We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old 'country pub' in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Newcastle
Ranked #7 of 28 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Grand old 'country pub' in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

After reading a couple of negative reviews of this hotel (here and elsewhere) I was a little apprehensive about staying here. We recently hired the basement facility for our daughter's 21st birthday party and were going to stay at one of the other (much more expensive) hotels closer to the beach. After being shown the available rooms in the hotel while making arrangements for the party (thanks Taylor!) we decided to stay at the Grand. Yes, parts of the hotel are a little worn, but the place has the feel of a lovely old 'country pub' - a feeling accentuated by the friendly service of all staff (thanks Michael and Rob). The 21st party went well and I thoroughly recommend this place for this type of function - the food was hot, tasty and bought out at regular intervals, the bar staff were attentive and the service prompt and efficient. At the end of the night the clean, comfortable room was a welcoming sight. Yes, the walls are a little thin and some noise is transmitted through doors connecting suites (although I must admit our group in the basement was probably responsible for most of the noise emanating from downstairs). This place is a lovely place to stay, just don't expect stainless steel and chrome (think more 'large country pub', but with en-suites, rather than the communal bathroom down the hall'.) It is also a much cheaper alternative to some of the bigger hotels closer to the beach. I can also recommend the Bistro which has an excellent menu and delicious food, with generous portions (see pic).

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony, as although the views are not 'stunning', it gives a whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    40
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
38
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My business associate arranged the booking for me , Management and Staff all were great, The room was good for Pub style accom, wasnt too sure about it when i was told i was staying at the Pub but once there i was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been done up very nicely , over the moon when i discovered the rooms had an ensuite. The Balcony was great in the afternoon with the sun not much of a view but not fussed as the Glasses of wine took the edge off it.

Only thing i can suggest is that the rooms need a Mini bar or something to get beverages and light snacks after hours .

The Jazz night in the Basement was great on the Tuesday night, Just a little over priced cover charge.

Bar facilities are great, Front and Lounge bar, The Bistro is great even got room service offered to me as i needed to be upstairs doing work in the evening. Bar staff are very well manned and efficient in their positions with in the Pub.

Management have done a fantastic job on restoring the Pub to its former glory . To me this place is one of Newcastle's best kept secrets.

Room Tip: Room 4, 5 and 6 have Sun on Balconys in the afternoon :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel has been nicely renovated, however the carpet on the stairs is worn.
We stayed in the twin room without a balcony and 2 blind windows, but it had the advantage of 2 small separate rooms (albeit without a door in between).
The walls must be very thin because we heard our neighbour extensively clear his throat in the morning and the noises from the kitchen below. The carpet was new but stained.
Bathroom was lovely but no shelves in shower and not enough hooks or rails for towels.
Beds very comfy. Furniture already showing signs of wear.
Staff were welcoming and very helpful - thanks Rob!
Breakfast (not included) was very good.
Location is ok but a fair walk from Honeysuckle precinct. Parking is difficult during the day.
I loved the vibe of the hotel but felt $130 was a bit rich for that particular room.
Would come back to check out the queen room though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoffel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you can..I heard a lot about this place so i decided to take my wife and a friend there for dinner.
Menu is standard Australian pub fare..nothing to get exited about, which was fine...boring old 10 dollar schnitzel etc
We where in pasta mood so a simple Bolognaise and Napoli where the choice...what arrived was the most disappointing meal i have seen for a long time...totally overcooked pasta and absolute tasteless sauces with a bit of Parmesan on top...Friend had a special which looked like a big massive Fishcake with some sauce drizzled and had that whiskas odor with a whiff of Salmon..all in all.. horrible..saw other plates coming out with soggy chips on neighbors table and they complained about the the tough steaks among them self
I also had a chance to glimpse into the Kitchen and to no surprise i saw some poor chefs working in a total old grotty shoe box Kitchen...filthy to the max with piles of unwashed dishes.
Note to Owner or manager..step up your game if you want to be seen as a professional and renovate that disgraceful heap of......Our waitress was nice and pleasant and tried to do a good job
Will not be back there soon or at all and spend my money rather somewhere else and so should you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinergy436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for business. Good value for money, nice old pub, good clean spacious rooms. Location not far from the CBD. Rooms up two flights of stairs, so beware if you have trouble with mobility. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_southbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed in the Grand room and loved the feeling of space and light.High ceilings, Comfortable bed, bathroom was adequate, large TV panel with good reception and a balcony you could throw a party on.We ate in the restaurant downstairs and had very good service and the meals were above average.Beware though that the Grand room is above the bar and on a Saturday night the live act resonates through the room.Good news is that the bar closes at midnight and from then on it is peaceful.I imagine that any other night would be fine. All staff we encountered were enthusiastic and ready to please.Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beefster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Rooms are passable but avoid the restaurant/bar - the young barmaids are rude and the waitress serving in the restaurant short changed me. The crowd at night seems all local and they seem fine with regulars but are not welcoming to strangers. I booked because of the price and central location but would definitely not book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.4 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newcastle Beach Hotel
Newcastle Beach Hotel
#18 of 22 in Newcastle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Newcastle

Property: The Grand Hotel Newcastle
Address: Cnr Bolton & Church Streets, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing