We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a pub, you can't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sunnyside Tavern
Ranked #4 of 29 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For a pub, you can't go wrong”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Quite new, very clean rooms with nice decor. Whilst this is an old fashioned pub, the whole top floor has been completely renovated. The food in the restaurant is top notch and the staff are really friendly and very good.

There was a guitarist in the main bar one night and whilst she didn't keep me awake, friends in another room did have trouble sleeping. Personally, I think it was worth it to listen to great live music in an old fashioned pub.

If I venture back to Newcastle I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try the pork belly in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oztraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks for your review, we love knowing that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    34
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
30
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This tavern's rooms were surprisingly clean, spacious and well kept. The location was ok for us, but not near the City Centre. It is ok for the immediate Broadmeadow area.
A community kitchen for all rooms can be a shambles in the morning with a lot of tennants organising there own brekky.
The hotel is good, but overpriced.

Room Tip: there are rooms with ensuite and some without. If you want ask for ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Bruce,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Newcastle. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with our rooms starting at $89.
The next time you are staying in Newcastle let us know, we provide a free courtesy bus for our guest to help them get around and into the city centre. We are also looking at including breakfast in the near future as well.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Although the room was clean tidy and bed comfy. When packing in the morning we discovered a cockroach which is gross for u but we had a toddler too which makes it worse.
If you are a big person you would struggle in the bathroom. We had dinner at the restaurant menu looked delish but unfortunately failed greatly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mic S, General Manager at The Sunnyside Tavern, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Hi Hayley,
We are sad to hear that you were disappointed when staying with us, after winning best pub accommodation in NSW we strive to maintain that standard in all areas of the hotel. Our rooms are cleaned daily so am surprised to hear that you found what you found but we have been in contact with our pest maintenance as it is the beginning of that season. If you are travelling through Newcastle again please don't hesitate to contact me direct, Michael, at the pub as I will be sure to look after you during your stay.
Kind Regards
Mic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is an old style hotel with guest rooms that have been renovated to a high standard. Rooms are located on the first floor, while downstairs is the bar and restaurant. No ground floor noise rises upstairs which is great, and the food in the restaurant is excellent value, with a good range of quality gastro pub dishes. Rooms are good value, and free WI-FI is included in the tariff. Onlty a short distance by car to the railway station and shops, this is a good base to explore Newcastle from. The icing on the cake is that the team are nice folk too!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the family rooms (that is what I had). Tonnes of space and room to spread out. I am t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Staying at the Sunnyside Tavern was most enjoyable ,the staff was very helpful ,the meals were exellent and the room was very comfortable with a nice little kitchenette,I would recommend this accomodation to any one .We were attending a function at the Entertainment Centre within walking distance and although we walked we were offered a courtesy bus which I thought was very nice

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The room is very clean and the furniture seems to be very new. I was there on public holiday so i have not seen a single employee from there over the two night stay. We checked in going through the back door which is pass locked so the offers good security as well. The pub below is not opened so cant basically rate on the food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The rooms had obviously been refurbished very recently and therefore all furnishings etc were new. The positives - very clean; lovely linen; excellent quality towels and proper bath sheets. But, the negatives - only one bedside table and lamp in a double room (bizarre); room tiny; no chair to sit on; nowhere to put case; no kettle - had to go to end of corridor to use a kettle, microwave, fridge. These were relatively small things to fix, so all the more disappointing. In addition, when my husband went into the bar to hand in the key, the reception was snappy and unfriendly. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
2.3 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
43 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,014 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunnyside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunnyside Tavern

Property: The Sunnyside Tavern
Address: 20 Broadmeadow Rd, Newcastle, New South Wales NSW 2303, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunnyside Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunnyside Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing