements of the winning numbers. Just how Best Western would allow their usually ... Indicitave of good accomadation ... Name to be associated with this type of place is a mystery to me.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a single night and was pleased with the room. It was clean and simple but yet modern. It served it purpose. Also not expensive and the breakfast was great. The pub downstairs was very handy as well to grab a beer or drink of your choice. Overall very nice stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Serephim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This is the place to stay if your either visiting or having a partner staying at John Hunter Hospital which is just up the road.
Excellent clean rooms with good housekeeping services at a good price. Also has a not only good but well priced resteraunt and bar. Very handy to local shops where all your extras can be purchased. As far as staff goes all are extremely helpfull and efficient.

Room Tip: Have stayed there twice with good rooms on both occasions.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Due to urgently needing to vacate a Air BNB due to mice, we (husband, daughter, son in law and 18 month old granddaughter) were suddenly trying to find accomodation at 8pm for 2 nights. My son in law found the Blackbutt Inn. I saw to say when we pulled up I was concerned if it would be ok for us, particularly travelling with a toddler, as it was over a sports bar. But we didn't need to worry, we were pleasantly surprised. The check in was quick, secure parking was easily accessabile out the back, our rooms on the second floor were modern and ultra clean, and no mice! We did have an air con problem, but staff were quick to attend to this. We found the staff here really friendly and helpful. We had breakfast downstairs each morning and this was wonderful. There is a climbing gym there which our granddaughter loved. Our rooms were 25 and 26, but due to the double glazing on the windows, we heard no noise from the bars or street. We would definitely recommend the Blackbutt Inn to stay at. Don't be deceived by the outside and the fact it is over a sports bar. It was great!

Room Tip: Wonderful value and really clean.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gretchen255340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews