We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Gold coast
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I traveled to Newcastle last year on our way to Sydney from the Gold Coast, nothing like a road trip! We were pleasantly surprised by The Gateway Inn. I had booked online a few weeks before we left and I had seen the pictures and it looked quite nice. It was certainly something else when we arrived though. The hotel itself is very new, very very new and the rooms are just lovely. We stayed in a deluxe room with a king size bed and it was such a welcoming room after our long drive. The room was clean, comfortable and had a touch of class. The bathroom was just stunning.
Staff were very friendly and very helpful and the parking was a breeze. Compared to some of the other hotels around the area I think we certainly got the much better deal. The hotel is situated a little bit out of Newcastle but with our car we barely took notice.
If we were to ever do the drive again neither of us would hesitate to come back and stay again! Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeashaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    75
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
62
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Coast, Nsw
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I spent a night there after picking up a friend from the airport. We arrived around 10pm and we were greeted pleasantly. However, I wasn't told what room or floor we were staying on, thankfully it was written on the card. The king room was beautifully decorated and I loved it. In the morning when we were checking out we were served by a female staff member. who wasn't overly helpful and her presentation didn't really reflect the image that the Gateway Inn had going. Loved the room but was slightly disappointed by the service. Considering what was paid

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittyc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We recently had our 1/4 meetings in Newcastle and stayed at the Gateway Inn and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the accommodation from the tastefully decorated rooms to the amazing roof top restaurant. Price is comparable with hotels of this standard and will be staying here for future visits. Staff was very pleasant and efficient with no hold ups when checking in or out

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robdog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We normally stay at the Crown Plaza when we visit Newcastle, however over new year they had a two night minimum and we only required one night before flying to the gold coast.

We had driven past The Gateway Inn previously and commented what a great spot if we ever needed to head to the airport. So, we decided to try it!

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment on wot if for a good rate, cheaper than a room at the Crown Plaza anyway.

Checkin was easy, fast and delivered by a lovely friendly lady. The apartment was extremely near new, being beautifully furnished, very modern and extremely clean. The shower is one of the best I have ever had, bliss!

We visited the adjoining club for dinner. I'm not really into clubs but this one was a pleasant suprise. Again, the staff were super friendly, the food fantastic, and the prices just so cheap! We have two young children, and the environment wad very family friendly.

Overall, we were impressed by this hotel. Yes, it not really walking distance to anywhere, but you get great secure undercover parking provided free, a big beautifully furnished apartment, and friendly staff.

We will definitely return if we need a airport hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed in a regular room with my wife on 30 December 2011. It featured a comfortable king sized bed, a 42 inch LCD panel with all the digital channels (but no Foxtel), a large shower for two, and internet access by ethernet cable. No wireless access though, so if you don't have an ethernet port on your netbook you're out of luck.

The room had a "bay window" nook with cushioned seating which was a nice feature. The toiletries were what you'd expect from a 4 star plus property. Close the draperies and window fittings and you to have a dark room ideal for sleeping at any time of the day.

Parking was free unlike central Newcastle hotels. Next door is a leagues club which has pokies/slot machines, several bars and several dining options.

As a hotel guest you can order room service from the reasonably priced club next door and charge it to your room.

Room service was a pleasant surprise. A generous roast lamb dinner and a large Asian meal cost us only $15 each, delivered to our room.

Only complaints: Room service took about 25 minutes, no Foxtel cable TV and found the air conditioner remote a bit confusing.

A great alternative to the newer, slighyly more costly CBD/downtown hotels in Newcastle, with reduced rates for motor club members. $165/nt.

Room Tip: Request a corner room to get windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Me and two friends stayed here before and after attending a concert in the Hunter Valley. The rooms are modern and clean, we stayed in two room types - both were large and very comfortable, however perhaps slightly overpriced, only slightly though.. we went over a weekend and received a discounted rate which was quite reasonable and more suitable.

The service in the main was fantastic, staff were friendly and accommodating to our needs, however there is no tourist information available, no brochures and staff don't assist in booking tours, given the star rating and amount of people staying at the hotel for concerts, I was a little surprised.

The facilities are good. There is a Brazilian restaurant on the top level of the hotel aswell as another restaurant, a bistro, a bar (with raffles, pokies etc.), a sports bar (with TAB) and a nightclub - located in the club next to the hotel in the complex and connected by a walkway from door to door.

All in all, the Gateway made for a pleasant stay for our weekend getaway and allowed us to get to the Newcastle within 10 minutes for Sunday Breakfast (which was really good!! So good we went again on Monday!!), and a quick trip (and the last pick up / first drop off for both bus tours we went on).

I'd more than likely stay here again if going to a concert in the Valley and wasn't able to get accommodation in the actual Valley.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the oval at the back have a pleasant sit-in window that you can comfortably sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Booked a 1 br room as a stopover returning home from North NSW. Wanted to watch AFL grand final actually. 2 large LCD Tv's allowed us to do this while the kids watched ABC kids and foxtel, bonus. Huge room and bed and very modern. great space and had some cooking facilities. Area was quiet and secure. quiet hotel a bonus. Wests club across the road allows for cheapish but average meals and you don't have to drive. Didn't use the clubs facilities but apparently VG. Room was beautiful in presentation and would have given 41/2 or 5 star except large 2 headed shower only served up luke warm water. That was disappointing.
Overall don't get put off by location it is in fact quiet and a very comfortable and modern hotel. What's better is that Collingwood lost!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
3.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Inn

Property: The Gateway Inn
Address: Corner Industrial Drive 26 William St | Mayfield, Newcastle, New South Wales 2304, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing