We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hour from the Hunter, ten minutes from Newcastle”
Review of The Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An hour from the Hunter, ten minutes from Newcastle”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Me and two friends stayed here before and after attending a concert in the Hunter Valley. The rooms are modern and clean, we stayed in two room types - both were large and very comfortable, however perhaps slightly overpriced, only slightly though.. we went over a weekend and received a discounted rate which was quite reasonable and more suitable.

The service in the main was fantastic, staff were friendly and accommodating to our needs, however there is no tourist information available, no brochures and staff don't assist in booking tours, given the star rating and amount of people staying at the hotel for concerts, I was a little surprised.

The facilities are good. There is a Brazilian restaurant on the top level of the hotel aswell as another restaurant, a bistro, a bar (with raffles, pokies etc.), a sports bar (with TAB) and a nightclub - located in the club next to the hotel in the complex and connected by a walkway from door to door.

All in all, the Gateway made for a pleasant stay for our weekend getaway and allowed us to get to the Newcastle within 10 minutes for Sunday Breakfast (which was really good!! So good we went again on Monday!!), and a quick trip (and the last pick up / first drop off for both bus tours we went on).

I'd more than likely stay here again if going to a concert in the Valley and wasn't able to get accommodation in the actual Valley.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the oval at the back have a pleasant sit-in window that you can comfortably sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    79
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
65
9
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Booked a 1 br room as a stopover returning home from North NSW. Wanted to watch AFL grand final actually. 2 large LCD Tv's allowed us to do this while the kids watched ABC kids and foxtel, bonus. Huge room and bed and very modern. great space and had some cooking facilities. Area was quiet and secure. quiet hotel a bonus. Wests club across the road allows for cheapish but average meals and you don't have to drive. Didn't use the clubs facilities but apparently VG. Room was beautiful in presentation and would have given 41/2 or 5 star except large 2 headed shower only served up luke warm water. That was disappointing.
Overall don't get put off by location it is in fact quiet and a very comfortable and modern hotel. What's better is that Collingwood lost!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Upon checkin had to wait at an empty front counter for a while. No apology offered when the staff finally came out. \
I was given my cards, not told my room number, or what floor, the lack of information at the point of customer service was a little unnerving. I had to open the card to see my room number and guessing it was also the floor number headed that way.
After a long drive, busting to use the bathroom and struggling with my luggage to last room down the end of a long, poorly lit, mission brown hallway on the upper floor I found the cards were not activated and couldn't enter the room, grrrrrr! I had to lugg it all back downstairs. An apology was given.
Deluxe room was smaller than I pictured on the website. I found the modern but retro mission brown and palm leaf decor aesthetically displeasing.
There was a flat screen television with a very limited amount of Foxtel channels. Mattress was awfully hard and uncomfortable which gave me the worst night's sleep I ever experienced. Everytime someone went to the toilet and closed the door in the next door room it woke me throughout the night, but maybe that was due to the really restless and uncomfortable sleep..grrrrrr!
The air conditioning looked like it was changeable but even when I opted for the cooler setting it went back to the original setting which felt too warm and stuffy so I had to turn it off.
Restaurant too expensive, The cocktail bar deco was stunning but bartender too sour faced. The young girl was friendly and served great cocktails which were decorated prettily.
The club was easily accessible if you wanted a variety of food though at affordable prices although the chinese looked dissappointing and wasn't recommended. The club staff were older and really really friendly. I was happy to return to the club for breakfast the next morning before I left.
As a general overview, I felt that the hotel room was overpriced and the bed lacked the comfortablity of a 4.5 star room. The ront desk staff whom provide that very important first impression of the hotel seemed way too young and not professional enough.
Overall an average stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySider007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid North Coast NSW
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a romantic getaway, shopping & show trip. We booked the ultimate indulgence package and stayed in a spa room, we were not disappointed, check in was easy, parking is free (unlike most hotels in Newcastle). The room was very clean, bathroom was nice but the spa isnt a two person. Once at the hotel you do not need to use your car as there is a leagues club right next door with a variety of restaurants (we only had breakfast at the leagues club which was very nice) For dinner we booked the Figtree Restaurant which is in the hotel - very nice, need to book for weekends as we were originally on the waitlist, is alittle pricy but well worth it ! Would we stay here again YES!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swr_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

It's a very modern place to stay.
The RSL club is next door and the Fitness Centre(with swimming pool) a short walk away.
The staff are pleasant and helpful.
Newcaslte is about 10 minutes drive away. We had an wonderful time and we are looking forward back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevebargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at the Gateway Inn when we had to attend a funeral in Newcastle. We took it as a Wot If deal and were very pleasnatly surprised. The location was great, but the Hotel itself was very comfortable, very clean and we even wished we had of booked a longer stay rather than just overnight.
Check in was smooth, but it was the cleanliness and the comfort that impressed us the most. Room was large and the bathroom great!
The restaurant upstairs is good but pricy, but right next door is a club serving good, large portions of comfort food.
This was a pleasant surprise, worth going back to.

Room Tip: Our room was great and it was a What If deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Very quite hotel ample close parking on site staff vert friendly,very new top location excellent value good size room with twin showers.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jajervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
357 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Inn

Property: The Gateway Inn
Address: Corner Industrial Drive 26 William St | Mayfield, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing