We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait for the weekend specials!”

General Washington Hotel
Ranked #96 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I can't wait for the weekend specials!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had the slow cooked pork belly! Wow! I am a regular to this restaurant and I am never disappointed! The menu is fantastic and the weekend specials are always different and delicous. Top ten all round and Wayne and mel are always great hosts!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Uncleroy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I dined at General Washington Hotel tonight for the first time!
The restaurant was very busy..... Easter Weekend!!
From the moment I lined up at the bistro order station I was impressed.
I lady taking the orders was impressive under a lot of pleasure, very good at her job.
Presentation of the meal was first class!
I chose the Barramundi served with a risotto.
The Barra was perfection, the risotto was awesome, to say the least.
You guessed it, I came away impressed!
For what it's worth, that place has my recommendation.
Robert Hancock
Port Macquarie 24444
0428401470

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Venue-Best Meals-Best Service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I recently organised a Family Reunion and picked Stockton as the place to locate the group due to its close proximity to Williamtown Airport and the accessibility to Newcastle CBD.
I chose The General Washington for our Dinner Venue on Saturday Night, based on recommendations from family members and the reviews on this site.
We had a group of 30 people, ranging from toddlers to people in their 80s. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal, (great variety to choose from), the service was superb and the view spectacular.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“$10 Pub Food with a Harbour View”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

When in Newcastle, it is worth catching the Stockton Ferry to Stockton and walking to the General Washington for a meal. We had the $10 special (Salt and Pepper Squid and Salad) with a table that looks across the park to the Harbour and Newcastle Skyline. Stockton has the best view of the Cathedral at night. The pub has been refurbish and the style is modern. The cafe/restaurant is sectioned off from the pub/bar. It has a glass walled play room for families with young children.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PPSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Went with group of 6 ladies on Saturday lunch. All had something different and all enjoyed their meals. Good variety. Prices good. Staff friendly. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank evking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Washington Hotel also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Wickham, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to General Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing