We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bar Petite

Bar Petite
Ranked #58 of 568 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Bar Petite is small and intimate, completely unique and distinctive for Newcastle.Winner of the Best NSW Bar Award 2012, Owner Operator Michael Kearney has helped create something really special... The Kearney family have over 35 years of long term experience in the hotel industry so Bar Petite is in good hands with owner Michael Kearney owning and operating the Bar. Michael is very social and adds that personal touch. He is always on site or close by putting in the long hours and hard work to see that his customers needs are cared for. Michael and his staff are proving that good things do come in small packages.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great food and drink and the atmosphere was sensational. Have been here several times for work and pleasure and Bar Petite has never failed. Saturday night dinner and a catch up with friends and the venue and food truly perfect. The service from the staff was excellent as always.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great wine, great food, great music!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

An excellent place to drop in and drink the afternoon away, Newcastle has gained a truly unique bar and restaurant that should have people coming for a long time to come. The food is honest and comforting (nothing priced over $34), much like the decor. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. We will return very soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyJ137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“ah, so so”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The atmosphere is pretty good - nice patio outside and decor inside is very modern. The problem I had was with the service. Bartenders were pretty shove offish. Service is the problem here. It wouldn't be my first choice but if they fixed their service I would come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank USCalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Bar Petite, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Hi USCalum
we've just regained access to our page and i would like to take a minute to personally apologize to you for our poor performance when you last visited us, there is no excuse for poor service in small a bar ever! I would like to let you know that in the past months we have restructured our management team and updated our drinks list and food menu's and hope that you will give us another chance to impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice place in East Newcastle”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very friendly staff and a good selection of drinks. A nice atmosphere for a Wednesday, beautiful Barramundi!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamesfoster1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Truly a hidden gem”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

No such thing as "too often" with this place absolutely amazing. Winning combination of great food wine and chilled atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chowchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Petite also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Bar Petite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing