We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Here for Best Road Trip Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stop Here for Best Road Trip Food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Travelling between the Gold Coast and Canberra, it's worth stopping at the Novotel Newcastle just to remember how good food can be whilst on the road. Dinner was outstanding with the chef's homemade Ice cream delicious, go for breakfast included to start the day well. The family room was modern, very clean and beds very comfortable. The gym spa very hot for relaxing after sitting in the car. The staff were professional and helpful. Would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: There were signs of building outside but we stayed Saturday so don't know if there would be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KUB5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear KUB5556,

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding the food in Bistro Dalby, our Chef and his team work very hard every day to provide the best possible produce. Thanks again and we hope you will come back on your next road trip.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    372
    104
    19
    17
See reviews for
153
364
41
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Novotel in Newcastle is OK for a short stay, the staff are super friendly the rooms clean but it's like staying in a converted office block.
The breakfast area is way too small and chaotic, the rooms have showers, (not great if you are disabled), this was mentioned but we got a plastic chair which was Ok but not ideal.
Newcastle really needs a Hyatt...
Again our accor card was not credited :-(

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank row62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear row62,

Thank you for your review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, it appears from your feedback that you were not allocated one of our accessible rooms which all have a seat in the shower attached to the wall, we sincerely apologise if this was the case. We also apologise if you have not been credited with your LeClub points from your stay, if you are able to send through your member number to me I can ensure this is done retro-actively, my email address is H8771-GM@accor.com.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Novotel Newcastle was great in terms of location, awesome views, price was great with breakfast included. The room was very spacious good do with more furniture maybe better seats or desk positioned in a better place. The breakfast buffet had all the usually suspect but my favourite was the organic peanut butter. Overall would recommend this hotel to couples, families or anyone. Hotel was close to the beach, good restaurants. Only problem is cost of parking especially when there is not enough parking spots maybe a cheaper rate would be better especially on weekends where parking is not a problem outside the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank golden8oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear golden8oy,

Thank you for your review we appreciate you taking the time to send through your feedback. We do occasionally have a problem with the car park filling as we share this facility with the residents in the complex. We do endevour to ensure we have spots for valet where we can maximise the number of cars we can accommodate, we apologise for any inconvenience.

The organic section on the buffet breakfast is always well received we are pleased that you enjoyed the peanut butter. We hope you will be back to stay again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was my 2nd time here for business. Location wise is great as it's close to the beach and a few cafes and restaurants. The rooms are clean and comfortable especially the bed. The shower has good pressure but the bathroom was a little on the dark side for my liking and the amenities were just ok.
I didn't have breakfast in the hotel but did have dinner there one night. The service was pretty slow but the food was good. If you like Spanish food I had a very good meal at Bocados which is only a block away.
My only gripe was the cost of the wi-fi in the rooms (you can get limited access for free in the reception area). $12 for 2 hours or $24.50 for 24 hours is ridiculous!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Aussie1313,

Thank you for the review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate your feedback. In relation to Wifi the Accor hotels loyalty program Le Club offers free access to all Silver members and above, if you are not yet a member we would be more than happy to sign you up it is free of charge.

We thank you for your return business and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our anniversary was spent at this hotel. We were welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine. A very nice touch given by the hotel. Breakfast buffet was included and lots to chose from including proper barrister espresso drinks which were great. A choice of gluten free and organic were also a great surprise. The only bummer was, for me the pillows and the TV choices for my husband. Every 4-5 star hotel I have ever stayed at has a selection of pillows..... This hotel however doesn't. When I asked for a feather or down pillow I was told all pillows in the hotel were feather/down.....I investigated and found that in fact all pillows were polyester fill. This lead to 2 nights of horrible sleep for me. My husband on the other hand had the best sleep. This was the first and last uptime I will leave my pillow at home. There also wasn't a free movie channel which would have been a nice option during one stormy night.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms are pretty equal. South side gets less sun, north side is on the street and may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Kay B,

Thank you for your review of the hotel, we apologise that you were told that there are no other pillow options available, we actually have a range of 5 different pillows to the standard ones supplied on the beds. I have just spoken to our Front Office Manager and he will provide a refresher training session to the staff to ensure they know what options are available. We appreciate you passing on the feedback. Congratulations again on your anniversary and we hope to see you return again in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
1.5 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing