We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decor & service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Novotel & it met our requirements well. The service was excellent- our room configuration was not to our specifications and our room was changed instantly and without question. The location was outstanding- 2 minutes from the beach and walking distance to the marina & restaurants. The bed in the room was comfortable & the bathroom clean & modern.

We would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AliOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear AliOz,

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your kind thoughts and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Novotel is a really good hotel with modern amenities and fitting. it is really quite close to the beach. You can easily walk from the Novotel to the different areas of Newcastle city (new waterfront, the mall, the beach, the lighthouse etc). The onsite parking is good value for the day if you don't plan on driving anywhere. Otherwise on the street parking is 2hours during the day (8am till 6pm from memory) and unlimited overnight, so if you are out and about driving around you may not need to pay for parking. We got the room with a discount from our hotel club, so it was a great rate, however if you pay full tariff I don't think you will be disappointed.

The room itself was spacious and had windows that can be open, if you like the fresh air, otherwise the aircon was good and quiet. The room was quietand clean and bed comfortable. We got a late checkout of 1130am however normal check out is 11am so that is great regardless.

Bar petite next door was a great little place to finish off our night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Emma C

We appreciate the very kind review, as you mention our location is second to none in Newcastle and with such an amazing summer we have seen many guests wandering down to the beach! Also pleased that you enjoyed your time at Bar Petite, it is a great venue right next to the hotel and is well received by our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Novotel was a beautiful hotel, with an extremely comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, and nice view. The best part was the service...after returning from a rugby match late Saturday night, we pulled into the parking to find no spots left. Frustrated, we went up to the desk, where the worker took our car to a special spot, and waived the parking fee. They were so happy to help. It's a great location, within walking distance of shops, beaches, and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherhousekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Heatherhousekn

Thank you very much for the kind review, our hotel is in a great location and we are very proud of our staff so thank you for recognising them, we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a conference on sight. Location is good only 50 meters to the beach. Rooms are comfy enough. The bathroom was modern although when you open the door it hits the toilet. Had lunch in the foyer. Food was good although it took nearly around 45 mins to arrive. Breakfast had an adequate choice. The conference food was average at best though. Overall I'd be happy to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hunstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Aussie 1313

Thanks for the review, sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the function food I have passed these comments on the the Chef, very glad to hear that you will return to stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is sleek, modern and clean. It is walking distance to the beach and the beautiful ocean baths. Train and bus stations are walking distance too. Great boutiques and restaurants are also close by.
Everyone in the hotel is very nice. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iizzykauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear lizzykauai,
We appreciate your kind review, we are very fortunate with our location and it sounds like you made the most of your time in Newcastle. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

If you have the opportunity to stay in Newcastle, try the Newcastle on the Beach and get an ocean view room. The building is situated within walking distance to the beach and in the midst of a wealth of great eateries. You will be impressed with the atmosphere, service and food at Rustica though you will have to book ahead or wait for the late sitting. Breakfast at Raw Cafe, a block away, was good value with interesting choices. Still hungry the next evening saw us 100m down the road at Bocados, a Spanish restaurant with great service and food.
SO, were there any negatives? We didn't appreciate having to stand around waiting to be seated at the half empty restaurant at the Novotel for more than five minutes with no recognition of our presence. Their loss, we spent $334 at Rustica instead.
Another bit of advice: bloody $88 one way for a taxi to the airport. It would have been so much cheaper to hire a car for two days. Ah well! Next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazdesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Dazdesb,
Thank you for the review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. We apologise that no-one acknowledged you in Bistro Dalby on the bright side it is good to hear that you enjoyed some of the other restaurants close by to the hotel. In relation to the airport there are buses that run to the CBD but they are a bit sporadic if you are short of time. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Simon Glover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
glovers1, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 23 in Newcastle
392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 23 in Newcastle
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 23 in Newcastle
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range: £102 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing