We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room decor, great bed, great breakfast. Bring your own pillow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Simple room decor, great bed, great breakfast. Bring your own pillow”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our anniversary was spent at this hotel. We were welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine. A very nice touch given by the hotel. Breakfast buffet was included and lots to chose from including proper barrister espresso drinks which were great. A choice of gluten free and organic were also a great surprise. The only bummer was, for me the pillows and the TV choices for my husband. Every 4-5 star hotel I have ever stayed at has a selection of pillows..... This hotel however doesn't. When I asked for a feather or down pillow I was told all pillows in the hotel were feather/down.....I investigated and found that in fact all pillows were polyester fill. This lead to 2 nights of horrible sleep for me. My husband on the other hand had the best sleep. This was the first and last uptime I will leave my pillow at home. There also wasn't a free movie channel which would have been a nice option during one stormy night.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms are pretty equal. South side gets less sun, north side is on the street and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kay B,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we apologise that you were told that there are no other pillow options available, we actually have a range of 5 different pillows to the standard ones supplied on the beds. I have just spoken to our Front Office Manager and he will provide a refresher training session to the staff to ensure they know what options are available. We appreciate you passing on the feedback. Congratulations again on your anniversary and we hope to see you return again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    373
    104
    19
    17
See reviews for
154
364
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good basic room, nice bathroom and shower - although ocean view - not a huge view especially considering construction next door.
Quilt/doona was awe full - so heavy not nice for a good nights sleep.
Parking although additional was handy for us and not to expensive at $18 per night.
Breakfast was included and was nice and even included a good coffee :)
The Grain Store just down the road was a nice pub and very close.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniandGlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear DanniandGlyn,

Thank you for the review we appreciate your feedback, we are very fortunate with our location and the Grain Store is one of the many new bars and restaurants popping up in the East End of Newcastle.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stay in: Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony, Ocean View. Staff very friendly on check-in and it was an easy process. Room had lovely view of ocean. There is a construction site next door, but there was no noise or problem while we were there. Bathroom has generous shower. Facilities modern and comfortable. The king bed is made of 2 beds together, which I did notice when rolling into the middle in the night. We ordered room service for dinner from the restaurant's menu. I HIGHLY recommend the pork belly and the fish. The side of vegetables was massive. Food very tasty. Parking is $18 a night, but it is easy and sheltered, which is what we wanted for the hire car. Breakfast the next morning was good - lots of options. The coffee was also good. Thank you very much for the personal card and wine wishing us a happy wedding anniversary. We really appreciated the small touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Lauren C,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of your stay with us at Novotel Newcastle Beach. We appreciate the feedback, our staff work very hard every day to deliver the best service they can, we are pleased that you enjoyed the gesture to celebrate your anniversary whilst you were with us, congratulations!

We hope to see you back when you are next in Newcastle.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Novotel Newcastle is okay but the bedding in our room was terrible. It was topsy turvy. The itchy woolly blanket was underneath and the sheet was on top.The woolly blanket was smelly and stained. Not good on a cold night.
The bathroom was nice and modern but the toilet paper on the roll must have had a maximum of nine squares. Slapdash and stingy.
Parking is good. $18 a night.
The hotel is in Newcastle East.
Breakfast lousy. Lots of the buffet plates were still dirty. Coffee was so bad I had to go to cafe next door. Hash browns tasted like cardboard.
Ergo if I had to return here I would take a sleeping bag and eat out !!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eoin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Eoin L,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us at Novotel Newcastle Beach, we sincerely apologise for the issues that you experienced during your stay both in your room and our restaurant. There are a number of issues you have raised that do not meet our standards and these will be addressed with our team, we hope that you will return in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing