We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Newcastle
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Newcastle”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here over New Years and it was a great place for a short break holiday in Newcastle. The rooms were very clean and tidy, a little dated, but nothing unpleasant.

Reception staff were amongst the friendliest I've ever encountered, always taking the time to ask about your day, helpful when asked for suggestions, and just pleasantly efficient.

The location was suberb, great proximity to the beach, a short walk to town centre and good restaurants close by, or a very short walk. On New Years Eve we had a short walk to view the 9.00pm fireworks, then we watched the midnight display from our balcony.

We will definitely stay here if we return to Newcastle.

Room Tip: A higher floor will get you views no matter what side of the hotel you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    217
    89
    27
    19
See reviews for
67
176
13
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

SPent last night here in a beach view room. Rooms are a bit dated but perfectly fine and immaculately clean. Little balcony with views straight out over Newcastle Beach. Not the cheapest place in Newcastle but certainly the best views. All the staff we dealt with were really friendly and provided excellent customer service. Has a great ( if pricey ) restaurant as well - Jonahs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleDazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is one hotel to avoid. Firstly it took five telephone calls to get the booking right. The reception staff were rude bordering on obnoxious. We wanted to stay for two nights, several hours after we booked we were called to say the ocean view room "was now only available for one night" which meant we would have to change rooms. We had booked (and and paid for) a romance package which included an ocean view, the room we were offered for the second night was a back room and we were told we would have to move rooms by 8.00am.

Part of the package was the inclusion of champagne. What we got was aussie sparkling wine, to add insult to injury it was a two glass size bottle. When we complained we were told the bottle size was at the discretion of the manager.

The shower was so bad it was like trying to get washed in Yorkshire mist on a spring morning. And the water was cold.

We, (we were on a romantic weekend after all) ordered some ice cream through room service, this was three flavours, we asked for no chocolate flavour, to be basically told you get what you are given. Also we asked for two spoons so we could share. This was too much of an inconvenience.

On the moring we checked out (which was supposed to be 12 noon which we paid extra for) we received a telephone call from housekeeping at 06.45 asking when will we be checking out,

The food in the restaurant was excellent, well cooked and presented, but over priced. The indulgence package included a $70 restaurant voucher. A three course meal for two with a bottle of wine came to $238. So the voucher was actually worth less than 30% of a meal. Breakfast cost getting on for $60.

On check out, it took four attempts to get the bill correct! They tried to charge for using items out of the mini fridge that we never used. There were phone charges on a phone that was never used. The late checkout fee was applied to both nights it to 20 minutes of arguing what checking out actually means. And according to their records on the checkout day we had three breakfasts each, we actually didn't have breakfast that day.

A real disappointment with the worst customer service I have ever encountered the manager and the staff should be ashamed!

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I stayed one night in a 6th floor room. Room was not huge but quite adequate. We did not feel cramped at all. Balcony was small but had a fantastic view over Newcastle beach. The room had an older style but was very clean. We did not use the large flatscreen TV so can't say what channels were being received. All in all we were satisfied with the room as it had a fantastic view and the hotel is only a short walk from the city and beaches.
My only real negative comment would be that the breakfast at Jonah's (hotel restaurant) finishes too early at 10am, which didn't give us enough time to get out for a morning surf/swim/walk and get back for breakfast. We ended up having breakfast down the street at Liquid Gold, which was good but had horrendously slow service.

Room Tip: Upper ocean view rooms have an awesome view but are expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obe1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Noah's is located across the street from the main ocean-front beach in Newcastle. The street is not busy and there are plenty of cross-walks for children. The hotel has a ridiculously over-priced restaurant, but there are a few only moderately-overpriced restaurants around the corner behind it (seafood, Thai, and burger). Newcastle's downtown shopping street (Hunter St.) and the train station are only a few blocks away.

The main attraction of Noah's is, of course, the beach. For this, Noah's is perfectly placed at the point where the main beach meets the Newcastle sea baths. The children's sea bath is essentially a huge tidal pool in which young children can play without fear of being dragged into the ocean, while the adult sea bath includes an ocean-water lap pool. The facilities are dilapidated but serviceable.

My room at Noah's was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was a bit under-powered but it worked well enough if you kept it running. For five stars, Noah's could have provided free internet service. It's a bit offensive to be asked to pay $10 per day for internet access when you're already paying $200 a night for your room. Otherwise my experience was fine.

The staff are super-friendly and the hotel is a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: The high floor land-side rooms have a very nice view of the water (though not the ocean as such).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbabones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The family travelled to Newcastle for a 21st. Noah’s came recommended and we were very happy. The location is right on a beautiful beach and a short walk to the main shopping zone. I usually hate the shower in the bath but I could forgive this time as the rooms, though small with a queen and a single are lovely, and the view very nice. The balcony is small and European - not one for lounging on. We had wireless internet and a great mini-bar selection reasonably priced. We saw a few wedding parties and can imagine that Noah’s is a gorgeous venue for a wedding. We felt spoilt given we were only really sleeping there. Jonah’s, the hotel restaurant was not a cheap breakfast for five of us but a lovely treat. The man who served us made us feel like royalty and was full of information, yet not intrusive. The surf looked inviting and we wished we could have afforded a week’s stay. We had to check out at 10am as usual but did not have a flight until 4pm. The reception staff are lovely; storing our luggage, and booking us a cab when needed. This hotel is our number 1 preference in Newcastle.

Room Tip: ASk for top beach view and eat at Jonah's
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is based only upon the room. Dated but roomy. Balconies very narrow. Ours overlooked the beach. Impossible to use the balcony due to its (lack of) width and the sea-breeze. Had luxury of a deep bath- big plus. Dated interior but immaculate. Service friendly and helpful. Wish we'd been able to dine at the award-winning restaurant (Jonah's). Underground parking is "tight". There's a separate open parking lot next door. Wouldn't leave my car there.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach

Property: Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Address: Cnr Shortland Esplanade and Zaara St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is situated directly opposite spectacular Newcastle Beach and is Newcastle's only Beachfront Hotel. NOAH'S offers the perfect place to beach yourself for business or simply to relax and unwind. Located within minutes of the CBD, harbour and city shopping, Quality Hotel NOAH'S On the Beach is the ideal venue for any wedding, conferences and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Quality Hotel Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing