We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best food i have had in a long time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cibo Tapas Bar - CLOSED

Cibo Tapas Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“best food i have had in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I went out with a table of 25 people on Saturday night the wait stuff were a bit new but were bright and happy to help us a few of us have been hear before and loved it but the menu had changed this time and it was so much better was food was the best I have eaten in Newcastle in a long time great job guys we will be back

p.s try the ribs and prawns I think they are the two best things on the menu

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Happy hours reign supreme”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

cheap classy beers and cocktails 4-6pm each day is what i love. i go back often. Have not eaten there ever though. Staff nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pick a Comfortable Chair Because the Wait is Eternal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

How long is piece of string? What is the meaning of life? Why does an egg take over 1.5 hours to cook?

These are all questions we had time to contemplate as our bodies slowly became malnourished on a Sunday morning. We left after 90 minutes and kindly, our coffees were free courtesy of a very embarrassed waitress. We literally went next door and got bacon and eggs in under 5 minutes.

If you like feeling hungry, anxious and like your body is decaying and if you've got a day to waste, this is your place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On & Off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Had been once before and enjoyed variety of Tapas meals. Last time we went we were in a hurry and food was out nice and quick. Chicken was undercooked however but didnt really have time to do anything about it. May have been a once off though so may give it another try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHolt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Food was nice, although slightly expensive for what you get, service was average although food came reasonably fast. Nice décor. We used an entertainment book voucher so it was about $30 for 2 of us (inc 2 drinks). Overall, average, probably wouldn't go back with all the other options on Beaumont street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cibo Tapas Bar also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing