We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location close to beach”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Seamless check in at front reception ,great staff and service. Great location just metres from the local beach and ocean pools. Restaurant has excellent range and quality of meals, though other restaurants in close proximity if you want variation. Good internet connectivity as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mitchybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mitchybear,
We really appreciate your kind review, our location is outstanding and we are grateful each day for such an amazing spot next to one of the best beachs on the coast. We hope you will return again soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    366
    102
    19
    17
See reviews for
151
360
41
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked a beach view, balcony room via Accor at a great sale rate. Although we were on a low floor, we had a decent view of the beach at a side angle. Most likely the views will be gone once the building next door goes up but looks like this will be some months away. It was pretty windy and the surf was loud but we liked that and even had a drink on the balcony until it was too cold.

Location is excellent for visiting the CBD area…4 minute walk from the hotel to wine bars and decent coffee in the mall area…restaurants, take away food and bottle shop all on the way. There is a wine bar, deli/cafe and restaurant downstairs next to the hotel.

The room was very comfy, quiet and had everything we needed. We wanted a cup of tea but discovered the tea bags had not been refilled. I called down to reception and we were brought teabags within a couple of minutes. We found all the staff on the front desk to be friendly and efficient.

We didn't do breakfast but did park under the hotel at $18/night. Maybe it's because we're from Sydney but we didn't think this was excessive and it was very convenient for us as we parked, checked in, and then we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go for drinks/dinner.

All up, we were very happy with our experience at the hotel and will happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear ratl,
Thank you for taking the time to send through such a comprehensive review of the hotel and surrounds, we appreciate the positive comments and hope that you will return again to enjoy more of the best that Newcastle has to offer.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane QLD
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights for work and the Reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. It is only a stones throw from the beach and they will give you towels if you need one. There are also sea baths not that far away either. I walked to the lighthouse and it was a great walk with brilliant views of Stockton where they ship the sand to Hawaii.

The restaurant strip is about a km roughly down the road and there are lots of choices. Would definetly stay there again if I get the chance. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamnViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Camnviv,

Thank you for your review, very pleased to hear that you made the most of our location and all the best parts of Newcastle close by, the walk out to the end of the breakwall is an absolute highlight of the local area. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed to celebrate our anniversary. The room was clean and the bedding was comfortable. Very close to restaurants and cafes. Beach view was very limited.
Service was good but difficult to park to check in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Amanda N,

Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed the anniversary celebration!

Our location is an absolute highlight of the hotel, it sounds as though you made the best of it while you stayed with us, we hope you will be back to stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
395 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing