We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
72
95
22
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
95
22
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerleagues clubwindow seatbay windowrestaurant upstairswatch the tvfrosted glass walladjoining clubwest clubcommercial gymspa roomroom servicerooms are niceopening windowshotel guestshot breakfastboth dinner and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Accommodation: Couple in a Friday night stay with the "Brazilian Affair Package" in a spa suite. Package included 'El Grande Churrasco' dinner for two at the Figtree Restaurant on the sixth floor.

Our room was a corner spa suite on the fourth floor (4416). Very clean and modern, the bathroom was spacious and features a one person spa bath and a double headed shower. Frosted glass separates the bathroom from the bedroom. A desk with free (wired) broadband is also located in the room along with a small bar fridge (with freezer compartment) and tea and coffee making facilities. No wifi apparent though we didn't enquire further when we couldn't find it. A TV was provided however we didn't use this and there didn't appear to be a DVD player, though I saw a movie channel advertised.

Unlike other reviews, even though our corner room overlooked the main road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. Maybe due to being on the fourth floor?

Only one very small quibble was a very loud bathroom fan which kicks in automatically when you switch on the bathroom light. Bound to wake up a sleeping partner if you turn on the light during the night.

The king bed was comfortable, crisp sheets and most importantly, clean.

The front desk staff were professional and courteous. Kate was very helpful even though she apparently had just started working there.

The private car park is a bonus, overall we found the hotel clean, well appointed and modern with professional and helpful staff.

We didn't end up going down to have the hot breakfast as we were much too full from the amazing Churrasco dinner the night before! Figtree Restaurant is definitely a must visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow more privacy if your room happens to be overlooking the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806kristyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This was my second time staying here, first time being some years ago. The hotel is how I remembered it. It offers exactly what you would expect from a hotel of it's size. The check in guy (Will was his name from memory) was very friendly and courteous and nothing too much trouble. He accommodated an early arrival with no problem.
The room was well appointed with a dual shower head shower, clean, with plenty of amenities and a great array of pillow options.
The restaurant on level 6 was not open on Mondays so a club meal was had. The club is attached to the hotel. The food there was quick and of good quality.
Breakfast in the morning was from 6:30 and was also quick and good.
Parking available right out the front.
The room size and furnishings where on par with what one would expect based on what was paid at that location. So they have nailed the price point. Will be spending a few nights here in the coming months so intend to comment on the standards over time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback.
We’re proud to provide our quests with free parking, bike hire and complimentary access to the nearby Balance Health Club during their stay.
It’s great to hear that you found the facilities comfortable during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the New Year.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was my second time staying here. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and I liked the fact that I had access to Balance gym.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment on the fifth floor, on the opposite side of the hotel to the road, and had no problems with noise at all.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsamlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We needed to stay in Newcastle for just one night and decided to give The Gateway Inn a go, mainly for the value it offered in comparison to the city hotels (and in Newcastle, you're never far from where you need to go) and we just really needed a bed and a clean room rather than location and view this trip. It's a neat, contemporary building and I was pleasantly surprised with the modern (albeit minimalist) decor. I booked directly with the hotel a couple of days before the trip and managed to get a daily deal, saving me $20.
The king bed was comfy, the towels were fluffy, the water was hot, reasonably good toiletries, the room had a safe, parking was adequate and free and the room was quiet (I did have my concerns with its location on a main road, and being adjacent to the large leagues club though this may be more of an issue on weekends) and the hotel is totally non smoking with hefty penalties if this is not adhered to (fabulous!). There was a discount voucher for dining at the club which we didn't use as we wanted to go to some of our favourite eateries we like to visit when we are in town.
My dislikes were - the $200 bond on my credit card which will be returned when it's proven there is no damage sustained (but, I do understand why they would have this, being attached to the club), no free wi fi, and while the bathroom was generally clean, the attendant must have been distracted before emptying and cleaning the bin from the previous guests, and also left a wet cleaning cloth on the bathroom floor (neither of these too big a deal, just an observation and probably a genuine oversight).
Mayfield is not a number one holiday destination, probably never will be (and if it is, you need to get out more!) but I would recommend The Gateway if you need somewhere comfortable and affordable for a night or two.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sydney_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Gateway Inn is part of Wests League club in Mayfield, Newcastle. The Hotel is Clean with the basic room amenities . Rooms are a little on the small side but it is designed to be slept in not as a living room. The Hotel is connected to the leagues club so easy to get a meal or go upstairs to the Brazilian BBQ . The Gym is great and entry is free to both the gym and the club by staying at the hotel. The Gym has a full weights and training machine set up together with a 25m pool. If you are in luck you may see some of the Knights training in the Gym.

Room Tip: Car park can get a bit noisy from club traffic so ask to be away from this side,
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRENT005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Trent,

It is great to hear that you had the time to explore the facilities adjoining The Gateway Inn, Newcastle.

Wests Mayfield is proud to be the official home of the Newcastle Knights. Guests can often see the team training on the nearby oval or at Balance Health Clubs.

The team and I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with on your stay.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews