We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
72
95
22
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
95
22
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerleagues clubwindow seatbay windowrestaurant upstairswatch the tvfrosted glass walladjoining clubwest clubcommercial gymspa roomroom servicerooms are niceopening windowshotel guestshot breakfastboth dinner and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room but the bed was as hard as a board. Still suffering from it! If your looking at a spa room be aware the spa (bath tub) is tiny! We must have had some type of vent above our room so when it started raining through the night all you could hear was very loud raindrops on tin. Very annoying! I wouldn't stay again because of the bed which is a shame!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2kdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are pleased that you thought the Gateway Inn was beautiful. However, we are concerned that you found the bed uncomfortable. Our feedback is always very positive about our beds and especially our pillows. At the Gateway Inn we strive to exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our family of 4 stayed here for 1 night based purely on price. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the size of 1 bedroom apartment. Clean and comfortable, we were on the 5th floor on a Thursday night and had no issues with noise. We were missing 2 towels with reception delivering within minutes. Due to time restrictions we did not utilise the club or its facilities. Free parking an added bonus!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you and your family were pleasantly surprised with our rooms and facilities.

Hopefully on your next stay you can utilise more of our on site facilities. The Balance Health Club offers group fitness classes and also has a creche for the children to be entertained.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The first thing you notice when you enter the hotel is the overwhelmingly strong smell of the airconditioning. So strong it nearly made me vomit. The building is hermetically sealed and so has no fresh air. A change of rooms did not make a difference. I felt ill the whole evening. Apart from this the hotel is nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank VanessaP4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We booked a 3 night family deal and stayed with our newborn baby. First opinions were that the place was very modern with very few guests. I write this review some weeks later as we have just noticed we were charged twice. Once through Wotif and the other directly by the hotel. For a new family especially $455 is a lot of money to pay interest on, we are just lucky we noticed it in time. I will be contacting the hotel tomorrow, however it is likely to take a few days for the funds to be returned.

Checking In: The gentleman was polite and explained the services, room and leagues club. The older gentleman at the clubs foyer was absolutely delightful!! He explained everything about the club.

Room: Very clean, crisp and modern. We had the apartment and it was more than enough room. Our keys would not work at first and after having them reissued only worked on one door. The adjoining door to access the apartment side was locked on arrival. We were really looking forward to watching a movie in the room. However, the service would not work and 3 phone calls later to reception we never gained access nor an apology.

Location: The adjoining leagues club was great for us with a small baby. It was only a brief walk to have dinner then back to our room. We drove to Darby St for a bit of shopping and went for walks around Newcastle. We enjoyed the location. We discussed eating at the hotel restaurant but it was too expensive for us.

PROS: Very spacious, clean and crisp. Restaurant staff and club staff were really lovely. Very quiet location when we stayed. The adjoining leagues club was really great.

CONS: Access to the apartment door was locked but resolved. Keys did not work first time. Reissued cards only worked on one door. Charged twice at $455. In room movies did not work, never resolved nor apology received. Gentleman on the reception at the time was very disappointing. He did not seem to care at all. He just said he would try again to fix it. I asked if there is anything else that can be done. No. I at least thought he should have offered to have IT look into it or try to have it fixed for the following night. Nothing.

HOTEL CONTACTED: I used the hotels website to provide feedback regarding the in room movies and the lack of help from their staff member. I never received a response acknowledging that my feedback had been received or taken on.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank AQuinlan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestsGroup, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we do apologise that there were a few hiccups with keys and double charging of room of which was all rectified very promptly. In regards to the TV, the TV had to be completely replaced and required a new purchase and installation as the apartment has two TVs there was still an option to watch TV, even thought the Movies were not available.

Overall I read that you had a good time and enjoyable stay and we hope that on the next occasion that everything will be in order, our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Accommodation: Couple in a Friday night stay with the "Brazilian Affair Package" in a spa suite. Package included 'El Grande Churrasco' dinner for two at the Figtree Restaurant on the sixth floor.

Our room was a corner spa suite on the fourth floor (4416). Very clean and modern, the bathroom was spacious and features a one person spa bath and a double headed shower. Frosted glass separates the bathroom from the bedroom. A desk with free (wired) broadband is also located in the room along with a small bar fridge (with freezer compartment) and tea and coffee making facilities. No wifi apparent though we didn't enquire further when we couldn't find it. A TV was provided however we didn't use this and there didn't appear to be a DVD player, though I saw a movie channel advertised.

Unlike other reviews, even though our corner room overlooked the main road we didn't hear any traffic noise at all. Maybe due to being on the fourth floor?

Only one very small quibble was a very loud bathroom fan which kicks in automatically when you switch on the bathroom light. Bound to wake up a sleeping partner if you turn on the light during the night.

The king bed was comfortable, crisp sheets and most importantly, clean.

The front desk staff were professional and courteous. Kate was very helpful even though she apparently had just started working there.

The private car park is a bonus, overall we found the hotel clean, well appointed and modern with professional and helpful staff.

We didn't end up going down to have the hot breakfast as we were much too full from the amazing Churrasco dinner the night before! Figtree Restaurant is definitely a must visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors allow more privacy if your room happens to be overlooking the main road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806kristyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews