We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Gwandalan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Newcastle”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at Novotel Newcastle for one night recently with 9 other couples so had 10 rooms all up. Hotel is in good location and easy walk to bars and restaurants on waterfront. Rooms are good quality and decent size. Only concerns for me as a Accor Platinum member are that no Platinum benefits were granted ie upgrade or welcome drinks on arrival. Therefore they need to look at taking better care of their members on high loyalty status. Breakfast was of the standard expected at a Novotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Paul V,

Thank you for your review, we sincerely apologise that your Platinum Le Club benefits were overlooked when you arrived. We will make sure our Front Office team have refresher training as this was a lost opportunity to look after you as a very loyal Accor member. We hope that you will return and stay with us again in the near future so we can rectify our oversight.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    363
    102
    19
    17
See reviews for
149
357
40
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was in a great location! We had an ocean view room, which was very limited in seeing the ocean with no balcony. The décor & furnishings was just a basic room & needs meet. Nothing special. Although the bed was comfortable & staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Trish S,

Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we do have a limited number of rooms that have balconies on the Southern side of the building although these are very popular. We appreciate the comments in relation to our team, they work very hard to please our guests every day.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathfield, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Four nights in well appointed and spacious quiet room, well serviced and with ocean view. Staff excellent, particularly in dining room and on one occasion extremely helpful to a guest for lunch, who has a disability. Greatly appreciated. Very secure and good lift service. Novotel for me for the future. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room was on top floor (of five) and lift was never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahiti43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Tahiti43,

Thank you for your review, being a relatively new hotel we have excellent accessible facilities throughout the complex. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I arrived late and didn't know that the hotel was so far from the airport (my fault should have checked). Checked in about 10.30pm after leaving Melbourne early and visiting Canberra on the way and then flying to Newcastle via Brisbane! Long trip with lots of luggage and I was exhausted. I was glad to find a comfy bed, clean modern bedroom and bathroom. Easy,friendly check-in too.
Had a work appointment at 10am the next morning so had a quick breakfast in the hotel restaurant, not bad at all. Checked out, made my work visit and was back in Perth (via brisbane again) by late evening.
Would love to have had a bit more time to explore but hope to be back in Newcastle and would choose this hotel again,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Gezq,

Thank you very much for your review, I was exhausted just reading your travel itinerary!

We appreciate the kind comments and hope that you will have the chance to be back in Newcastle again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Modern establishment right on the beach we booked an Ocean View room with balcony as we like to be able to leave the door open of a night to listen to the waves crashing and get some sea air. It is unfortunate that the building across the road blocks some ocean views, alas there were some from the right hand side.
The room was of a reasonable side and the bathroom was reasonably appointed with shower, no bath (preferred), however there was nothing particularly "exciting" about the room apart from other hotels that I have stayed.
It was a good location, close to the main district of town, and perhaps a better location than some of the others that were around the Honeysuckle district.
My only bugbear was the parking situation in the hotel basement - of which you are really at the mercy of availability. Upon arriving we were able to park okay and simply walked around of the afternoon. However, returning Saturday night from a family function out in the suburbs around midnight there was no parking left available so we had to double park only to have to move the car early in the morning. As the hotel is shared with the residential apartments above, there is limited spots. And although the hotel suggests that you can park in the surrounding streets, this was equally as busy.. will be a definite consideration when next we visit Newcastle.
Would we stay again - unlikely - I think there might be better offerings in Newcastle I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Be wary of the parking situation.. there is every chance it will be full (especially on weekend nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Steve8010,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your detailed and constructive comments.

As you mentioned we do share the car park with the residential visitors to the Royal apartments and on occasion the car park is completely full, our team will always park your vehicle for you if you are unable to find a spot. We apologise that this was a frustrating end to your family function.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing