We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Newcastle hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Newcastle hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Had to stay in Newcastle one night so chose this hotel after reading favourable reviews. Very pleased with accommodation and service. View of beach,good room service meal and helpful staff.Would definately use this hotel next time in Newcastle.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robetra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    350
    100
    19
    17
See reviews for
145
345
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed in Newcastle for 2 nights last week. Check in was easy and quick as the hotel staff and my room key and paperwork ready and waiting.

The room itself was a good size with modern decor and fittings including a plasma TV on the wall, IPOD docking station, good size table, 2 chairs, small fridge and a new fully tiled bathroom with toiletries. My room overlooked Newcastle Beach which was a bonus!

The buffet breakfast was decent and had a combination of hot and cold foods along with juices and tea and coffee. The evening meals were enjoyable but I thought a little overpriced.

All in all I had a wonderful stay, would stay here again and definately recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of Newcastle Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disney2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here for work for one night. i had a great stay.
Check in and check out were easy and the staff went above and beyond to help me find where i needed to go and giving advice on nice places to visit in my spare time.
The location is fantastic - close to the beach, near good cafes etc.
My room was really nice. it was a regular hotel room in size and layout, but it was spotless and decorated with some character.
Ii would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is quite a new hotel in a great location on the seafront at Newcastle in New South Wales Australia.
Good spacious rooms, great beds, good bathrooms, really nice staff - but charges silly prices for WiFi.
A WiFi service should be inclusive at every hotel- if it isn't, I'm no longer going to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a brand new hotel, right on the beach, with a number of good places to eat nearby. The usual inclusions and comforts are provided. The reception service is pleasant, though they’re not awfully good on local knowledge: the nearby backpackers have the real lowdown on best bars, restaurants and activities. Best bet is probably to explore from the square outside the hotel and go in any of three directions towards water. The hotel is as advertised but its position makes it amazingly good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaymartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I had High Tea here recently. The hotel is lovely, the location great & the venue is ok though a little 'cosy' if you were only one table. Our group had the whole room so that was fine. The food was very nice & well presented, there was plenty to satisfy everyone & a good selection. The only thing I thought was a little mis-timed was that the hot savoury food was brought out well after the sweet things (there were very nice savoury bread rolls already available). It would be great if the room had a view of the beach but the large picture windows overlooked the rear of several blocks of apartments. It was more like a 'meeting room' rather than a room dedicated to High Tea. It's not the Savoy but overall a pleasant experience & everyone I spoke to thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamwar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed at the Sebel for 3 nights. Very clean and modern rooms in a perfect location. We got off the train, walked to the hotel and were checking in 5 minutes later. The room was large, very clean and modern feeling. The beautiful beach is a one minute walk and lots of coffee places and restaurants are within minutes. The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars was due to the cost of "extras". We were there for a business trip so don't know the price of the room but were surprised that a roll away bed was $45.00 per night ( it was a good rollaway at least) and to get online to print our boarding passes would have cost just under $15.00 in the lobby (we passed). Also, the pillows that came on the beds were pretty uncomfortable (even though they did have a "pillow menu" but we didn't realize how bad the pillows were until very late so didn't change them). Our view was of another building so couldn't enjoy the ocean due to a highrise in the way. It was fairly quiet due to the room but at night when people were sitting outside at the restaurant/bar their talking went right up into our room (we were on the 3rd floor). We would definitively stay here again; clean, modern, and amazing location!

Room Tip: go high; the windows don't keep the street/courtyard noise out if you are on a lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank offto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing