We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of October. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent - large, beautifully decorated and well appointed with a view towards Stockton. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a 'proper' restaurant, but we enjoyed the breakfasts each morning and on the one night when we did decide to eat there, had a very enjoyable meal. The location of this hotel is great - all beaches are a few minutes walk away and it is a short walk to Hunter Street and local shops, bars and restaurants. We would certainly stay here again - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was possibly one of the larger ones. Suggest you ask when booking. Views are best on the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    355
    101
    19
    17
See reviews for
146
353
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here the night of our wedding.
The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean.
The beds/pillows are so comfortable. slept like a baby.

The location of the hotel is fantastic: across the road from Newcastle Beach and with the Newcastle Harbour insight.

Complimentary champagne on arrival!

Very happy with our stay :)

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatesGotTheTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naracoorte, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stay in motels/hotels frequenly and enjoy my stay at the Novotel .Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We usually stay with the HIlton chain but found the novotel of equal stantard.A swimming pool would be an added attraction to the Novotel.The food was of a very high standard. We have joined the Accor group after our stay at the Novotel.The bed was very comfortable and we had the best sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bull903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolwarra, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

From the wonderful reception staff, to the large, clean and tastefully decorated rooms and the extremely comfortable beds - this hotel could be classed as five star. The rooms are unusually quiet, so if you are looking for a peaceful night's rest or need to concentrate on some work - this is the hotel for you. The location is perfect - walking distance to the beach, great eateries and CBD. We had the buffet breakfast and were very happy with the choices and the service. We didn't not use the in room dining service however, the choices on the menu looked very inviting and suitable for all tastes.
The only suggestion for any improvements would be, better lighting in the bathroom (for those who need to apply makeup etc) and room on the vanity to put toiletries etc (even a shelf near the vanity would suffice). These are minor issues and would probably only be required by a few.
Well done Novotel - we live in the Hunter and needed to stay in Newcastle for an event and if we need to stay again we won't stay anywhere else. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to friends, family etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room (402) and had a partial view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Novotel at Newcastle Beach is a very pleasant hotel with nice decor and fittings. The fresh modern room and easy check-in (though it was a Sunday afternoon) service and nice dinner in the bistro downstairs made my overnight stay a delight. I will definitely consider stopping by again at this hotel next time I am staying in the CBD of Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing