We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newcastle visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    370
    103
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
363
41
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a few nights to catch a concert. The room was nice enough, though we were on the second floor and our view was looking out onto a walkway and some buildings. We had two single beds in the room, which seemed very small for a person of my height (6'2) and I can't see why the hotel wouldn't be able to shell out for two king sized singles considering the extra space that was available around the beds. The hotel itself is modern and has a good buffet breakfast with specialty coffees available for no extra cost. Parking is a little steep at $18 per night, and we experienced some difficulties finding a parking spot. The staff were very helpful, professional and friendly in our interactions with them - particularly helping to 'valet' park the car. Location is just across from the beach, close to some nice bars and cafes. I'd give this place a better overall rating if our very far in advance booking could have secured a better bedding situation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Cameron M,

Thank you for your review, we have recently converted some rooms to have two larger beds in the room so if you are returning please let us know as they a perfect for taller people. We appreciate your feedback in relation to our staff, and other facilities, we hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

You know what you get with a Novotel, and those in the know won't be surprised by it being a bit bland. It is however ultra modern and clean and comes with a nice gym with big jacuzzi. Where it comes into its own is both its location 50 metres from the beach (down some steps) and its excellent staff. The breakfast was a bit expensive, better option is to go to the cafe on the corner outside, or there are plenty others nearby. But back to the beach, are there any better city side beaches in the world than Newcastle Beach?

Room Tip: Double rooms don't have sea views - you might need a suite to get that. Other than that its quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear BradWhatmough,

We appreciate the great feedback on our location and who are we to argue that Newcastle is the best city side beach! Thanks for your review and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the Novotel & it met our requirements well. The service was excellent- our room configuration was not to our specifications and our room was changed instantly and without question. The location was outstanding- 2 minutes from the beach and walking distance to the marina & restaurants. The bed in the room was comfortable & the bathroom clean & modern.

We would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear AliOz,

Thank you for the review, we appreciate your kind thoughts and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Novotel is a really good hotel with modern amenities and fitting. it is really quite close to the beach. You can easily walk from the Novotel to the different areas of Newcastle city (new waterfront, the mall, the beach, the lighthouse etc). The onsite parking is good value for the day if you don't plan on driving anywhere. Otherwise on the street parking is 2hours during the day (8am till 6pm from memory) and unlimited overnight, so if you are out and about driving around you may not need to pay for parking. We got the room with a discount from our hotel club, so it was a great rate, however if you pay full tariff I don't think you will be disappointed.

The room itself was spacious and had windows that can be open, if you like the fresh air, otherwise the aircon was good and quiet. The room was quietand clean and bed comfortable. We got a late checkout of 1130am however normal check out is 11am so that is great regardless.

Bar petite next door was a great little place to finish off our night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Emma C

We appreciate the very kind review, as you mention our location is second to none in Newcastle and with such an amazing summer we have seen many guests wandering down to the beach! Also pleased that you enjoyed your time at Bar Petite, it is a great venue right next to the hotel and is well received by our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing