We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”
Review of Subo

Subo
Reserve with
Subo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 562 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$63 - US$71
Cuisines: Australian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our aim is to provide simple pleasures - food that is handled with care, wine that fills the senses and service that is attentive and thoughtful.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flawless”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Now that Subo has moved to a seasonal 4/5 course set menu, they have fine tuned the dining experience to a very precise art. All elements of each dish are well thought out and executed to a very high standard as is their service. I would recommend everyone in Newcastle to visit at least once every season.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond_ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    51
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I can not talk subo up enough, by far the best dining experience in Newcastle. I recommend the chefs tasting menu matched with wines.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anishka-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wonderful food and really great service. I can highly recommend this restaurant as it is one of the best in Newcastle. The only commend that could be considered as a negative is that you DO pay for it. Do go there if you are looking for a great restaurant and are happy to pay for it. I would say it was definitely Sydney prices but really worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Subo yum”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Dinner at subo was very good. Excellent service and food good also. We come back again with friends and like much more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachaeltung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An excellent birthday dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had an excellent birthday celebration at Subo. The 5 course meal was absolutely delicious, the service was efficient and very friendly and the wine list was excellent. The experience lived up to the restaurant's 2 hats award. Thank you to the chef and staff for a memorable evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Subo also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Subo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing