We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
73
96
22
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
96
22
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower leagues club window seat bay window restaurant upstairs frosted glass wall adjoining club spa room room service rooms are nice hotel guests hot breakfast dining options good size great facilities definitely stay here again night stay
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a great place to stay for a business trip to Newcastle if you have a car. You would not stay here if you wanted to stay in Newcastle proper or be near the harbour or beach or if you did not have a car. Rooms are spacious, very clean, with a super comfy bed and good selection of pillows. There is a good range of movies for purchase.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you providing us with your valuable feedback. Team here at The Gateway Inn, Newcastle are pleased to hear that you found our facilities to be comfortable during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future,

Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Gateway is a relatively new four star hotel owned by, and adjacent to, Western Suburbs (Newcastle) Leagues Club (guests receive a West's food and beverage discount voucher). Rooms are modern and spacious, with state of the art bathrooms, and are easily converted into two room suites for a modest tariff increase. It is located on the main northern access to the city and from the airport and provides ample free on-site parking. The best feature is the complimentary club membership offered to guests which permits access to good restaurants and bars connected to the hotel by a covered walkway. The hotel also has a great Brazilian Churrasco restaurant on the top floor. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Join West Leagues Club for a modest charge and enjoy special members' tariffs and discounts on food and beverages in the club.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for providing your feedback on the facilities and surrounding facilities of The Gateway Inn, Newcastle. Many guests, have enjoyed the great dining options including the affordable FoodCourt, Raw Express café, Grill 32 and Figtree Churrasco Bar and Grill located on the penthouse level of the hotel.
As you mentioned Figtree restaurant specialises in a 9 course Brazilian churrasco, however they also have a fantastic a la carte and tapas menu.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Admittedly I am not familiar with Newcastle. This stay was pre-booked for us by partner's brother to attend his wedding. This hotel seems to be run in conjunction with a Rugby Leagues Club situated right next door.
First impressions:
It's neat, "modern", clean and with well tended and clipped formal gardens.
On arrival our reception by the clerk was a little.....er, "spikey".
(Well certainly somewhat lacking in charisma..)
I think the problem was we were NOT "members", despite the booking being made by a member.
AND immediately you get hit with an upfront demand for a $200 deposit! This is taken in full off your credit card right away, ....NOT just an impression to be held in case as at other hotels.
The presumption that you will steal/trash rooms or toss TVs through the windows is just a little galling!

Entry to your room is via a plastic credit card-like item, which is encoded at the desk, and is also needed to turn on the lights and air-conditioning in the units.
We had several occasions when the damned things flatly refused to work, ...resulting in us being locked out and a lengthy trip back down to the front desk, where the spikey clerk refused to believe the card was faulty. That is until we demonstrated that it wouldn't even work the boom gate to the free off-street parking!

Anyway, that sorted, the rooms were very neat and clean, decorated in a modernist international style. (Although if you are superstitious as some are, you may have had an issue with the wallpaper panels which featured rampant peacock feathers.
I thought they were quite beautiful though, NOT suffering any fear of those birds or their stunning plumage.)
We had a Suite with interconnecting door leading to a kitchen and siting room with a divan. Both rooms had window seats in alcoves that projected out of the building that provided an interesting place to sit and read.
The bathroom was very neatly presented, with every facilty you could want. Our shower recess had the interesting feature of a translucent glass panel which formed part of the wall of the bedroom. You need to be on fairly close terms with your room mate as this feature provided not only the natural light to the bathroom, but also a fairly intimate view of your naked body to any observer who happened to be the other side!

Plenty of wardrobe space, iron and board, and the usual mini-bar stocked full of those tempting items with the hugely inflated prices you find in most hotels nowadays. (Never touch them myself!)
The bed was a huge king size and very very good.

Now as mentioned before you have to insert those entry cards into a wall-slot to get any light, ...and air-conditioning. Removing them as you exit turns everything, ..and I do mean everything, ... off.
Because we had two rooms we had two cards, (when they were working!), but I can see this being a problem if there are two people in one room and one wants to go out.

Now if you are like me and enjoy FRESH air rather than the very poor facimile there of that's re-cycled by air-conditioning, here's the one big problem. Like many other so-called "modern" buildings, the damned thing is hermetically sealed!!!
You cannot open any of the windows at all!
There's only the air-conditioning, ...and you have to constantly remember to turn it ON after every time you come back. This is so easy to forget and you suddenly find yourself gulping for oxygen like a goldfish that's jumped out of the bowl! I hate this !!!!

Oddly for a hotel of this size and supposed calibre there's NO WiFi provided at all. You have to pay extra for it and it's a hefty $9.50 an hour or $19 for twenty four hours, ...and that's consecutive hours BTW, not logged on time, so much of it will be just wasted unless you sit up all night online.

There are as mentioned, cooking facilities with stove and pans provided, but there's also a little warning ticket that says you cannot open the windows and any setting off of the smoke alarm, or leaving pungent smells will incur a hefty fine! How you could ever cook and NOT do this is beyond me! Use the microwave if you must I guess.

Breakfast is available in the rooms, but we went next door to the club on guest visas and quite enjoyed their buffet for $16 a head, .....full cooked breakfasts were $22, but not really necessary unless you eat enormous amounts.
Strangely enough, in these times of burgeoning obesity, this club seems to encourage gluttony on a massive scale, ..even rewarding it.
There's a special menu listed over the Grill with about five absolutely MASSIVE fat-soaked, cholesterol dripping meals, ...(enough to feed a small third world country!), but if you order and manage to eat EVERYTHING that's on the plate, it's not only free, but you then get your name put up on a public List of Honour"!!!
For being a total pig??? Bizarre!!!
Some blokes have even done this several times it seems !
No doubt they are currently on their fifth triple by-pass....if still living at all.
There's quite a bit of evidence all too visible on the patrons waddling around that attempts at this dubious food-record are fairly frequent too!

For us this hotel was convenient and very comfortable, ...apart from the air quality issue.
The rooms were spacious and well-appointed. Lifts frequent and fast.There were no noise issues for us on the third floor corner suite, despite overlooking a quite busy road. There's free under-cover off-street parking, and you can eat quite well next door at the club if you don't want to travel. Thankfully those ubiquitous jangling poker machines are well-concealed from the dining areas.
If you have any problems for the front desk, hopefully you will get the very helpful William, who was NOT the distant bloke who checked us in. He dealt with our second entry card failure with all the charm and grace of a true professional.

It's certainly not cheap here, but I'd definitely stay again.
However as I said above, I am not familiar with Newcastle and I guess it depends on just where you want to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GargoyleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such in depth feedback. Unfortunately a $200 room deposit is standard practise for the business including Wests Club members, as outlined in the booking terms.
We’re pleased to hear that you found our facilities to your liking. We recently updated our facilities and décor.
It’s great to hear that you found time to explore the adjoining facilities in the Wests Club. Grill 32 is a fantastic option to satisfy cravings for a full English breakfast; alternatively Raw Express Café (located next to Balance Health Club) offers fresh squeezed juices, paleo muffins, protein smoothies, breakfast wraps and delicious Glee coffee for those of us who are more health conscious.
Once again I would like to thank you for the fantastic feedback.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel fell into our laps by chance...My husband and I had left home in the long weekends without any plans. We were headed for Port Stephens...I wanted us to just go and have a little adventure...Well after the long drive and a stop at One mile beach, we needed a good rest and after a good 50-60 km drive we came across this one...With only 2 rooms left, we prayed the whole way that they would still have them when we reach the place...Luckily we were able to get the spa room at a good discounted price....The white sheets and fluffy white pillows made us feel in heaven...We watched the finals cosily settled in the room...If you have a car then the restaurants are not too far from the location...The West club is just next door which is good for early breakfast.. We would return to the hotel again...Service was good at the reception... they provided us with all the info we needed...

Room Tip: Ask for a discounted rate... If they can they will give the best rate possible for them
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kussum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback. The Gateway Inn, Newcastle is perfectly located for a perfect day trip to Port Stephens and even the Hunter Valley Wine Country.

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Gateway Inn Spa Suite, with fantastic views; it is a great way to unwind after a long day of driving.

We look forward to seeing in the future.
Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed here many times & always lives up to expectations . Clean , comfortable & very convenient with the Club next door offering choices for dining . Only fault I can find with this Hotel is lack of a pool or spa for general use . I think there is a pool in the gym but not for all guests to use . Their other hotel Wests at Lambton has a great pool .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmothernsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Gateway Inn, Newcastle. Many future guests may be unaware that the hotel is situated next to an adjoining Club with numerous dining options; it’s great to hear that you had the opportunity to explore the area.

Although we do not have a general use spa the Gateway Inn does have a spa suite with spectacular views. You’ll find that the Balance Health Club pool is very busy with classes, however as all guests are provided with complimentary passes to the gym facilities we encourage guests to check with reception regarding free use pool hours.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews