We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Honeysuckle Executive Apartments
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked and paid for the Honeysuckle Executive Apartments but were told on arrival that we would be staying in The Chifley. The experience was a disaster from the moment we arrived. There were not enough beds for the 3 single women in our group - despite having confirmed this on the phone with Honeysuckle and on arrival at The Chifley and the staff didn't really seem to care. Each party blamed the other and seemed to be angry at us for asking for enough beds. Eventually one of us had to convince an acquaintance in another room to be moved to a room with a sofa so that one of us actually had a bed - this seemed to be a huge ordeal. Despite asking several times for blankets for the pullout sofas we had as beds we were told the hotel did not have any blankets. Eventually a staff member found me 3 'matress protectors' to use as a blanket and my friend slept under towels to keep warm. I totally accept that mistakes happen with bookings but the way we were made to feel it was somehow our fault left us having quite a miserable experience. The rooms themselves were nice and the beds comfy (even the sofas) but really I wouldn't recommend booking with either company if you have the choice. Really had to laugh when they charged us for the phonecalls to reception which were made trying to get ourselves a bed to sleep on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaG677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Honeysuckle Executive Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at the Honeysuckle Apartments just a 5 minute walk to from Civic Station
These apartments at just behind the Honeysuckle & Lee Wharf.We had 3 apartments for 6 of us they were able to make the king beds into 2 singles, the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time.
Apartments had everything we wanted kitchen,laundry bathroom separate bedroom & a small balcony, modern but a little plain & business like all grey & black could have used a little colour.
Good pool & gym reasonably priced, by comparison to Sydney prices staff were obliging & friendly would recommend & will stay again. 2 minute walk to lots of eating places that were right on the waterfront

Room Tip: ask for room 5th floor with view to water
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixfriends44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Matthias, Guest Relations Manager at Honeysuckle Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to right such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Honeysuckle apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent 30 mins looking for these apartments. No one mentioned they are in the Chifley Building. No mention of B7 Executive Apartments anywhere. View was railway track and carpark, also disappointing, complained and was moved to a better view. No Wi-Fi as advertised.
Apartment itself was well appointed and close to foreshore, restaurants, Darby St etc.
Undercover parking $18 a day extra.
Felt sorry for reception staff they work for Chifley not B7 Executive but cop the brunt of complaints.
Would stay there again now we know the finer details and know which room to book.

Room Tip: Level 5 ad closer to Honeysuckle Drive away from Railway track. Trains run day and night. Rooms are...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherglenn1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Matthias, Guest Relations Manager at Honeysuckle Executive Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

We are sorry you had such a negative experience. We always call our guests on the day of arrival, provided we have their mobile contact details, and sms directions if people are unsure about where they are going. The Chifley staff work with us to check our guests into our apartments. The process works very well for our guests and we rarely experience problems. We are sorry that you did on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed in the 'executive' level room. Apartment was well fitted out, spacious and good balcony. Some of the furnishings made it look like a bit of a Batchelor pad (black side boards, red rugs!). Reception was friendly and efficient. Breakfast (optional) didn’t look worth the money, go elsewhere. Location is ideal, 1 minute to water front cafes and bars, 10 minutes to Darby street. Pool was good (but cold!).Gym looked to be well equiped. Quite pricy so didn’t get 5 stars. Also close to railway line so you do hear the trains but there’s only a few every hour.Smoke alarm was hanging off the ceiling so that should be repaired when you are paying over $200 per night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Great location, good clean rooms, good versatilities, friendly staff, lucky I was quite drunk because the sofa bed was uncomfortable. So don't draw the short straw for the sleeping arangements unless you have lots of your favourite drinks, Apart from that we all had a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very helpful staff at the front desk on arrival, continuing the good service received when making the reservation initially.
It is agreeable to stay in an apartment occassionally rather than a hotel.
While the apartment was a little bland and soulless in its decor the convenience of a washing machine, dryer and space was an advantage. Accommodation provided a good night's sleep, and a coffee can be enjoyed on the balcony to watch the sunrise.
The location is a short stroll to the waterfront cafe strip alongside Honeysuckle Drive.
It would be sensible to request a secure parking space when bookng the accommodation if required.
The swimming pool is a good size for lap swimming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiatiFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 23 in Newcastle
1,026 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#10 of 23 in Newcastle
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#5 of 23 in Newcastle
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 23 in Newcastle
852 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 23 in Newcastle
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honeysuckle Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Executive Apartments

Address: Chifley Building, Cnr Wright Lane and Settlement Lane, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly B7 Honeysuckle Apartments)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: £94 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Honeysuckle Executive Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Honeysuckle Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing