We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Newcastle Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed here for couple of weeks (Monday to Friday) with a few colleagues and I really enjoyed it. The room set up, furniture and its cleanliness is excellent. The only downside is lack of bathtub in the bath. My room didn't have good view, but there some rooms with balcony and some other one with ocean view.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ali E,

Thank you for staying with us for so long and for providing your feedback. We only have two rooms in the hotel that have a bath tub so whilst they are not impossible to get they are rare, we will do our best next time to make sure we can allocate one of them for you. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    350
    100
    19
    17
See reviews for
145
345
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business. Rooms fine and hotel generally in good condition, but following a Friday night wedding (with TERRIBLE music), they started to pack up the function room...at quarter past midnight. It sounded like gas bottles being rolled and banged along the floor whilst the ceiling was simultaneously dismantled. Until almost 1 AM!!

A call to reception didn't resolve anything beyond, 'a wedding just finished and they're packing up on level 2'. Sure, I said, but it's really noisy and it's past midnight... 'It will be finished in about 15 or 20 minutes'.

Add to that the street noise which lasted past 1 and restarted at about 6, I am left seriously unimpressed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank sosaidellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear sosaidellie,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay with us at Novotel Newcastle Beach. We would like to apologise for the noise caused as a result of our team cleaning up after the function on the floor beneath your room, there is no excuse for this and we have addressed your comments with them to ensure that it does not happen again. The street noise at 6am is very unusual so you have been extremely unlucky to have been disturbed so early.

We thank you for providing your feedback it is very rare for noise to be an issue at our hotel, we hope that you will stay with us again in the future so we can redeem ourselves.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellbird, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent rooms. Make sure you book Harbourview with floor to ceiling windows and get as high a floor as available.
Nice quiet location. Easy walking to everything without the hassle of parking!
Great buffet breakfast, eggs cooked to order, great coffee. Excellent dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Kath W,

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the positive comments about the restaurant Bistro Dalby. The Harbour View rooms have a wonderful outlook we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Loved it we had a corner room with two views. Harbour entrance and the beach across the road. I was impressed. Breakfast was excellent would go back that's for sure. Dinner last night was tops, we really enjoyed it. Staff very friendly , will be back. Room 418 is the best.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stoffel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Stoffel M,

Thank you for the review, the room you stayed in is one of two rooms that has the corner aspect and provide lots of light and lovely views towards the beach and the harbour. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I was very impressed by the Novotel Newcastle. My first impression of our room was how clean it was and very spacious. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful. It was very handy to shops and beach. Would not hesitate in staying here again ;)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for the review of Novotel Newcastle Beach, we appreciate the very kind feedback about the hotel and staff. We look forward to your return in the future.

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

very nice, no issues, bed and bath exceptional. I don't have anything else to say, but the counted says I have 90 more characters to go so I'll keep typing until I use them all up. mmmm still going...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mark C,

Thanks for your response we loved you comments! Fortunately the response does not count characters so we will keep it brief, please come back soon!

Kind Regards
Simon Glover
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Newcastle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Property: Novotel Newcastle Beach
Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing